Thursday Open Forum – December 30, 2010

A New Day. Heard my mother this morning, as if actually here, sing-song say, “Rise and shine, Give God the Glory. Rise and shine. It’s a new day”. Funny, my kids hate when I wake them that way! I know it is not because I can’t carry a tune because my mom could not either and woke me up most mornings this way.

Take note of the changes on the side bar.  We have added our “Let’s Read” Thread and our “Quotable” thread. These are ongoing pages so, post away! (click on icons)

And….it is raining!  Shoot, one day out of the winter and it will be used as a fact and statistic that Glorebull warming is a’happening! (Just go back to bed, Al, and miss this one.)

171 Responses to Thursday Open Forum – December 30, 2010

  1. ZMalfoy says:

    Ohayo Minna Honey-Chan!

    I have been caught in ponderings and unexpected emails from the host of our former gathering place. I admit, I’m not sure how to proceed. Should I answer the kind greetings? Or ignore? I’m leaning toward answering– if he’s reaching out, the least I can do is reach back. If he bites the hand that feeds, I can hit his nose with a newspaper and throw him outside with a stern “Bad Boy!”

    However, I wouldn’t want folk to think I was off gossiping about them behind their backs– you know how the internets can be, when three stray words in a conversation spark rumors and whispers and the next thing anyone knows, Obama’s not just an alien, but an Alien, from Centauri Prime, and he’s pining for the Glorious Days of the Former Republic. (Ah, if only!)

    . . .

    In the meantime, here’s to the ending of 2010! It was an interesting, educational year, to say the least. I learned a lot about America this year. I learned a lot about people– about how there’s still goodness and honor. And about how utterly lost we are without God constantly intervening to nudge us away from the Abyss. So, a productive year, in that account. . .

    • AFinch says:

      By “host of our former gathering place,” I assume you mean Kevin DuJan. It’s interesting that he is emailing you. I have not received anything from him. I wonder why.

      No one here can tell you what you should do or how you should respond. You know the answer. I would only urge you, as I would urge anyone where he is concerned, to proceed with caution.

      • ZMalfoy says:

        Yes. Caution is why I’m thinking this over. He and I met after 8/28, and I’d sent him a few things now and then, so that’s how he has my email. I hate cutting people off entirely– and if he’s reaching out, I hate to be the royal witch that smacks him back down. OTOH, yes, caution.
        ponder, ponder, ponder!

        • AFinch says:

          Again–I find it curious that he is emailing you. I also met him–several times–and I also sent him a few things–namely $600. He has my email, phone number and business address, and I have extended multiple public invitations to him to discuss what happened at his site. But I’ve not heard a peep from him. Then again, I also have no problem with being a royal witch–especially if I think I’m being played.

        • emmajeri1010 says:

          I don’t think choosing sensible boundaries based on things you have learned about an individual should be described as being the royal witch that smacks him down. You are not responsible for his perceptions about decisions you make.

        • NeeNee says:

          This piqued my curiosity, so journeyed
          over there just now. I guess when you can’t
          get enough comments to a thread, a solution
          seems to be just throw up something sexual:
          it will always get hits! Whereas a dry, political
          item may languish . . . .

          [Link removed by AFinch]

          Oh, and I see the countdown-to-new-site
          donation meter is up & running . . .

          • ZMalfoy says:

            huhn. I haven’t been over since I got AliRose’s invitation to come here.

            I think I’ll stew on this a while. ^_^

          • AFinch says:

            Hey NeeNee–I removed the link from your post. The man is a fraud. We’re not going to send hits to his site from the trail–I know that wasn’t your intent, but the effect is the same.

          • frankie says:

            I can’t believe that someone who has bilked many people out of hard earned $$ and then not used it as the people who ponied up intended – has the cajones to keep asking people for more $$$. Wasn’t this new site of his supposed to happen any minute – like 4 months ago? Would love to put a warning to all who go there about the dangers of donating $$ to this fraud but know it would never see the light of day over there.

            The man is shameless and has no conscience to keep doing this begging over & over & over. He obviously has no remorse for what he’s done in the past and has no intention to change. TXMom, JRD, NeeNee, myself & and others here were on HB prior to the election in 08. He left us high and dry and never apologized – just ranted & raved about what horrible people *we* were to have started a new site. Then he went on the rampage that led another great group of people to leave HB & start this great site. Again – no apology. He will continue to do this to more unsuspecting people and I may be hard-nosed, but I would not be able to cut him *any* slack. He’s a user and an abuser of people’s trust & good nature. He’s a horrible little man!

            • sundancecracker says:

              Actually it was supposed to be “in the works” Nov/Dec 2009 up and running Jan/Feb 2010, then again “in the works” before the November 2010 elections, now “in the works”Jan/Feb 2011… blah… blah…. blah…

            • AFinch says:

              Thanks for saying this.

            • Thomas Hooker says:

              Although it appears the boyz are comprised of only one person, he specifically begged for donations enough to send four people to 8/28. Too bad there isn’t some way to warn newbies in the event a new trip comes up with similar pleadings.

      • Integrity1st says:

        AFinch, when I read today’s first post, I knew, or hoped, to see you on it. I could not help but smile when the very next post had the shepard icon, the guard dog. It was just so perfect. You have handled this, (not specific to the above, but rather the whole matter), so professionally and diplomatically, it could not have been done better. I owe you a special thanks because I did not want to move on without it being spelled out and analysed the way that you did and continue to do. I just plain like it.

        I still go from slimedog con man to sicko, and believe it somewhere in between, but no matter what, he still has lucid moments to do what’s right and had many opportunities to apologize and ‘reach out’ to those of us who invited such. There is nothing to be gained by indulging his random overtures to selected victims when the vast majority remains at large.

        (I would also add we stopped being victims and became victors as soon as we made the break and found our honeys =)

        SDJ insert smiley party animals here: of course I get on so late i wonder who will ever get back here to read this =(

  2. yomotley says:

    Anyone know why on the Book thread when I just posted — tried several times with same result — It inserts itself up in the thread and not as a new comment on the bottom? I am getting to the page via the side bar link and it appears it is finding the latest post and putting mine as a reply to that. How do I undo this?

