Friday Open Forum – January 14, 2011

Good Morning and Welcome! I repost a FYI that I placed in the open forum comments yesterday. I want to be sure each and every one of you see this:

**There’s a site called http://www.spokeo.com/ that’s a new online USA phone book with your personal info: everything from pics you’ve posted on FB or web, your credit score, home value and pix, income, age, children, etc. Remove yourself by searching for your name, copy the URL of your page, then go to the bottom of the page, click the Privacy button to remove yourself. Copy & re-post so your FB friends are aware.**

Several in our Honey Trail family reported they were successful in removing their names.  Then there is AliRose who shared this:

Talk about creepy…

I just searched for myself…not there.
I searched for my husband…not there.
I assumed this is because we move around so much.

So…I searched for my husband’s parents…there they are. There’s their house (with our car in the driveway…heeheehee!), info, etc. I click on family…there’s his parents, brother, sister…he’s not there!

So…I searched for my parents…there they are. There’s their house, info, etc. I click on family…there’s my parents and two sisters…I’m not there!

We’re like ghosts! (The government’s wiped any record of our existence.)

For some strange reason I find myself envying AliRose and her non-existence.

329 Responses to Friday Open Forum – January 14, 2011

  1. Pat P says:

    Interesting article about the founder of Conservatives4Palin, Rebecca Mansour. She’s a native Detroit girl!:

    http://www.politicsdaily.com/2011/01/13/sarah-palins-secret-asset-cyber-messenger-rebecca-mansour/

    • JRD says:

      Yes, the article was interesting in educating us a tiny bit about Mansour, thank you. However the writer couldn’t help herself and just had to imply that Palin isn’t smart enough to write her tweets and facebook postings.

      While it is also true that Dumb-0 didn’t write his speech he gave at the memorial service, some young twit from Chicago did, that doesn’t matter.

      Chris Christie can bash Palin that her remarks are too scripted, she has to prove she can think on her feet. However, Dumb-0 not speaking out for 4 days and then coming out with a scripted speech doesn’t matter.

      Krauthammer can toss aside Palin’s video but condescending slap us across the face and tell us to sit down and shut up by stating that “I find it interesting that only the ruling class wants a president who is smart, articulate or oratorical in delivering funeral oration. It’s an odd and condescending view of what the rest of America is looking for in their president.” Well, we didn’t believe that the speech was smart, articulate or oratorical no matter how much you try to shove it down our throats. We set our standards high while all you Ivy League blowhards have lowered the bar.

      The ruling class thinks that just because they repeat, and repeat, and repeat that Dumb-0 is brilliant and Palin is not that these are facts. When the whole truth and nothing but the truth is that no matter how much they try to brainwash us, it is evident to the dullest 4 years old child that Dumb-0 is of just average intelligence. There is nothing remotely brilliant about him. And yes, smug Krauthammer, Palin IS brilliant. She is deftly able to think outside the box. Fat boy, Christie, no one, not even you, are more adept at thinking on their feet as Palin. And Suzicue at Politics Daily, your slip is showing.

      Palin is damned if she does and damned if she doesn’t. They will find fault in everything she does because they must destroy her.

      • Menagerie says:

        No matter what they assert, intelligence and ability have nothing to do with an Ivy League degree.

      • Library Countess says:

        Which tells you just how really really good she is and how really really really scared they are that she might get elected and nail their sorry butts! They are just way too stupid to get that in their zeal to destroy her, they make her stronger.

      • JRD says:

        Oh, this is just too good. Jack Cashill compares Dumb-0 to Chauncey Gardiner of being their. Chance may be my new name for Dumb-0.

        http://www.americanthinker.com/2011/01/obama_does_best_when_he_says_n.html

        In Tucson, on Wednesday evening, we saw President Barack Obama in his full Chauncey Gardiner mode. After the drubbing of November 2010, Obama’s handlers have come to understand that Obama does best when, like Chauncey, he says nothing at all, (and pompous a$$es like Krauthammer praise him for it.)

      • AFinch says:

        Isn’t it interesting that Dr. K found it necessary to defend himself against Rush’s criticisms? I thought defending oneself was unseemly and unnecessary? I guess that’s only if your last name is “Palin” huh Dr. K?

