Wednesday Open Forum – January 5, 2011

Today Nancy Pelosi officially hands over her gavel to incoming Speaker of the House John Boehner. Looks like there is going to be a live stream to the Opening session of Congress on the Pledge to America FB site *UPDATE Live feed now (click here).

Do you think Pelosi’s ego will survive being just another representative after being 3rd in line to POTUS, with all the private trimmings and perks?.

What is on your mind today? What stories are you following?

This is my gavel. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My gavel is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life. My gavel, without me, is useless. Without my gavel, I am useless. I must bang my gavel true. I must hit harder than my enemy who is trying to kill me. I must crush him with it before he crushes me. I will………



175 Responses to Wednesday Open Forum – January 5, 2011

  1. yomotley says:

    Good Morning All! Wake up & smell the coffee. (Or tea or cocoa or OJ)

    Kitty has wandered home from a mini vacation all safe and sound. Welcome back, Ad rem!

    Yesterday was a busy day on the trail with so many sharing their brain candy (links). I do have a fondness for sweets. . .Michelle just is not original; all the brain candy was taken out of the schools a couple of generations ago!

    Came across this little tidbit – Anyone know if true and what two Congressmen sponsored Soros’s US citizenship?

    “It is my understanding that George Soros citizenship was the result of an act of Congress. He was sponsored by two Congressmen.
    It is also my understanding that there have only been three people who have received their citizenship this way. “

    Read more: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Discuss:When_did_George_Soros_become_an_American_citizen#ixzz1A9p7AgUc

    (I also posted this query early this a.m. On yesterday’s Open Forum.)

    Have a great day!

    • JRD says:

      WOW, that’s very interesting. Guess we will have to do some serious research. Thanks.

      Looks like Gov. Christie is not backing down with the teachers in NJ.

      Gov. Christie fires 7 N.J. county education chiefs
      http://www.nj.com/news/index.ssf/2011/01/gov_christie_fires_several_cou.html

      I have several members on my Dad’s side of the family that are bigwigs in the teacher’s union in NJ. Things have gotten so ugly. There is really a civil war going on in this state. The public unions have seriously gone over to the Marxist dark side. Family members are refusing to speak to each other. Communists never back down, they double down.

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      I had never heard that before. Interesting. It sounds like he might have gotten his citizenship by way of a private bill from Congress:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_bill#United_States

      • GracieD says:

        If that is the case, then this congress should be able to strip him of that citizenship!

      • yomotley says:

        OK, your link took me to here, where I quickly browsed – there is a lot — 1961 private laws and saw nothing with Soros name on it or any entry with the word citizenship.

        http://constitution.org/uslaw/sal/sal.htm

        Going through the laws made very good reading and I imagine some of the stuff on how to spot communism should be tracked down and reprinted. There is a lot there.

        • yomotley says:

          Look under “List of Concurrent Resolutions” I want to read almost all the items printed! Cannot copy and paste.

          • Patriot Dreamer says:

            Wish I could read some of these. Seems to just be a list. Some look really interesting!

            • yomotley says:

              Here is an entry. Unfortunately it is found on page 980 and the volume only goes to 868. Under private laws
              *********
              Peter Donze and others. JOINT RESOLUTION Relating to

              deportation of certain aliens
              *********

              Who were the “others” and was the issued resolved through citizenship?
              Long shot. With all the commie stuff being dealt with that year, I can’t imagine an act of Congress to make this Soros guy a citizen!

              • Patriot Dreamer says:

                This would have been before he made all of his big money with the Soros Fund/Quantum Fund. I’d bet he was sponsored by somebody he worked for on Wall Street who had Congressional “connections”.

          • yomotley says:

            through some tom-foolery I was able to get this list from the publication. I have left out page numbers and Resolution Numbers and included only the ones that pertain to communism. I found the last one interesting and highlighted it.