  3. WeeWeed says:

    You guys in IN feel the earthquake this morning?

  4. Amsterdam Expat says:

    At Stacy McCain’s there’s a notice of a new (?) Tea Party-type group that’s planning a protest in D.C. later in January.

    http://www.guardiansofliberty.org/

  5. AFinch says:

    So as I was pondering all the stories about Nanny Bloomberg’s poor handling of the blizzard this morning, I wondered why Obama isn’t sharing any of the blame. I don’t remember Mayor Nagin taking this much heat in the aftermath of Katrina. Instead, the blame was placed directly on W’s shoulders–even though he had no authority to act without an invitation from state and local authorities. Meanwhile we were inundated with images of black residents seemingly abandoned and ingnored. It was called an embarrassment in natioanl and international press.

    Here, we have a white mayor and a black president and Bloomberg is largely (and appropriately) being held solely responsible. Thousands of people have been stranded in NYC, hundreds of 911 calls have gone unanswered, at least one person (a new born) died because ambulances could not get to the mother. How many people have died? What are their races? Meanwhile, while the rest of the country is interested and mildly concerned, most of the media response has been to make fun of the entitled yet hapless people of New York. They’re expected to just suck it up and wait for the plows, or work the shovels themselves.

    Is this an example of the soft bigotry of lowered expectations: the poor black people in NO, with their black mayor are to be pitied and helped by the white president, but the white (or non black) people in NYC with their white mayor are expected to do for themselves while their black president vacations in Hawai’i?

    • WeeWeed says:

      Oh, like in Nashville?

    • NeeNee says:

      “Soft bigotry” combined with a double standard, IMO.

      After Katrina, eastern & central Iowa towns were inundated
      by flooding the likes of which hadn’t been seen in decades.
      Ditto North Dakota when Benito was first immaculated, I believe.

      Although both were declared disaster areas, Iowans didn’t
      stand there with hands out/whining. Folks in these areas worked
      their heinies off for months. Church groups from all over the
      state showed up to offer their manpower. Civic groups stepped up.
      Little by little, the job got done.

      frankie can probably add to the flood experience of North Dakota (her home
      state). As I recall, Benito couldn’t even manage to feign a little
      interest in that disaster either. Instead of sending in any kind of significant aid (or bothering to show up on scene, as did Bush), he instead seized the opportunity to promote the Goreacle’s
      global warming concept:

      (From March 29, 2009: “President Obama says potentially historic flood levels in North Dakota are a clear example of why steps need to be taken to stop global warming….” and quote the President as saying in his usual articulate way:

      “If you look at the flooding that’s going on right now in North Dakota and you say to yourself, ‘If you see an increase of two degrees, what does that do, in terms of the situation there?’”

      Never let a good crisis go to waste . . .

      Of course, he and the press are going
      to always focus on situations/cities where there are large populations
      of blacks because it plays to their base. I perceive that attention to
      be rooted in maintaining the Dem votership.

      • frankie says:

        I wrote a whole reply to this over 2 hours ago and it went off into cyberspace I guess. Will post abreviated version and see if it goes correctly: Yes, Obummer went nowhere near ND during its hours of need but was able to use its flooding problems to suit his own purposes. People in ND, IA and Nashville just did what comes naturally – rolled up their sleeves and tirelessly helped themselves and their neighbors (great examples of young people showing they’re not all fluff and video games by working long hours loading & lifting sand bags) rather than sitting on rooftops waiting for the Federal Gov’t to come pluck them from their plight.

        • AFinch says:

          Hey Frankie, I just checked the moderation/spam filter and didn’t see your comment. So, repost if you care to.

          • frankie says:

            May have been something on my end, AFinch. After I hit “post” it sat & sat & sat and then went to a screen that said something about not being able to find a page. ??? I waited to see if it would appear but…no. Have posted any # of comments since & they’ve all gone w/o a hitch and I did repost so all’s well at this point. Thanks!

    • AFinch says:

      According to the apologists at the NYTimes, the outrage from NYC residents at Bloomberg is nothing new and nothing to be concerned about: “In 1969, Mayor John V. Lindsay was skewered after a blizzard buried the city in 15 inches of snow. Streets in Queens remained covered for days. “Homeowners greeted the visiting mayor with boos, jeers and curses,” according to Mayor Lindsay’s obituary in 2000.” (Remember this when they start telling us next week that the blizzard is evidence of gorebull warming.) http://www.nytimes.com/2010/12/31/nyregion/31outrage.html?_r=1&hp

      Wouldn’t it be fun if the NYTimes were forced to choose between their nannies–Bloomberg or Obama?

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      Looks like part of the poor response to the snow might be part of a union protest:

      http://www.nypost.com/p/news/local/sanit_filthy_snow_slow_mo_qH57MZwC53QKOJlekSSDJK

      If that’s the case, then heads should roll. People died as a result of their “protest”.

      • emmajeri1010 says:

        Keep in mind that the death of an infant and the death of an elderly person probably isn’t actually that big a deal in the world view of the progressive union thugs. As I understand obama care, planned deaths within the ranks of both those groups either is or soon will be SOP. I’m not aiming for sarcastic putdown here: I’m just connecting a couple of dots. Over the long haul, indignation rising from placing a high value on any human life is going to have less and less leverage. Unless ……

        • violet says:

          You’re right, Emma. The union thugs took a page from Lenin’s playbook — “You can’t make an omelet without breaking a few eggs.”

  6. ZMalfoy says:

    Oh, and for all the Catholic Hikers!

    The Anchoress has a link for a Patron Saint Generator
    Here

    it’s her tradition (and that of others) to pick a random saint at the New Year to be your patron for that year. I got St. Peter the Apostle for the year, so that’ll be interesting. Thought some of you may want to give it a spin, see who you get!

    • Menagerie says:

      Thank you for this link. A wonderful thing happened for me. I am very grateful to you for sending me.

    • Kristi says:

      I love that!

      I got St Guy, I will like finding out about him.