      • Pat P says:

        I noticed that about the article too.

        Rush just said: “I was going to name my first child Krauthammer, even if it was a girl. No more.”

      • Amsterdam Expat says:

        I didn’t care for that insinuation in the article at all, either.

        Other than that, it was an interesting read.

        At one point one of the commenters at C4P mentioned that Mansour had perhaps voted for O in 2008 and then made an about-face. It sounded strange, but then again — we all make mistakes. I’m grateful for all that she’s done since!

  2. Kristi says:

    My son is getting an award today!

    He is student of the semester for his tv class. He gets a pat on the back from the school and best of all.. a parking pass to park up by the school!
    The parking lot for his high school is a mile walk. So this is awesome .. especially since it is so cold.

    • Menagerie says:

      Congrats to both of you.

    • Congrats to you and your son!!! Awesome!!!

    • Debra says:

      Woot! As someone who hates being cold, I would totally covet that parking pass.

    • Library Countess says:

      Congrats to your son for his award, and congrats to his momma for being a good momma! Love the parking pass!

    • Bijou says:

      Kristi, what wonderful news!
      Congratulations to your son and especially to you, because kids don’t turn out to be responsible, hardworking students and adults by accident.
      And kudos to the school for coming up with such a creative ‘award’. I’m sure his fellow students will be envious as they trudge along in the cold. LOL!

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      Congratulations!

    • Kristi says:

      Just got back from the big awards ceremony!

      He gets to park right up by the school for 9 whole weeks… perfect timing!
      He said he is going to drive up the trail each morning asking the girls if they need a ride up the trail.
      He’s already thinking about how this helps his love life…. ; )

      • PhillyCon says:

        K: Congrats to you! I hope you know this day was possible b/c of YOU!

        Its OK to take some pride in your parenting, and I’m sure there were some rough days for you. But this is the sunshine that was always planned for you.
        Enjoy!!

      • Debra says:

        He’ll probably end up with a car full of girls! LOL!

      • Jennifer H says:

        LOL – good for him on all counts !

      • Integrity1st says:

        OMG Kristi, see above. He’s just like mine, and it gets worse in college. Yikes.

        Hey, anyone remember or know how to do that pic thing, like when you can post a link that shows the pics? I have a desparate urge to share my only.

        • Kristi says:

          Shutterfly?

          Like how Zurich Mike shows up pictures.

          Show him!!! Brag on him!!

        • WeeWeed says:

          Maybe we can do it on the new FB page that Library Countess will set up for just usn’s! My only is a girl!

          • Integrity1st says:

            Can’t wait to share with you guys. Will definately wait.

            WeeWee – my mother wished a girl on me, for pay back. (and she didn’t mean it so nice LOL) Anyway, I really missed the dress up! No where near as fun with a boy, but I did what I could until he could talk = (

            • WeeWeed says:

              I know! My mom wished a girl on me, too – and I got one! LOL! Be advised, dress-up ends with a girl, too!

            • Kristi says:

              My sister had 2 boys when she found out she was pregnant for the 3rd time.

              She hung a pink frilly baby dress on the mantle.. in hopes it provoke a girl.

              She had her ultrasound.. a boy. She showed the ultrasound pic to her other boys and her oldest (he was about 11) said “My sister has a penis?”

              haha

              • Integrity1st says:

                total LOL on that one = )

                WeeWee, don’t kid yourself. I know it ends but even before they can talk the options are so much more fun with girls, let alone the choices.

                Have to sneak in one, literally breathtaking moment. Was on the phone with friend when we pulled into the driveway of son’s girlfriend’s house to see them off to prom. I literally gasped when my son came out the door in his tux. He obviously cleans up better than even his mother knows.

        • AliRose says:

          You can add pictures to your Gravatar account, if you want. That’s what shows up when you hover over my picture. Just go to your Gravatar account (you can access it directly from your WP account page) and click the link for Add an Image. Here are the steps:
          1. Click My Account in the upper left.
          2. Click on your Gravatar on the ride side of the screen.
          3. Hover over My Account for the drop-down menu
          4. Click Add an Image, then follow the instructions

          The “Images” are separate from your Gravatar pics and show up on your hovercard and next to your Gravatar on your Gravatar profile page, which others can see.