            LIST OF CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

            CONTAINED IN THIS VOLUME

            “A Report on United States Foreign Operations .” Printing as Senate docu-

            ment

            “Communist Target-Youth-Communist Infiltration and Agitation Tac-

            tics .” Printing of additional copies

            “Facts on Communism-Volume II, The Soviet Union, From Lenin to

            Khrushchev.” Printing as House document

            “How Our Laws Are Made .” Printing as House document

            “Communist Training Operations-Communist Activities and Propaganda

            Among Youth Groups.” Printing of additional copies of hearings

            “The Northern California District of the Communist Party-Structure-

            Objectives-Leadership .” Printin of additional copies of hearings_ – – –

            Inaugural addresses, from President George Washington to President John F .

            Kennedy . Printing as House document

            “Soviet Total War-Historic Mission of Violence and Deceit .” Printing of

            additional copies of Vols . I and II

            “Legislative Recommendations by House Committee on Un-American Activi-

            ties-Subsequent Action Taken by Congress or Executive Agencies-A

            “Facts on Communism-Volume I, The Communist Ideology .” Printing

            of additional copies

            Communist China . Sense of Congress opposing seating in United Nations_

            “World Communist Movement-Selective Chronology 1818-1957, Volume

            1 .” Printing as House document

            “Communist Target-Youth-Communist Infiltration and Agitation Tac-

            tics .” Printing of additional copies

            Communist forgeries. Printing of translations of hearing

            S . 902 . Correction and reenrollment of bill

            “Freedom of Communications .” Printing of additional copies

            World Economic Progress Assembly and Exposition . Proclamation au-

            thorized

            Deportati on suspensions . List of aliens

            H.R . 7377 . Correction in enrollment of bill

            Congress. Signing of enrolled bills, etc

    • JRD says:

      http://www.richardpoe.com/2006/08/10/george-soros-coup/
      I beg you all to please read this May 2004 article in Newsmax about the pig George Soros. It is in depth and long. Please take the time to educate yourself about who you are up against. Even Glenn Beck never exposed how much of a vile cretin this living Satan is. No longer will you have any doubt about how the Clintons granted him the power to cut off democracy at the knees in Russia just when that country was attempting to espouse free market principles. The Clintons are corrupt and they don’t love America despite what some wacko on another blog tried to shove down our throat.
      Soros wants to spread the misery because in times of political upheaval is when he realizes his greatest profits because the populace takes their eye off the ball. Never let a good crisis go to waste, remember? Soros has no conscience and admits it in this article. He will continue to create crises until he is stripped of his wealth and American citizenship. When the old bastid dies doesn’t solve anything. He son Johnathan was gifted with Soros’s Satanic qualities. We either slay this Satanic beast now or save the task for our children.

    • Pat P says:

      David Horowitz had a number of articles about Soros, and wrote a book about his involvement with the Democrat Party. Here is a video:

  2. Morning fellow hikers on the Trail!!!

    Happy ‘Cavalry Arrives in DC’ Day to all!!! Let’s celebrate it by carefully watching the words/actions/votes of the Newbies in Congress. 2012′s election should be ‘reminded’ to all elected officials early and often.

    Now…to what is on my little mind. I still can’t wrap my around the dead black birds in Arkansas; the drum fish ‘fishkill’ also in Arkansas; the further bird ‘drops’ in Louisiana and Manitoba and numerous ‘fishkills’ ’round the planet.

    Make me go ‘hmmmm.’ Here is a thread from over on FR on the topic. Some great info; some tinfoil (which I am personally going for the ‘full body Reynolds Wrap’ during the last years of the Obot Administration); and some working theories:

    http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/news/2650692/posts

    • yomotley says:

      Speaking of tinfoil hates, I have visions of a huge ‘tinnie’ convention where I can show off all my blinged-out tin foil hats! I remember years ago my brother talking non-stop about Soros and I thought the bro had lost it and stepped over into conspiracy-nut neverland. You know, maybe I will give him a call and make his day by telling him he was right — and way ahead of time!

  3. JRD says:

    Florida’s new Attorney General, Pam Bondi has an WSJ article on Dumb-0-care.

    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748703384504576055652391100520.html?mod=WSJ_newsreel_opinion

  4. Felix says:

    ‘Morning guys! I realize this is a departure from politics for the day, but… If any of you are hardcore gardeners or farmers, I need your suggestions regarding how to deal with rats in the garden. Shy of poison, I’ve tried everything else you read about online.