    • frankie says:

      Thank you ZMalfoy for pointing me to this great site. I was chosen by St. Francis of Assisi – someone I’ve known all my life since I was born on his Freast Day – Oct. 4th. My parents knew the day of my arrival on this earth (even in ’49 births were *scheduled* if medical history indicated the necessity) so had I been born a boy, I would have been named Francis. Odd that they didn’t then name their daughter, FrancEs, but instead named me after aunts & Grandmother. How interesting that now I use “frankie” as my blog name. Hmmm! Never gave that a thought before now. I’d never heard of this tradition for each new year but I think it is quite wonderful and am looking forward to having St. Francis as a special confidante in 2011.

  7. Wraith says:

    Here’s to the new year! Looks like we’ll be staying indoors here in AZ, as we’re being slammed with 8-10″ of sunshine and blue skies the ugly white stuff that we moved here to get away from. Of course, this is due to…yep…global warming.

    In other news, up is down, black is white, and Obama is competent.

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      Welcome to George Orwell’s Newspeak!

      :D

      • frankie says:

        Love Joe Bastardi! He’s been outspoken about the hoax of Global Warming for a *long* time. Many of those who tried to pull this global warming crap on us for their own financial gain have now taken to using the term “climate change” to cover their backsides. But didn’t I hear that just the other day someone high up in Obummer’s team is still being a die-hard user of the term “Global Warming”? Weren’t these the people who were so adamant about George W. Bush and the Republican’s *admitting* when they were wrong? Another case of their total hypocrisy.

      • sundancecracker says:

        Here’s what they were saying 10 years ago:
        Global warming, the heating of the atmosphere by increased amounts of industrial gases, is … so far manifesting itself more in winters which are less cold than in much hotter summers. According to Dr David Viner, a senior research scientist at the climatic research unit (CRU) of the University of East Anglia, within a few years winter snowfall will become “a very rare and exciting event”. “Children just aren’t going to know what snow is,” he said.

    • frankie says:

      Wraith – where in AZ are you? Up in the Flagstaff area which got slammed w/ the white stuff, or down in Tucson which got similar slamming, or somewhere in-between. Snow levels down at lower levels than normal all over AZ. I’m in Phoenix suburbia and we got tons of rain, sleet overnight and high winds that blew things all over heck & back again. Not looking forward to trying to cover everything in my yard as we dip down into low 20′s tonite. This seems odd to people in other parts of the country that are dealing w/ -20 windchill temps today but this isn’t supposed to happen in the Desert! Global Warming? Bwwwwahhhhhhh!

      • emmajeri1010 says:

        DH and I are, respectively, natives of rural Minnesota and Montana, so when we returned here in 1993 after 28 years in CA we knew what we were getting into. Even though AZ and such areas don’t frequently have the extremely low temperatures and the same patterns, the challenge they face when it does happen is simply that in terms of equipment and skills for dealing with it…the population and the municipalities have a challenge. Having lived in both places, and now facing 35 below windchills tomorrow night, I don’t make light of what you guys are dealing with. You’re having to cope with an extreme for your area….just like we would if we suddenly had temps of 110 above for 7 days in July. Be careful! and good luck to you….

      • Wraith says:

        I’m up on the Rim, where me and my 4×4 had lots of fun bringing the wife lunch at work. Actually, since we’re ex-Minnesotans(I swear, half of Arizona is composed of Minnesota transplants), we’re well-equipped to deal with this kind of thing.

        Unfortunately, as Emma points out, nobody else is. :D

  8. AFinch says:

    As you all probably heard, Jim Demint, said recently that Sarah Palin has done more for the Republican party than Ronald Reagan. In response, some bloggers scoffed that such a comparison is insulting to Reagan–after all he was two-term governor of the state of CA before he ran for president and Palin failed to complete her first term as governor of the least populous state of the union.

    You know who else has been a two term governor of California? Arnold Schwarteneger and Gerry Brown. In fact, Gerry Brown was just elected to his third term after a 27 year hiatus. I don’t see anyone comparing either of those two to Reagan. With all respect to Pres. Reagan, I’m not sure that being gov of CA is anything to brag about.

    • yomotley says:

      Wow, you framed that perfectly! You have a way with logics, Girl!

    • PhillyCon says:

      AFinch:
      That was a spectacular feat of logical thinking and arugmentation. Its such a rarity these days, your eyes/mind pop when you see it! :)

    • PhillyCon says:

      Oh, on another note, all these pundits and faux conservatives pinning outrage of Palin being compared to the Gipper … Don’t be fooled, these were probably the same people who opposed his candidacy and supported Bush I (Mr. “voodoo” economics), and remember reading somewhere Rove worked for the Bush campaign.

      • AFinch says:

        It wouldn’t surprise me. Rove first met Bush senior when Bush selected him to be chair of College Republicans, which is ironic because Rove had dropped out of college at that point. Did you know that Rove has attended the University of Utah, University of Texas–Austin and George Mason University but still has not completed his degree? Remember that next time he starts talking about how undignified a particular candidate is.

        http://www.usnews.com/usnews/news/articles/070813/13rovefacts.htm

        • sundancecracker says:

          Exactly, Rove went to work for then Senator Bush who was in charge of the College Republican organization. Rove later became the Chairperson. This was Rove’s indoctrination into the outer circle of the Decepticons. Bush and other Decepticons dispatched Rove coast to coast with political tasks and objectives to test his mettle. Rove passed all tests with flying colors and earned his gold crested entry badge into the Decepticon fold.

        • PhillyCon says:

          Wow. Who the heck knew that important, little tidbit of info?

          3 colleges, yet no Bachelors Degree? Very, very interesting.

          • AFinch says:

            Check out the college dropout hall of fame to arm yourself with facts to repel arguments like those from that smarmy little troll over at C4P yesterday:

            http://www.collegedropoutshalloffame.com/t.htm

            Did you know that 8 former US Presidents never attended college? Zachary Taylor and Harry Truman are two. Who are the other 6?