          • Integrity1st says:

            That was totally fun AliRose, lookin’ at your pics. I’m quite sure if I figured out how to do it I wouln’t know where to start or stop. However do you control yourself? I can’t when I start looking at all the different choices.

      • MRM says:

        Congrats! He’s a lucky guy in more ways than one!

    • Mrs Compton says:

      Wonderful news, I love that he gets something worthwhile!!

    • Amsterdam Expat says:

      Congratulations!

  3. JRD says:

    Mark Levin’s $100,000 Challenge to Chris Matthews
    By Jeffrey Lord
    http://spectator.org/blog/2011/01/13/mark-levins-100000-challenge-t

    Conservative radio talk show host Mark Levin has put out a stunning challenge to those left-wing media personalities accusing conservative talk radio stars and Sarah Palin of encouraging murder.

    He offered $100,000 to Chris Matthews to find any example where Sarah Palin or Levin himself had “promoted the murder of anybody.”

    He’s waiting for a very specific allegation “BECAUSE I’M GOING TO SUE.” in federal court.

    “Somebody has to stand up,” said an indignant Levin .

  4. pistol pete says:

    Next to “El Rushbo”,the Great One is my favorite talker.He rants,but usually has legal precedent at hand when he does.As Ann Coulter once said,”the difference between liberals and conservatives is when conservatives rant,they usually have a point.”

    • PhillyCon says:

      I agree. El Rushbo is my forever favorite. Levin is 2nd. He may rant, but there is reason and logical thinking behind his passion. I love linear thinkers like these 2.

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      When someone like Mark Levin rants, he does it with great confidence because he knows exactly where he’s going with it. Love it … and always wait for the bottom line!

  5. Kristi says:

    Over at conservatives for Palin is clips of the Bob and Mark show.. its local talk radio in Alaska. They went off on this whole blame Palin thing.
    They asked to hear from the lower 48. Had a great caller from NJ.
    Anyway..they also said you can email them.
    So I sent off an email showing my support of Palin.

    You should too. they should be flooded with support from everywhere!

    Oh and its Palins favorite radio show. Its also where she promised if she announced a run it would be with them. So she will probably hear our letters.

    bob@bobandmark.com or mark@bobandmark.com

  6. WeeWeed says:

    Mornin’ Glories! TGIF! A little Michelle Malkin with coffee this a.m. See y’all later.

    http://www.nationalreview.com/articles/257127/blame-righty-condensed-history-michelle-malkin

  7. wendy ann says:

    Yo, Thanks for the tip about Spokeo! I removed my info and my husband’s as well…am passing along your blurb to friends/family so they are aware as well! Appreciate your Public Service act for the day!

    • Kristi says:

      Just removed mine too….

      thats just creepy.

    • Library Countess says:

      I had removed myself a while back… I do miss the part about my house being worth a million dollars, though. If only… :D

    • G8rMom7 says:

      yeah, I had a friend post this on FB a while back and I removed myself. Didn’t even look up my husband or other family members. Probably should though.

      • Ting says:

        Unless you remove everyone they have associated with your address, you are still there under the others’ page.

        • Kristi says:

          I had to kind of laugh.

          My addresse’s show my husband.. ya know the ass that abandon us for the home wrecker whore.. er I mean the other woman.

          I am sure if she see’s his name is attached to mine all over the place that should make her thrilled. HA.
          He is even attached to places I lived after the bastard left us.

          • yomotley says:

            Ooooh, he’s attached to your place AFTER her left. That will drive the homewrecker crazy calling you a homewrecker. She will NEVER believe he wasn’t really over at your home. I say keep those up and be a real homewrecker — their home — KABOOM.

          • WeeWeed says:

            Hmmmm….I wonder if you can somehow make up crap for this site…..wouldn’t that be fun?? :)

    • garnette says:

      I did it and found out that they had me listed at my mother’s house (in a different state) and at my own home. The funniest thing was that they showed me at my house as having ghost parents living there in a way that made it look like they were the homeowners.

    • Ad rem says:

      WTF??? It removed the info for my husband but not for me! Sexism!!!