    Any thoughts or suggestions are welcomed!

    • GracieD says:

      How about a cat? :D

    • WeeWeed says:

      Cats, maybe?

    • Felix says:

      I have 4 cats. They can only deal with so many rats. I also have 3 dogs and NADA.

      Right now I’m using this combo of black pepper spray and peppermint oil and it is the best thing so far but that still only keeps them at bay for short periods of time. It requires constant spraying.

      • yomotley says:

        Felix, here are two suggestions I picked off a message forum. The first one might help to keep the rats from coming inside and setting up house. The second is clever but whether it works or not, don’t have a clue.

        If you can get a large amount of rosemary from the bulk food section of a store take and burn it in a frying pan. Take the burnt rosemary and put in your crawl spaces etc. Rodents hate the odor and will leave people did this during the middle ages because of the plague that was spread by the fleas on the rats. Coke and alka seltser also work as safe for pets and children poisons.. You can also make a very effective trap out of a five gallon bucket, two small boards, and some heavy duty plastic wrap. Tightly cover the top of the bucket with plastic wrap, cut a slit in the middle. Put some peanut butter or cat food in the bucket, then put the bucket where you see the most rats, and put the two boards on either side of like a ramp.

        Being careful that they go only to the edge of the bucket so the rats have to walk on the plastic wrap they will fall into the bucket and be trapped. From here you can either drown them in the bucket or the most humane method would be to put the bucket inside a large black garbage sack, tie it around your cars tail pipe and run for ten minutes or so. This will put them to “sleep” from carbon monoxide poisoning and they will have a painless death. I have lived for many years in a big Victorian ranch house and we get lots of mice and field rats and this is what I do. Also set rat traps (bigger than mouse traps) in places your dog can’t get to them close to walls, under furniture, the sink etc. Check at least twice a day and reset. You should get rid of most of your problem.

        • Felix says:

          Woah. Love the rosemary idea. I’ve searched all the forums and this is the first I’ve heard of it. I’m going to do that as soon as I can stop by the health food store. [She has really cheap bulk herbs.]

      • Pat P says:

        Be sure to get all of the dog droppings picked up immediately, as the rats use them as a food source. Disgusting, I know. Poison would probably be the best solution. Have you contacted your local municipality? There may be infestations other places in your neighborhood. I know you can get rats in the country too.

        • Felix says:

          Pat, thank you for that. We have an area of the yard that is where the dogs head to in order to ya-know. That is where the worst concentration of rats is. I think you may have opened my eyes to a big part of the problem.

          Alright so far today I’ve gotten some really great suggestions.

          Check list for this weekend:

          Fry tons of rosemary
          Attract cats

          Pickup a lot of dog poop

          (My life is so glamorous.)

          • frankie says:

            Try scattering moth balls around area that the rats frequent. Works like a charm to keep mice and gophers at bay per my experience so may work w/ rats also. They last quite awhile but as they gradually get smaller & smaller, simply replace. They retain their size & smell for quite awhile tho.

            • Doc’s Wife says:

              Moth ball are also great for keping snakes away.

              • Menagerie says:

                Anyone know if this works for chipmunks? We are in an all out seige here with a tribe of chipmunks. They apparently have established a frat house in my attic where they throw 3 am keggers.

      • AFinch says:

        I think your cats and dogs are too well fed ;-)

    • yomotley says:

      Oh Felix, this is OPEN Forum…..anything that is rolling around that kitty head of yours is acceptable. Things are predominately politics because that is the common ground that led us together to take our country back. Since we have gotten to know each other, things are more like a coffee klatch.

      I would be interested in answers to your dilemma, as well. Our male toy fox terrier is excellent at catching the rats that scurry around when the farmers all around us cut down the corn. In fact, he catches mice, trees raccoons and skunks, and won’t let a cat near the place lest he has to share the mice population! We have a female TFT and as she has gotten older, she has turned up her nose to chasing mice.

      • Felix says:

        Oh my! You changed your image! Is that Lucy? [Loving it!]