            • AFinch says:

              Okay, I had no idea what I just stumbled upon. That is really a stunning list: Cornelius Vanderbilt, Henry Ford, Steve Jobs, Steve Wozniak, Bill Gates. Michael Dell.

              I heard someone say recently that the innovtions that made this country great were conceived and built by a country with an average 8th grade education. Then you hear stories of people graduating from Columbia with $100,000 in debts and a degree in women’s studies who can’t find a job. Formal education in this country is a huge racket.

            • sundancecracker says:

              Abraham Lincoln was one.

    • TNWAHM says:

      Memphis City School board just voted to surrender their charter in the hope that Shelby Co Schools will be forced to consolidate with Memphis Schools. ~long story~ I’m going to post this at the local paper’s site.

      • Patriot Dreamer says:

        Could you post a link?

        • TNWAHM says:

          Here’s a link about the vote.
          http://www.commercialappeal.com/news/2010/dec/20/memphis-school-board-vote-charter/

          I’ll try to summarize. Shelby County encompasses the city of Memphis as well as many of its suburbs. The Memphis City schools are horrible. It’s a typical Dem controlled city. We have both Shelby County government and Memphis city government. Shelby County schools and Memphis City schools. Some in Memphis have been trying to consolidate Memphis and Shelby Co for years. This year it was on the ballot and resounding lost again. This is an end run at trying to force consolidation. Memphis schools are out of money and want to tap into the tax base in Shelby County. The outgoing MCS board voted to surrender their charter to force Shelby County to take it over. Now it goes to a vote of the citizens. The question right now is whether Shelby Co has a say in this or not. What they don’t realize is that Shelby Co teachers make less than Memphis City teachers and also have fewer resources. What “King Willie” ~our former mayor and superintendant of MCS~ did for North MS and the rest of Shelby Co this would do for North MS and farther out counties ~Fayette and Tipton Co~. It’s a mess.

  9. sundancecracker says:

    President Barack Obama will use recess appointments to install six executive branch officials, bypassing Senate confirmation. The appointments include James Cole, his controversial choice for deputy attorney general — the No. 2 spot at the Justice Department.
    http://www.newsmax.com/InsideCover/Obama-Appoint-Senate-confirmation/2010/12/30/id/381445?s=al&promo_code=B623-1

    http://thehill.com/homenews/house/135439-gop-lawmaker-calls-obama-recess-appointment-absolutely-shocking

  10. emmajeri1010 says:

    Mark Steyn is on a tear this hour on Rush. What a hoot….he just did a long riff about the curly fry lightbulb and the 14 steps that the Maine Dept. of Human Safety in the Presence of Curly Fry Lightbulbs has issued for everyone to follow. Insane. We’ve been picking up incandescents for at least two years. At this point, I have two special storage places filled with nothing but, in a variety of wattages. I think we have enough to last a lifetime. Or maybe we can use them for barter when the economy totally collapses.

    • NeeNee says:

      Me, too, Emma.
      I’ve been stockpiling the not-often-used
      150 watt bulbs for my turn of the century
      Art Nouveau light fixtures at the antique shop.
      Periodically they are listed as “closeouts” and I

      can get them for $1 apiece! Mysteriously, they
      will reappear as a stock item at $1.75 weeks later . . .

      • Wraith says:

        Actually, to give credit where it’s due regarding those curly bulbs…

        The power in our town is absolutely rotten. It’s the poster child for “dirty power.” Brownouts, temporary blackouts–you name it. We’d be going through at least a 6-pack of regular bulbs in a month.

        Say what you will–those curly bulbs simply last forever in adverse conditions. I don’t for a second think they ought to be mandatory, but I like having them as an option. So if your power sucks as bad as ours, you might want to look into them. Don’t chop your nose off to spite your face.

    • violet says:

      I was in my car running errands and heard Mark’s monologue on the Curly Fry Light Bulbs — it was priceless! When it comes out on the podcast I’m going to listen to it again. Mark is a national treasure.

      I too have been stocking up on incandescent bulbs, as I can’t stand fluorescents. I have a feeling the ban will be repealed, as more people begin to put pressure on their congress critters, but I’m not taking any chances….

      • AFinch says:

        I. Love. Steyn. He is the only other host–radio, television, whatever–who comes close to Rush when it comes to addressing important issues with the appropriate mix of outrage and humor. National treasure is what I thought when I was listening to yesterday’s podcast this morning. Then it occurred to me that he may not be an American citizen–but we can claim him anyway, right?

        • Pat P says:

          He often makes me laugh out loud.

        • Amsterdam Expat says:

          He’s Canadian (and thus British as well), but he lives on the American side of the border in Vermont or New Hampshire, I believe.

          But whatever and wherever he is, it’s indisputable: he’s near the top of the hotness list (watch out, Todd Palin!).

        • Patriot Dreamer says:

          Whatever his citizenship, he’s American in spirit!

          :D

          • violet says:

            I agree, Patriot Dreamer. You can be born in the U.S. and not be a true American, as our viciously anti-American president has abundantly demonstrated. Mark wasn’t born here, but his love for America is unmistakable. He’s more of a real American than Barack Øbama ever thought of being.

  11. sundancecracker says:

    How would the media have played this “if”… the colors of the participants were reversed?

  12. sundancecracker says:

    “God hates Christmas.”
    “The white man has set up laws where the faggots and lesbians have rights, and parades.”
    “The white man is against nature, and we prove that out of scripture.”
    “The white man is in power now because he is a thief and a murderer.”
    “God hates America, and he will destroy it.”
    “The white man has never taught you about God. He lied, and told you he was God.”
    http://www.moonbattery.com/archives/2010/12/how-black-musli.html

  13. NeeNee says:

    On a different note, what’s the price of gas in your areas?

    Every gas station in our small western Iowa town
    has $3.03 per gallon up on their marquees.

    But Benito insists there is no inflation (because he does not
    factor price of fuels/groceries into the official government
    rate—duh!).

    • NeeNee says:

      Oh, and the Obama administration is working
      on increasing the gas tax—which would hike that
      $3.03 per gallon substantially.