      • Ad rem says:

        I’ve tried twenty times to get myself “poofed” but nothing works.

        • WeeWeed says:

          Try another email address, my puddy-tat. Last year when I went through the routine (and had completely forgotten about it) it would only allow a certain number, maybe 3, deletions from each email address. It took my gmail, my work email, and my daughter’s old yahoo email to get rid of me, my mom, her, and everyone else that I felt the need to do it for.

  8. yomotley says:

    Think on this. One day the president, in a speech, says “Gabby opened here eyes for the first time ..”
    The next day when citizens are on their little forums making fun of him for saying this; being snarky, they start to remember news of the eyes being opened earlier. No big deal. President could just “clarify”.

    Not even twenty-hours later, when all the forum chit-chatters go to link the news reports from real “first opening”, most have been scrubbed. Scrubbed. Gone. This means people KNEW before the masses caught on, that he was lying and ERASED EVIDENCE! Within less than twenty-four hours!

    Any doubt left that our country has been completely taken over and is no longer the United States of America?

    Something so simple but so simple and so telling.

    • AFinch says:

      We’ve got ‘em on the run. Keep it up patriots.

    • The four female Congress colleagues of Giffords were there also (Pelosi, to take speech notes on ‘HealthCare’)…I have to ask, did they flood the parking lot, so that Barry could walk in ‘on water?’

    • Jennifer H says:

      Yeah we needed Joe Wilson at his speech.

    • Integrity1st says:

      I must be the biggest whimp in this group because I find what Motley said absolutely terrifying, and even worse, would never have known it if not spelled out like that. Please consider combining that piece with some Sundance research for a topic that we can spread far and wide. If they can and do, do that, there is no reliability that everything they say and do isn’t SMOKE AND MIRRORS. Not even funny. I’m horrified.

      • WeeWeed says:

        You’re okay. I officially give you my favorite tin-foil hat. It has the deelie-bobbers like the old killer bees from SNL!! Hey, you can’t even get THAT one on ebay! See? You gotta think outside the box and you’re doing it. You are fine, I1st. You of all of us should know that what they say isn’t necessarily what is truth. I need help from JRD on how to spell, “Cappish?” But, you get my drift.

        • Integrity1st says:

          I appreciate the gesture of the hat WeeWee, but it might be a tad too flashy for my tastes. Do you have anything a little more neutral?

          And now, far more seriously, I’m not okay because when you guys read about those mystery deaths/murders, I’m knowing some of that kind of stuff in my real life, so what you think of as inoccuous, I’m seeing on a smaller, closer level, and knowing that people aren’t believing it. I used to call the FBI every week for months trying to get someone to investigate some scary stuff. Each time you get a different duty agent, and each one treats you differently, as though you have never called before. Some treat you like what you are saying is a non-event, some treat you like you’re crazy, NONE of them want your documentable evidence or are willing to do anything about it. Sh-t, even now, I called them about a scam where I can give them phone numbers, and voicemails, and they could swoop in and stop thousands from being scammed, and they do nothing, and this particular situation is just your run of the mill scam artist where they’re trying to get my credit card info because they “sold” something for me for $30,000.00 that is only worth half that, and I never had on the market to sell, but the other stuff was far more serious. There is no where to turn to stop the madness, and our President stands before raging mad masses and tells an outright lie to the WORLD, and the proof of his lie is being scrubbed when it isn’t even worth lieing about or scrubbing?!?!?! (and then I tell my husband about it and he thinks I’m nuts because he neither knows about Obama’s messiah moment, or understands screen shots that can prove it!)

          Yes, I’m genuinely concerned because I have encountered far too many future ex friends that think we are nuts, or the evil in all this. I want to keep exposing the truth at all levels until everyone realizes the gravity of it ALL.

          I am so grateful for the responses from you and MRM, but MRM, they ARE getting away with it, and that is such a big part of the problem, and why, a week later, we’re still hearing them rant about Palin and talk shows inciting the shooter, and that’s why the left is still talking about how “stupid” we are and our tinfoil hats. And sadly, a lot of people are too busy living their lives, or just trying to survive, so it’s hard to counter all the manipulation that is going on enroute to their agenda that will destroy us if not stopped.