        I need to add, I’m just a 100 or so yards from the beginning of a mangrove swamp. I think the cold snap brought them out for food. We are not talking 5 or 10 or even 20 rats. They are everywhere. They are eating everything not just the veggies. They are in the hedges, the trees, underneath the deck, you name it. Sometimes when I look out the window at the yard its almost like the end of that rat movie, “Ben.”

        Anyway, maybe the answer is to attract more cats. Many, many more.

        • Felix says:

          I forgot to add, my cats -the ones that still go outside- prefer field mice or snakes or lizards. The dogs will go after possum, raccoons or foxes but not the rats.

        • yomotley says:

          Not lucy, but love the retro look of the gal. I had to quit being on “pause” with the old gravatar. She is actually so much cuter in the original size.

          • Felix says:

            I still think it looks like Lucy so, it inspired me to change my gravatar. [I think it fits me!]

            I hope it takes on the first try.

            • yomotley says:

              you have to clear your cache to make it work, I found. Also, can take up to fifteen minutes to change. And, I love Lucy!!!! I would have a tough time picking just one of her pics.

  5. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Must read response from Speaker Boehner to Dem. senators on the repeal of ObamaCare:

    http://thehill.com/blogs/blog-briefing-room/news/135895-boehner-fires-back-at-dem-senators-with-vow-to-push-forward-with-repeal

    Heh!

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      Finally read the “Now You Wanna Be ‘Post Partisan’” thread and saw that the letter was included there. Sorry about the re-post!

  6. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Pelosi: If everyone in America was happy with their insurance, we still would have passed ObamaCare

    http://hotair.com/archives/2011/01/04/pelosi-if-everyone-in-america-was-happy-with-their-insurance-we-still-would-have-passed-obamacare/

  7. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Today appears to be “tin foil hat” day.

    :D

    As such, I’m throwing this out there. I still think that the contrail that was seen off the coast of California on November 8th was from a missile (perhaps a submarine-launched ICBM) – not a plane like the gubmint says.

    • yomotley says:

      Oh, me, too! Let’s see, I made a new hat that day. It has sparklers placed right above the ears. I like to light them and spin around and put my arms out like I am an airplane. On the point is a mock airport beacon. It took me quite awhile to make but I really wanted to make a statement.

      Seriously, I am with you on this.

  8. PhillyCon says:

    Hey guys:

    Let’s say a little prayer for Boehner today. Let’s pray that he will make the right decisions based on wisdom and insight. Let’s pray he puts the needs of the country before his need to be “well liked by the media.” Let’s pray he receives good counsel from staffers who see the big picture. Finally, let’s remember Boehner will probably make mistakes, but hopefully, these are mistakes he can overcome.

  9. Patriot Dreamer says:

    News on the death of the dollar:

    World Bank issues its 1st yuan bonds in Hong Kong
    http://apnews.myway.com/article/20110105/D9KI6Q3O0.html

    World Bank taps offshore yuan bond market for first time
    http://ph.news.yahoo.com/rtrs/20110105/tbs-worldbank-yuan-bond-7318940.html

    • NeeNee says:

      Am cribbing this from another poster at another site.

      Kind of corollary to these different currency stories . . .

      “The problem with Obamunism is that
      eventually you will run out of ink at the printing plant.”

  10. WeeWeed says:

    The radio waves in West Texas are strong today….I’m picking up Twilight Zone theme music with my tinfoil hat (looks up suspiciously at clear, blue sky)….every time I mix George Soros, citizenship, and 1961 my search engine (bing) throws B. Hussein out at me. Hmmm.

    • yomotley says:

      I noticed the same thing on ixquick and google! (Oh and BHO born in 1961 doo doo doo do…..!961 Georgie Boy became a citizen……..) Actually I think that is why Barry comes up!

    • AFinch says:

      Hey–I thought you copied Bijou for a minute. Then I saw you added another “syllable” to your avatar message. I like!

  11. Jennifer H says:

    http://pronlinenews.com/?p=4857

    Obama and retinue get flipped off by passong motorist. ;)

  12. PhillyCon says:

    BTW, the rat discussion was very interesting. I can’t imagine that scenario, Felix. I don’t know if I could tolerate those varmints. Eewwww.