      When gas went to $4.50 per gallon a few years ago,
      summer tourist traffic into our antique shop came to

      a dead stop. People out vacationing spent their $$$
      on motels, gas and food—no frivolities like antiques
      or souvenirs. Like ripples from a stone thrown into a
      pond, actions like this negatively impact so many
      businesses.

      • Please take a look at the graph here:

        http://www.newsobserver.com/2010/12/09/851986/gas-up-to-290-and-rising.html

        (archived here: http://www.webcitation.org/5vN4unAvo )

        Has anyone ever seen an explanation for why/how the price of gas dropped from (approximately) $4/gallon to $2/gallon in the two months before the November 2008 elections?

        I say that people were outraged about $4/gallon gas, and the Democrats realized that it could cost them votes in the election, so the powers that manipulate the gas prices cut the price in half just in time for the election.

        If someone has an alternative explanation, I’d like to hear it. I’ve seen no other reasonable explanation for a 50% drop in gas prices just before the 2008 election.

        • AFinch says:

          Oh wow. I hadn’t seen that before and didn’t remember the drop being so steep or so sudden. What I remember during that time frame were huge losses and massive cut backs in industries that had been largely recession-proof. I just assumed that with the resulting inactivity there was a drop off in demand on the energy supply, resulting in lower prices. In fact, I remember someone saying that the falling prices were not good news, that things were also cheep during the depression because no one was buying/using.

          I guess I don’t see how high gas prices would have hurt the dems more than the reps. I thought Bush was being blamed for everything, including prices at the pump.

        • Ting says:

          I don’t really know what I am talking about, but it occurred to me that the Sept. 16, 2008 high price, and then the pretty sharp drop, coincides pretty perfectly with the fall of Lehman, TARP votes, McCain campaign suspension, etc. I remember hearing an expert on one of the business channels at the time saying the only good thing about the fall of the stock market, etc. at that time would be that the price of gas would drop. Sure enough, it did. Maybe Dagny can explain it all. I am just observing, and not trying to offer an explanation.

          • Thanks for bringing that up. I just looked it up and McCain suspended his campaign on September 24, 2008.

            I personally think that McCain was the “designated loser”. I think it was all planned to have McCain say he wasn’t good at economics, and then manipulate multiple aspects of the economy to sway the election in Obama’s favor.

            In August of 2008, Democrats in Congress were blocking “Drill Here, Drill Now” when gas was $4/gallon. Dropping the price of gas to $2/gallon took the heat of Dems.

            In September of 2008, the Trojan Horse Treasury Secretary Henry Paulson told his chicken little story and Bush believed it. The result was TARP, which voters DID. NOT. WANT. Bush and the Republicans got all of the blame, even though Obama got half of the TARP money! (See “Irresponsible”)

            • Ting says:

              Yes, that was so odd when McCain said that he “wasn’t good at economics.” It did seem like he wanted to lose sometimes, but I just thought he was an old coot who didn’t know how to censor his thoughts! Maybe you have the more accurate theory.

          • WeeWeed says:

            You have made me think all afternoon, red pill. Today I got gas at lunch, $2.99 a gallon and I live roughly 70 miles from “the rack” – that’s where the local tankers fill up and transport to us peasants. It’s been going up QUICKLY since November 2, oddly enough, isn’t-that-speeeccciallll! Are we gonna blame all the newbie “R’s” that aren’t even there, yet for gas prices “skyrocketing since the Republicans took over?” Hmmmm?? It damn sure isn’t snowing down here and nobody heats their homes with gasoline. I could use an answer, too.

          • I’m not sure why the middle link of the 3 above didn’t display properly as a link. Here is the proper link:

            The Tipping Point

    • TNWAHM says:

      Gas here is $2.85; although our area has the cheapest in Memphis. We saw up to $2.95 on our trip across AR last weekend to my parents. I say, drill, baby, drill.

      • Yes, Drill, Baby, Drill!

        We could be not only 100% energy independent, we could increase our national wealth and decrease our national debt, if we could simply get the Legislative and Executive branches in Washington, D.C. to get out of the way! It is the Federal government that is preventing access to our own abundant resources. We have more than three times the proven oil reserves of Saudi Arabia (the world’s current #1 oil exporter). Imagine the wealth that would be generated in this country if WE became the #1 oil exporter!

        It’s the Democratic Socialist/Communist “Green” lies that are impoverishing this country and redistributing our wealth to Socialist/Communist and Jihadist-financing countries like Venezuela and Saudi Arabia.

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      Gas around here is around $3.05-$3.10.

  14. GracieD says:

    I ran across this, and thought it worth sharing. I am not a very patient person, and have been asking God, why all of this craziness is happening in our Country? Well, this morning, BGF emails me this scripture…no explanations, just the scripture.

    The Lord isn’t really being slow about his promise, as some people think. No, he is being patient for your sake. He does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants everyone to repent.

    ~ 2 Peter 3:9, NLT

  15. sundancecracker says:

    One of the best videos of 2010. Goosepimply good. Prepare to be moved:

  16. sundancecracker says:

    GOPAC chairman Frank Donatelli just sent out a press release crowing that 25 Democratic legislators have now switched parties and become Republican.

    # Representative Allan Boothe – Alabama House
    # Representative Steve Hurst – Alabama House
    # Representative Mike Millican –Alabama House
    # Representative Lesley Vance – Alabama House

    # Senator Tim Golden – Georgia Senate
    # Representative Ellis Black – Georgia House
    # Representative Amy Carter – Georgia House
    # Representative Mike Cheokas – Georgia House
    # Representative Bubber Epps – Georgia House
    # Representative Gerald Greene – Georgia House
    # Representative Bob Hanner – Georgia House
    # Representative Doug McKillip – Georgia House
    # Representative Alan Powell – Georgia House

    # Senator Chris Steineger – Kansas Senate
    # Senator John Alario – Louisiana Senate
    # Senator John Smith – Louisiana Senate
    # Representative Noble Ellington – Louisiana Senate
    # Representative Walker Hines – Louisiana House
    # Representative Fred Mills – Louisiana House
    # Representative Michael Willette – Maine House
    # Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith – Mississippi Senate
    # Representative Bobby Shows – Mississippi House

    # Senator Eldon Nygarrd – South Dakota Senate
    # Representative Allan Ritter – Texas House
    # Representative Aaron Pena – Texas House
    Read more at the Washington Examiner: http://washingtonexaminer.com/blogs/beltway-confidential/2010/12/twenty-five-democratic-state-legislators-have-switched-parties#ixzz19dUsSQYs

    • WeeWeed says:

      My first thought is “Trojan Horses…” I shall be watching these two in TX.