          Sorry for the rant. And to think today I was going to post all the GOOD things that have happened in the last 24 hours from an inspiring repub meeting I attended last night to some very important interviews for cable on transparency, to legal assistance we are close to getting for a deaf woman who’s facing a hearing at the end of this month to terminate her parental rights. Gag.

          • WeeWeed says:

            Rants are GOOD, my dear. Rant here all you want! I’m sure I have a better hat for ya, I’ll have to look tomorrow. I must hit the hay now – I’m one of those early up, early down folks, which is good (for me!). Gives the night owls freedom for the night-time troll patrol. Don’t give up on your mission. One of these days, someone with some clout will listen.

          • MRM says:

            Integrity, as WeeWeed said, rants are good. and it sounds like you are very much in need of someone who will listen. We’re here for you. I wish I could say (write) something that would make you feel better… I know it sounds trite, but when i start feeling like we have no chance against their lies, I try to remember that Good triumphs over evil… and there is a Scripture (I don’t know what verse) that says, “Be still, and know that I am God” Praying for your situation – and for America.

          • AliRose says:

            Integrity,

            Are you on AsAMom? I don’t get on there much anymore, but it’s a good place to meet up if you need to talk. (Like FB, but not FB, IYKWIM)

      • MRM says:

        Integrity, it IS horrifying. BUT, the fact that they can’t get away with it any more is huge. and encouraging. and it’s why they are so desperate. They have counted for years on their base being stupid and the rest of us being polite and just plain busy living our lives. Well, their base is still stupid, but we’re done being polite and we’re paying attention. And because we’re NOT stupid, we know how to do things like capture screen shots and go to cached pages and get the word out.

        I still would love to see a series of campaign posters featuring our favourite dems with the caption “He thinks you’re stupid…. in fact, he’s counting on it!”

  9. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Canada Bans Dire Straits’ “Money For Nothing” for Being Too Offensive. No, I’m Not Kidding

    http://reason.com/blog/2011/01/13/canada-bans-dire-straits-money

    Thought police.

  10. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Accused Soldier in Brig as WikiLeaks Link Is Sought

    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/14/world/14manning.html?src=un&feedurl=http%3A%2F%2Fjson8.nytimes.com%2Fpages%2Fpolitics%2Findex.jsonp

    Sorry, but I do not feel sorry for PFC Manning. Not even a little bit.

  11. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Righthaven extends copyright lawsuit campaign to individual Web posters

    http://www.lasvegassun.com/news/2011/jan/12/righthaven-extends-copyright-lawsuit-campaign-indi/

    Trolling for $$$.

  12. Patriot Dreamer says:

    EPA revokes permit for major coal mining project

    http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-news/2656708/posts

    Be sure to read post #6. It’s all about politics – not the environment.

  13. Kristi says:

    http://www.stansberryresearch.com/pro/1011PSIENDVD/LPSIM171/PR

    Townhall.com forwarded me this video.

    Oh dear God.

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      What’s the bottom line of that video? I’ve seen it before and tried to sit through it, but I can’t stand videos if I don’t know how long they are, can’t fast forward through at least some of it, etc.

      • G8rMom7 says:

        Ditto…I’m still listening to it, but geesh…it’s too long. I can’t pause it and I have no idea of where it’s going. He keeps repeating himself as well. All I can say is I’m glad my husband bought a ton of silver coins last year.

        • Patriot Dreamer says:

          You should be able to pause it by clicking on it. That’s all I’m able to do, though. Sounds like basically the same economic warnings Beck has given.

      • Kristi says:

        bottom line… we are screwed.

        Our currency will collapse. Money will be worthless.
        mass panic….. he thinks within a year. Martial law…

        I wish it wasnt so long either.

        • Patriot Dreamer says:

          Get out of debt as much as possible. Buy gold & silver. Do food storage.

          • Mrs Compton says:

            How much food do you think we’ll need? I’m looking into hydroponics as well. Setting up a solar pump system for it so it will cost nothing to run.

            • Mrs Compton says:

              And I figure if I need to I can use my jewelry, DH is gonna be happy now that I insisted on gold over household appliances!