    See ya guys later! :)

  13. JRD says:

    A Supply-Side Obama? Trust, But Verify
    By LAWRENCE KUDLOW

    http://www.investors.com/NewsAndAnalysis/Article.aspx?id=558778&p=1

  14. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Beck loves that Rosie got a dose of reality on government health care
    Yesterday Rosie O’Donnell had a caller on her radio show from Canada who said she was on a 7 year wait list for an elective surgery

    http://www.therightscoop.com/beck-loves-that-rosie-got-a-dose-of-reality-on-government-health-care

  15. Jennifer H says:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/05/health/policy/05health.html?_r=2&hp

    Guess what – it looks like the administration has had to reverse course on the death panels! Hurray ! ! !

  16. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Don’t know how many of you follow Trevor Loudon’s blog “New Zeal”, but he’s a journalist who follows Marxism/socialism/communism. Some predictions for New Zealand and European politics for 2011:

    http://newzeal.blogspot.com/2011/01/pan-european-general-strike-for-2011.html

  17. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Seems to be a Soros kind of a day:

    The Sinister Soros-ACORN Connections You Aren’t Supposed to Notice
    by Anita MonCrief

    http://hotair.com/greenroom/archives/2011/01/03/the-sinister-soros-acorn-connections-you-arent-supposed-to-notice/

  18. NeeNee says:

    Obama’s rats are leaving the listing administration ship.

    Just announced:

    Smarmy Robert Gibbs, press secretary to depart.
    Replacement? Probably Bill Burton . . . .

    http://www.redstate.com/moe_lane/2011/01/05/gibbs-to-leave-wh-press-secretary-gig/

  19. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Union Boss Trumka Admits Main Goal is Using Unions To Fundamentally Change America into His Progressive Vision Not Negotiate Members Salaries

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/union-boss-trumka-admits-main-goal-is-using-unions-to-fundamentally-change-america-into-his-progressive-vision-not-negotiate-members-salaries/

    • Jennifer H says:

      How many people will see this…. this is important information, oh how I wish for an uncorrupt press.

    • yomotley says:

      Union Breaking Any Laws?
      From Wiki-leaks (Not the most reliable source, but a discussion and research starting point.)
      ************
      Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959

      Important provisions of the law were as follows:

      *Unions had to hold secret elections, reviewable by the Department of Labor.

      *Union members are protected against abuses by a bill of rights that includes guarantees of freedom of speech and periodic secret elections of officers.
      *Bar members of the Communist Party and convicted felons from holding union office.
      *Require unions to submit annual financial reports to the DOL.
      *Declare that every union officer must act as a fiduciary in handling the assets and conducting the affairs of the union.
      *Limit the power of unions to put subordinate bodies in trusteeship, a temporary suspension of democratic processes within a union.
      *Provide certain minimum standards before a union may expel or take other disciplinary action against a member of the union.

      The LMRDA covers both workers and unions covered by the National Labor Relations Act (“Wagner Act”) and workers and unions in the railroad and airline industries, who are covered by the Railway Labor Act. The LMRDA does not, as a general rule, cover public sector employees, who are not covered by either the NLRA or the RLA. The LMRDA likewise does not displace state laws governing unions’ relations with their members except to the extent that those state laws would conflict with federal law.
      Congress also amended the National Labor Relations Act, as part of the same piece of legislation that created the LMRDA, by tightening the Taft-Hartley Act’s prohibitions against secondary boycotts, prohibiting certain types of “hot cargo” agreements, under which an employer agreed to cease doing business with other employers, and empowered the General Counsel of the National Labor Relations Board to seek an injunction against a union that engages in recognitional picketing of an employer for more than thirty days without filing a petition for representation with the NLRB.
      Union members may enforce their LMRDA rights through private lawsuit or, in some cases, through the US Department of Labor.

      ************

      I suppose this has been re-lawed over the years?