      • sundancecracker says:

        good idea !!

      • AFinch says:

        Hmmm. My first thought rhymed with “Gore.” Just another reason not to trust those with Rs beside their names.

        • WeeWeed says:

          I know, huh :) ? Obviously they’re trying to save their own sorry asses, but methinks the local cocktail parties got to ‘em. As in, ” help us defeat these newbies. As a D you’re outnumbered and have no say, but as an R voting with us maybe we can overpower them.” Beeyotches. Arlen Sphincters, the lot of ‘em, likely.

  17. GracieD says:

    I know John Alario, and he is a moderate. John is also pragmatic, and sees that Louisiana is moving further to the right. I think what actually pushed him to switch parties was the way the WH handled the oil spill. That made many lifelong Dems switch to Dem or Indie. What people do not know is that drilling has not resumed in the gulf in spite of the expiration of the moratorium on drilling. That is a minimum of 45,000 jobs, just gone. Oilfield jobs pay well, and support many other businesses in the process.

    I have heard of Walker Hines, and thought he was already a Republican, though being from New Orleans, maybe not. At any rate, he seems to be pretty Conservative in his views from what I read on his website.

    The rest of the Louisiana names are familiar, but I don’t know much about them. I agree with WeeWeed, I will definitely keep an eye on them.

    • GracieD says:

      sorry…switched to Repub or Indie.

      • WeeWeed says:

        An off-topic question for ya, Gracie – what is Moon Griffon’s problem with Bobby Jindal? Most of us in TX love Bobby and his cojones for getting in His Travesty Benito Hussein Rex’s face over the spill, even though we’re all getting punished for it (we Americans appreciate defiance, as you know!) Is Moon a nut or is Bobby up to something Louisianans don’t cotton to? Just curious, as Moon’s kvetching is all we heard on the way in over the holidays.

        • GracieD says:

          What a small world, WeeWeed! Blane was a friend of my brother, Keith when we lived in Plaquimine. We called him Blane or “Moonie”, guess he shortened it to “Moon” as he got older. Some people in Louisiana are ticked because they think Bobby does too much fundraising, and not enough governing. Not sure exactly what Blane’s beef is with Bobby. In Louisiana it is a form of “sport” to badmouth politicians. Maybe Blane is just ticked at something Bobby did/didn’t do that he thought Bobby should/should not have done. I’m going to listen to Blane’s podcast, and see what I can suss up.

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      People who listen to Rush know that drilling has not resumed….I think Sean Hannitty, as well, has talked about the fact that a slowdown of the permit process is being used to prevent resumption of drilling even though technically the moratorium was lifted. This administration has destroyed the agriculture economy in the San Joaquin Valley in California; they’ve destroyed the oil industry on the Gulf Coast….I expect they will keep destroying whatever they want to until they are stopped. Who will stop them?

  18. NeeNee says:

    As we know, Ezra Klein is a 20-something liberal columnist for the Washington Post. Satirist iowahawk really skewers him in a mock job application on today’s thread. Barbed satire, but so spot on! Entire post at: http://iowahawk.typepad.com/iowahawk/

    IOWAHAWK JOB APPLICATION QUESTION: Please explain, in your own words, “What the Constitution Means to Me.” Use footnotes where necessary, specifying relevant sources. Your essay should be 500 to 1000 words, not including footnotes.

    KLEIN: The Constitution is very important. It is very important because the Constitution is an important part of the American government, which is as we all know very important also. It can be juxtaposed with other important books and journalism writings which can be found in various history studies.

    According to Wikipedia1, the Constitution was discovered over 100 years ago, but is still going strong today. It was discovered by the “Founding Fathers” such as George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, Benjamin Franklin, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, and so forth. Although we often call them the “Founding Fathers” there were many women who were also important in this process who have been far too overlooked. Although these people are now mostly passed away, we still remember them for their importance.

    It is important to remember that there are three main parts to the Constitution. First there is the first part. Then comes the middle part of the Constitution. Finally, there is the last part. In the first part of the Constitution we are introduced to the colorful characters, who can often be juxtaposed. This first part helps to, i.e., set up the “tone” for the rest of the Constitution.

    The next part of the Constitution, the middle, is considered by many people to be the main most important part. However, there are other people who disagree with this interpretation, which has led to controversy and conflict. I have to say that I personally side with the people who think it is the most important, because the middle is where the main crux of the Constitution happens. For example, e.g., the middle is the part where we find the Woman’s Right to Choose and the Miranda part, which is a critical issue still today2. In the middle you will also various parts about African-Americans, and especially journalism.

    Finally there is the last part of the Constitution, which, as many people have noted, can be juxtaposed with the earlier parts. For people who haven’t read the Constitution, I recommend reading it all the way too the end to see how it is juxtaposed in a very important way. I don’t want to give out any “spoilers,” because it’s really amazing.

    Because the Constitution is so old, it is written in the “old-timey” language of people of more than one century ago, which leads many modern people to get confused and frustrated by it. “What is this stupid boring thing?” they will ask, then go back to playing Super Mario Cart. These modern people could not be any more wrong, because hidden underneath all the “so-called” confusing words is an exciting story with twists and turns everywhere. Fortunately, and most importantly, the Founding Fathers also invented the Supreme Court which does a good job of translating the Constitution into modern words and juxtaposing them for all of us, the American people of the United States.

    And this is, in at least five hundred words, not including the foot notes, what the Constitution means to me.