            • Patriot Dreamer says:

              It’s hard to say. If things are really this bad, then you probably want to have at least one year’s worth of food and other essentials (batteries, first aid/medical, personal care items like toilet paper, and self-defense items) on hand. I would think that 30 days would be the bare minimum.

              Think about items that might be good for barter, too. Possibilities: coffee, tea, chocolate (if you have a place to keep it cool so it doesn’t melt), alcohol, cigarettes, spices (especially salt), ammunition.

              Just did a quick search on “just in time inventory”, and I came up on this blog entry:

              http://hubpages.com/hub/Just-In-TIme-Inventory-Potential-Food-Disaster

              I’m in the middle of “One Second After”, which is a novel about the impact of an EMP attack against the United States. Makes you think about how dependent we really are on high-tech electronics for transportation, communication, food, medical care, etc.

              • Kristi says:

                Geesh.. a year.
                how daunting.

                I think if things turn UGLY.. we will be at my brothers house.
                He has a small arsenal.

                Anyone watch that TLC show about extreme couponer’s?…
                I really need to figure out how to do that.

                • Patriot Dreamer says:

                  If you’re just starting, then focus on a month at first. It’s a lot less daunting.

                  I forgot to say earlier that you should always have some cash on hand, too. If something really bad happens, then you might not be able to access the money in your bank account.

                  Also, try to keep your vehicle(s) full/close to full of gas. You never know when you might have to “bug out”.

                • Kristi says:

                  Patriot..

                  I am going to start a list.

                  I have been buying canned goods.. but not enough.

          • emmajeri1010 says:

            Piece of wisdom from one of my older brothers in which I’ve never found a flaw (it was relevant in the late 1970′s and people were talking about food storage during Carter’s administration):

            There’s no point in storing food unless you’re willing to kill to protect it.

        • Integrity1st says:

          Can we talk about this martial law a little further. What’s the point in stocking up, when we’d be the first to be rounded up.

          Also, could somebody give me their thoughts on getting out of debt? With interest rates so low, and hyper inflation a good possibility, doesn’t it make sense to be leveraged to the hilt at low rates? And if bedlum breaks out, what does being out of debt get you?

      • Ad rem says:

        Is is just me….or doesn’t this guy sound just like Ari Fleischer?

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      I think this is one of those Yalta moments: it’s not that we didn’t “know” this. It’s that we truly, in our deepest bones and fears, don’t want to believe what we suspect is true. And when final evidence starts to roll in…and we believe it…

      …it’s not different than what we already suspected. It’s just a nightmare now being played out in the sunlight. Betrayal. Lies.

      When the word “evil” is used about policies and destruction like these people have implemented, it shouldn’t be used lightly. It can be used in full seriousness and with intent. It doesn’t have to be used because “we lost our temper and we’re really mad.” It can be used because we fully mean it.

      ItooktheRedpill used the scripture from John 10:10 last week and he was right on in his use of it. Jesus explains some relity, “The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy.” That’s one of the reasons I love the Scriptures: they/God never ask(s) us to pretend that things are different than they are. The truth is never glossed over. Things are called for what they actually are.

      I occasionally use the word “fools” with reference to this gang. As far as I know, I have not used the word fool in deliberate reference to specific individuals before in my life, but I have begun to do so in the last year. I don’t use it just to show how really mad I am. I use it because they are fools and need to be named as such.

    • Jennifer H says:

      Ok I can’t see the video- what is it about?

    • Jennifer H says:

      For those of you with pets, make sure you have enough for them too !

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      I have heard the argument from the Left that we shouldn’t defund NPR, because taxpayer funding is such a tiny part of NPR’s budget. As far as I’m concerned, that’s an argument in favor of defunding it, because they won’t miss the taxpayer money.

      • Moe says:

        If we can’t properly fund NASA, NPR is a no brainer.

      • emmajeri1010 says:

        That means they either don’t understand or don’t accept the basic principle behind the demand to defund NPR. The rationale for defunding them is not (only) so they will collapse: it is because citizens not be taxed/forced to support something like NPR and have no choice in the matter.

      • WeeWeed says:

        If these pussies (not you, Ad rem!!) can’t defund NPR they won’t do a damn thing that really needs doing. This would be a “good faith” move, imho. Soros can keep their sorosy a$$es solvent.

  14. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Clyburn’s nonsensical argument for bringing back the so-called “Fairness Doctrine”

  15. JRD says:

    Democrats pushing for State of Union unity

    Regular viewers of the president’s annual State of the Union address are familiar with one enduring tradition: The thunderous applause that often comes from just one ONE SIDE of the chamber.

    That’s because Democrats and Republicans sit on DIFFERENT SIDES of the chamber during the speech, and depending on president’s party, clap or scowl accordingly. (Remember “You lie”?)

    This year Democrats want to do away with that partisan seating arrangement following the mass shooting in Tucson, which, even though Rep. Gabrielle Giffords, D-Ariz., was among the victims, apparently had nothing to do with politics.

    House Minority Whip Steny Hoyer, D-Md., issued a statement Thursday calling for Republicans and Democrats to SIT TOGETHER during the State of the Union, scheduled for Jan. 25.

    Hoyer said Congress has a responsibility to set an example of less divisiveness. Such a gesture, he said, “should help end the political theater of repeatedly seeing one side of the aisle rise in applause, as the other sits still. We must always consider ourselves Americans first, and Democrats or Republicans second. It is my hope that this new tradition can remind us that, no matter what our differences, we all come to Congress with the nation’s best interests at heart.”

    The idea of mixing up the seating for the two parties was first suggested by the group Third Way, a PROGRESSIVE think tank.

    This idiots have the mentality of children. Like this ruse is going to fool anyone. Especially after Hoyer just finished calling the Tea Party “Dysfunctional.” This is one time where “words speak louder than actions” Steny. Take it somewhere else.

    • Kristi says:

      They are ridiculous.

      The only reason is they dont want America to actually see how much of a Republican take over happened in Nov.

      And they dont want it to look so bad when only a handful clap for Obama.

      But.. it was fine when they sat there like asses for Bush… dont remember a lot of ‘unity’ then.

      I hope the republicans stand strong. Dont cave an inch for these lunatics.
      They are still blaming republicans, Palin and the tea party for a lunatic who killed 6 people.

      Dont give an inch!

    • garnette says:

      It also means that Democrats can hide among the Republicans and not stand or clap just because it is expected of them. When they sit together, everyone has to stand and clap – kind of like not standing when the wave is done at a game.

      I really think it would backfire because you would just see a scattering of people standing and clapping rather than a mass group. Since I think it would divide the party more, I like the idea.

    • Amsterdam Expat says:

      I hope that the Justices boycott the event.

  16. The roots of the “Together We Thrive” memorial service camapaign rally can be traced to the 2008 Obama campaign and an anti-capitalist (a.k.a. Communist) post that promoted “a revolution”…

    Together We Thrive
    By John Berry IV – Feb 11, 2008 [almost three years ago]

    For too long Americans have been set one against the other, it is a side affect of a free market society. How can profits be maximized, how can I get the work done for the lowest possible costs. This continually sets one group against the other, especially in the blue collar sectors of America. It has become a part of the American Business model, whether it was indentured servants, slaves picking cotton, sharecroppers, the industrious people that built the railroads or todays migrant workers. As long as we remain divided, fighting for the scraps that America has to offer it will be one group against the other.

    What I see in Obama is a chance for a revolution…

    Barack and his fellow Communists used a mass murder memorial service as a platform to hand out T-shirts and promote what is really a revolutionary Communist agenda.

    • JRD says:

      Thank you redpill. You da man!

    • yomotley says:

      OMG>How do you always seem to get to the bottom of things? Now, how do we get full page ads taken out everywhere with this information?

    • TXMom says:

      Thanks for the info, redpill! This is too good.

    • Jennifer H says:

      Thanks Red Pill- Rush was talking about this on his program today as well. Get the information out there!

    • Giving credit where credit is due… I first learned of the connection to Obama’s 2008 campaign from two commenters at Michelle Malkin’s blog:

      On January 13th, 2011 at 11:16 pm, Virginia Patriot said:

      Yep, truly disgusting display of political manipulation. It was obviously orchestrated from the WH. The theme was used in an OFA article in Feb. 2008. “Together We Thrive” was recycled from the campaign. I’ve never been to any memorial that involved bussing people in to cheer.
      They’re getting the Univ. to take the heat for the t-shirts, apparently we weren’t the only ones appalled at the idea.