    Footnotes

    1. http://www.wikipedia.com
    2. Law and Order, NBC-TV

    Considering the first order of business for the new, incoming Congress
    is to marathon read the Constitution, I thought this little piece was
    especially appropos!

  19. sundancecracker says:

    To test your knowledge of prominent people and major events in the news, we invite you to take our short 12-question quiz. Then see how you did in comparison with 1,001 randomly sampled adults asked the same questions in a national survey conducted Nov. 11-14, 2010 by the Pew Research Center.

    The Pew Research Center updates the News IQ quiz every few months by conducting a nationwide survey of Americans reached by both landline and cell phones. Each version of the quiz asks a wide range of questions about current events and issues as well as background facts and concepts that are relevant to the news. For an analysis of the findings from the most recent national News IQ survey, read the full summary of findings.

    The exact same quiz administered on the telephone survey is replicated here on the website. When you finish, you will be able to compare your News IQ with: the average American, as well as with the scores of men and women; with college graduates as well as those who didn’t attend college; with people who are your age as well as with younger and older Americans. Are you more news-savvy than the average American?

    (Take Test Here)

    I got 11 out of 12. Missed the last one…. I ain’t no techy guy. !!

  20. sundancecracker says:

    Please, go ahead and execute this plan…. you’ll be in for a BIG surprise !!
    “”In what could be the most extreme and influential crowdsourcing project ever, Democrats are beginning to organize to purposely vote for Palin in the 2012 Republican primaries. Their theory is by having Palin as an opponent, Obama will have the best odds at winning reelection. Recent polls have shown that Obama comfortably leads Palin by 10-20 points, but Obama is statistically tied with Romney and barely ahead of Huckabee. They even have a state-by-state primary voting guide to help Democrats navigate various states’ rules for voting Palin in Republican primaries.” http://politics.slashdot.org/story/10/12/30/213246/Democrats-Crowdsourcing-To-Vote-Palin-In-Primaries?

    Go Ahead….. Make My Day !!

    • PhillyCon says:

      “Be careful what you wish for”

      I wonder what Rush’s reaction would be, they are clearly “cribbing” his idea.

      • Ting says:

        What was Rush’s Operation Chaos all about anyway? I can’t remember if people were supposed to vote for Obama or Hillary, and which one he thought was going to be the easiest to beat in the General Election. Was he right? I have this vague memory that he was not, but I’m not sure. I do remember that Virginia went overwhelmingly for Obama over Hillary in the Dem. primary – a huge surprise to me – and ever since I have heard about Pigford I have been wondering if that was somehow a part of it. I know that John Boyd who is the president of something called, I think, the Black Farmers Association is from Virginia. He is the guy that drove his tractor all over D.C.

        • emmajeri1010 says:

          As I recall, Rush figured the dems wanted to crush Hillary early, in their eagerness to anoint obama. So at least a good portion of his idea was to keep Hillary going in the primaries, and ruin their anointing party. I don’t recall that it had to do with she would be easier to beat in the general, but I have never claimed to be able to plumb the depths of Mr. Limbaugh’s mind! (even the half that he regularly uses….)

        • WeeWeed says:

          Operation Chaos was to vote for Hillary. Hillary won the primary in Texas. Of course, when it was all over due to ACORN, the criminal invasion, the lifers in prison and everybody’s dog that was allowed to vote (no – I’m not forgetting the cemetaries) plus imaginary friends, somehow B. Hussein pulled it off. Amazing. I know a few D’s, believe it or not, and they all voted for Hillary.

      • GracieD says:

        I think Rush would tell them to be careful what they wish for. Sarah would beat Zippy, since 80% of this Country do not want a Socialist in the WH.

    • PhillyCon says:

      Hey, at least, this means no RINO candidate! Hooray!!

    • Amsterdam Expat says:

      Please may the lemmi … what am I saying, donkeys do just that!

    • WeeWeed says:

      Oh, and WOOT!! Bring it!

    • AFinch says:

      Please, please, please.

  21. Kristi says:

    Ya’ll need a laugh at my expense?

    I backed out of the garage today… over corrected (I was too close to the wall) ended up running over an entire bag of my sons paintballs.
    I drug the bag out of the garage with my tire then backed up on more of them as they rolled out of the plastic bag.

    After I got all the way out of the drive I looked back at the horror that was now my garage and driveway. UGH.. what a mess.

    Sometimes I amaze myself at the stupidity I am capable of.

    • Wraith says:

      If that’s the dumbest thing you’ve ever done, I make you look like Stephen Hawking. ;)

    • Integrity1st says:

      Oooohhhhh Kristi. I hate that I laughed out loud, twice. Ugh, you must be so frustrated, but thanks for the humor in sharing. It’s washable?

    • Pat P says:

      The day after I moved into this house, I backed out of the driveway, and smashed my left rear fender squarely into the gate post. You see, I assumed it was lined up with the house, and it wasn’t. Sorry for your mistake! I hope you live in a warm climate so that you can clean it up right away.

      • Pat P says:

        Forgot to mention, my girlfriend closed her garage door onto the hood of her brand new car ……

        • violet says:

          That sounds like something I would do.

          I hated backing out of the driveway at our previous house — actually, I hate backing out of anything; driving in reverse is such a pain — so I was really happy when we moved into our present house, which has a semi-circular driveway, so I don’t have to back out of it…. except in winter, if only half the driveway has been cleared. The first winter we lived here (25 years ago), we’d just had a rather large snowfall and my husband had shoveled out a very narrow path (no margin of error) on only one side of the driveway, so I had to back out. I was supposed to be driving my then-7-year-old daughter to a gymnastics class or something, and while I was attempting to back out of the driveway I managed to get stuck in the snowbank. I got out, got the shovel, and dug out the snow around the wheels, then got back into the car to try again. I said, “Now, the question is, can we get out of here without getting stuck?” To which my charming daughter responded, “What I want to know is, can we get out of here without getting killed?”

  22. Ting says:

    About this find of natural gas in Israel, what do you say to the idea that they invite Gov. Palin to scope it out and advise them how best to proceed? I would love to see her be an international energy development adviser, along with any other little old thing she wants to try.