      ————————————

      On January 14th, 2011 at 1:23 am, Dasher said:

      Origins of “Together we Thrive” — right there on OFA — http://my.barackobama.com/page/community/post/johnberry_iv/C94H

      Virginia Patriot and Dasher led me to the post, I just saw the additional level of anti-capitalism, pro-communist-revolution, that was apparent to me in that post on Obama’s web site…

      “Together We Thrive” is a mantra that they had ready to launch, and were looking for an opportunity to use it. And they saw the memorial service for multiple murdered people in Arizona as the perfect opportunity to do so.

      Sick. But that’s what we should expect from them.

      Obama may have acted “spiritual”, but if you look more closely you’ll realize that his speechwriter was trying to approximate the tone of President Reagan, while simultaneously sending a “collective salvation” message that is the antithesis of everything Reagan stood for, and the embodiment of what Reagan stood against.

      pResident Obama:

      Scripture tells us that there is evil in the world, and that terrible things happen for reasons that defy human understanding.

      President Reagan:

      There is sin and evil in the world, and we’re enjoined by Scripture and the Lord Jesus to oppose it with all our might.

      … let us be aware that while they preach the supremacy of the State, declare its omnipotence over individual man, and predict its eventual domination of all peoples on the earth, they are the focus of evil in the modern world.

      President Reagan fought the Evil Empire. Obama seeks to expand it.

      • sundancecracker says:

        RedPill, brilliant analysis. I was trying to figure out how they were able to put together a “Theme” “Logo” and branding message complete with T-Shirts printed, in just 3 days. Now I know how. Excellent work RP.

        “Together We Thrive” is a mantra that they had ready to launch, and were looking for an opportunity to use it. And they saw the memorial service for multiple murdered people in Arizona as the perfect opportunity to do so.”

        You are EXACTLY right. Now THAT makes sense.

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      Bastardi’s Wager
      A former National Weather Service meteorologist has a challenge for climate scientists

      http://www.nationalreview.com/articles/print/257040

    • It is a team effort.

      But it is a team effort comprised of indivuals who voluntarily work together, not an involuntary, government-mandated “collective” effort!

      Everything the left does is “collective”…

      For example, Obama has said that he believes his individual salvation depends upon our “Collective Salvation“.

      And one of my favorites:

      Guess Which Collectivist Said It…

    • What Obama said:

      But at a time when our discourse has become so sharply polarized – at a time when we are far too eager to lay the blame for all that ails the world at the feet of those who think differently than we do – it’s important for us to pause for a moment and make sure that we are talking with each other in a way that heals, not a way that wounds.

      What I heard…

      But at a time when our discourse has become so sharply polarized – at a time when we are far too eager to lay the blame for all that ails the world at the feet of BUSH, I tell you that I inherited this mess and I’m trying to get the car out of the ditch while the Republicans sip on their slurpees…

    • What Obama said:

      let us use this occasion to expand our moral imaginations, to listen to each other more carefully, to sharpen our instincts for empathy, and remind ourselves of all the ways our hopes and dreams are bound together.

      What I heard…

      let us use this occasion to tell you to stop clinging to your Bibles, expand our moral imaginations to welcome homosexuals openly into the military, to listen to me, Barack Obama, more carefully, to sharpen our instincts for empathy via Socialist government programs, and remind ourselves of all the ways our hopes and dreams and salvation are bound together… because our individual salvation depends upon our collective salvation.

    • sundancecracker says:

      LC, a thread postup is in the works on this. Levin threw down the gauntlet. Getting his audio clips assembled for a post. Thanks for your link.

      • Jennifer H says:

        The right wing talking heads all need to collaberate on this – hit ‘em where it hurts most, in their pocketbooks, and put a stop to the out and out lies the LSM constantly furthers. Their agenda Must be stopped and this seems as good a place to start as any. For that matter WE the People need to start a class action suite against one or more of them! Any attorney’s out there who can advise or further expound on this idea?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.