  23. TXMom says:

    MTV’s Teen Abortion Sales Pitch: It’s Just “A Ball of Cells”
    http://www.redstate.com/snarkandboobs/2010/12/30/mtv%E2%80%99s-teen-abortion-sales-pitch-it%E2%80%99s-just-%E2%80%9Ca-ball-of-cells%E2%80%9D/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
    “You see, it’s pro-life people who don’t judge and who provide meaningful support. It’s pro-life people who acknowledge the pain and harm abortion also causes to women and who seek ways to embrace them and help them. Pro-abortionists deny their very existence. They deny, always, the trauma that abortion may also cause to the woman. They deny the life-long guilt and pain those women bear. They deny the very fact that a life was sucked from his or her mother’s womb, mercilessly. Never once feeling a loving touch. Never once gazing into his mother’s eyes. Never once raising a tiny hand to touch his mommy’s cheek with a love that cannot even truly be expressed.

    That’s your legacy, Gloria Steinem, and that of your fellow travelers. A legacy that is a stain on the heart and soul of our country. A legacy that we must not let continue onto yet another generation. You do not “empower” girls by telling them the life they create can be tossed aside for college. You do not empower girls by telling them a sacrifice is giving up a prom ticket to pay for the aborting of the life they created. You do not empower girls by turning motherhood into a burden to be avoided at all costs; even at the cost of that life itself. You do not empower girls by exploiting them to further your agendas.

    Abortion will not, and should not, ever be “normal.” Because, Motherhood is normal to humans and so is nurturing. Rejoicing in the miracle of giving life yourself and then nurturing that life once given. That is within us; it’s instinct and female human nature. It is something of which to be proud and it should be honored, not diminished. It is an attribute and a gift, not a punishment.”

  24. Menagerie says:

    Eloquent. True. Stand for innocent life or a campaign to murder that innocent life. Only two choices.

  25. violet says:

    From our good friend Ann…
    The Venn Diagram of Junk Touching:
    http://www.barnhardt.biz/

  26. staceedb says:

    Spent Christmas break cleaning out drawers, dressers, closets, etc…got rid of the clutter…

    Really want to change my life somehow…just not sure how..stuck in a rut and don’t know how to get out of it.

    Sometimes I get depressed because I am financially dependent upon a man. It would be different if he didn’t also make me feel bad about it. I feel bad because I have one kid that needs eyes checked and probably glasses and another one with three cavities that need filled… man works for himself and doesn’t make much…

    I feel guilty a lot because I often think of running away..though I am sure that is not the right answer..but…

    Anyhow..hope everyone had a fairly good holiday break.

    Any thoughts/ideas about breaking the rut appreciated.

    • Menagerie says:

      staceedb without knowing your situation, it would be unfair to make suggestions. If it helps, where I was a young mother I sometimes had a fantasy of running away, though I had no intention of doing it. I think it is a coping mechanism for us. How do you want to change your life? Clarify your thinking, set a goal and plan the small steps you need to take to get there. If it seems overwhelming try taking small actions daily that move you in the right direction. Every day doesn’t have to be a race. I will pray you find hope, joy, and direction in the New Year. I think you made a great start clearing out the old stuff. Use that motivation and work ethic.

    • Pat P says:

      Staceedb, I have always thought that every woman needs a ‘stash’ of her own. Is there any way you can earn a little independent cash? It would make you feel less ‘stuck’. Even setting a side a little each week from the household cash would help, if that’s possible.

      I commend you on the closet/drawer/dresser cleaning. I should be doing that right now!

    • Integrity1st says:

      Stace, just know you are not alone. I would so like to throw up my life and get off this vortex of corruption I feel so stuck in with no end in sight, and severe money problems to boot just from CORRUPTION bleeding us dry. Can you try getting a copy of the Secret at the library? It would be even better if you can buy it and have it on hand. I haven’t read it yet but my friend swears by it, and I’ve seen the video. It was quite good, and everytime my friend goes back to it she has a better week, no kidding. ONE of my New Year’s resolutions will be to give it the attention my friend who gave me the book begs me to do – – – read it every day.

    • GracieD says:

      First, you should tak a look in the mirror, and tell the lovely lady that you see there what a great mom she is. Motherhood is the toughest job on earth, that is a fact. I am an empty nester with 2 small dogs and a husband, and there are still times that I want to “run away”. I think many women feel that way at various times in their lives. You are not a bad wife or mother for having these feelings. Feelings are neither right nor wrong, they just are what they are. When the craziness of life really gets to me, I pray…alot! I don’t know what your religious beliefs may be, if any. My faith has brought me through many things that I did not think I would survive. I find it an unfathomable comfort. I am praying for you. Please know that you are not alone, and there are people who care about you. God Bless You!

    • WeeWeed says:

      Stacee, just vent here to start….us “older” ones have all been there/done that and can offer suggestions from time to time (hopefully!) Pat is right on maybe even a part-time job for a little cash – even (or, especially – quick cash) if it’s cleaning people’s houses. G-d knows I’d pay for someone to come in once a week or so since I still work full-time! And you sound very organized, which I am not. You have inspired me to start cleaning out our closets/drawers and what not. Just do one thing a day no matter what it is (that’s what I have to do, myself – “I will at least get this ONE thing done today….”) to change the rut. Eventually the rut is totally changed and is a work in progress. Bless you, Stacee, it WILL get better.

  27. Integrity1st says:

    WOW, that was really different. I just posted a response to Stace, and got “You’re posting comments too quickly. Slow down” That was funny cause I don’t think I’ve posted any more today than usual, but I sure hope it shows up. I’ll check back Stace, cause we all need someone to help pull us forward, and I’m sure grateful for the honeys that help me along the way!!!!!!!!!!!!

  28. Pingback: The only industry Democrats know how to run | Honey Trail
  29. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Only 9,099 Of Last 10,500 Years Warmer Than 2010

    http://www.nationalreview.com/planet-gore/256079/only-9099-last-10500-years-warmer-2010-brian-bolduc

    GoreBull warming.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.