  20. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Mark Levin rips healthcare lies spewed by Rep Wasserman-Schultz

    http://www.therightscoop.com/levin-rips-healthcare-lies-spewed-by-rep-wasserman-schultz

    Great audio by The Great One, where he takes on Wassweman-Schultz point by point.

    • JRD says:

      Agree, listened last evening to the great one.

      On another subject, you know something I would pay to see is the great one getting in Krauthammer and George Will’s faces.

  21. marie says:

    so, Gallup poll has bambo at 50% approval? who the heck are they polling, only democrats?
    looking forward to boehner’s swearing in today..teary eyes dont bother me, but it seems to be fodder for the haters..hope he does well today!

  22. Kristi says:

    QUOTE OF THE CENTURY, MAYBE EVEN THE MILLENNIUM

    “The danger to America is not Barack Obama but a citizenry capable of entrusting a man like him with the Presidency. It will be far easier to limit and undo the follies of an Obama presidency than to restore the necessary common sense and good judgment to a depraved electorate willing to have such a man for their president. The problem is much deeper and far more serious than Mr. Obama, who is a mere symptom of what ails America . Blaming the prince of the fools should not blind anyone to the vast confederacy of fools that made him their prince. The Republic can survive a Barack Obama, who is, after all, merely a fool. It is less likely to survive a multitude of fools such as those who made him their president.”

    This quote was translated into English from an
    article appearing in the Czech Republic as published in the Prager

    Zeitung of 28 April 2010.

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      Thank you for reposting this. I’ve read it before, and it always makes me feel gut-punched, because it perfectly articulates our gut instincts about the foolhardy, self-centered nonsense that motivates too many voters’ fears and election decision. It is that bad. That’s the benefit of getting it out there~~again and again and again. It really is that bad. And turning our backs on a tsunami will not keep us either dry or alive.

    • PhillyCon says:

      Kristi:
      You should post this on the quotable thread.

    • violet says:

      This was what upset me most after Obama was elected in ’08 — the fact that so many millions of people, including a lot of seemingly intelligent people, were completely bamboozled by him. Some have since been mugged by reality, but it’s shocking how many true believers remain. Those are the folks who scare me.

  23. Library Countess says:

    Hey Hikers… I’ve dug out of the northeast (12″ of snow at my daughter’s in Philly) and have returned to the land of humidity… my nasal passages have almost re-hydrated and my toes have unfroze! My car did a happy dance when we crossed back into Florida! Saw Dottie (daughter’s MIL) while there … she looks good but tires easily and gets cold easily. She had on more layers than I did! I found out that because she’s in hospice neither she nor her husband are allowed to call 911 if she were to fall (altho someone outside the house can make the call). We didn’t talk at all about her illness, which was nice for a change, and just had a routine visit as if nothing is happening.

    I took somewhat of a break from politics and am now trying to catch up. [I really manage to get wwaaaayyyyyyy behind when I do that.] I’m so excited about many of the new Congress critters taking office today, and looking forward to getting more of “our kind” elected in two years. Got me some new hiking boots for our journey!

    • yomotley says:

      Well, Countess, get your beverage of choice and a good snack and hunker down to read the Trail. There is so much here and with all the links in the posts and comments you will have all the news you could ever dream of and end up on the cutting edge of knowledge to boot!

      (Glad you made it home safe!)

  24. Jennifer H says:

    Now is the time. Today is the day. Let’s not waste one minute.

    It is time to take over your precincts.

    Much has been written here and elsewhere by great people on how to do it. The basics are straightforward. And read everything Coldwarrior writes.

    Over the next few months, the GOP will begin selecting new officers at the municipal, county, and state level. Those people will then pick new committeemen for the RNC, etc.

    To get involved, you must call your local or state Republican Party and find out where your precinct meetings will be. They should be later this month or in February.

    You show up at your precinct meeting and, more often or not, you will be the only one there. Guess what? In most states that makes you the precinct captain for the GOP.

    You will then move on to your county party with a vote.

    If enough of your tea party activist friends do the same thing, guess what? You run your local party. And if the tea party members from enough other counties have done the same, you will control your state party.

    Then guess what? Those committeemen who are supporting the establishment candidates for RNC Chairman can get fired by you

    http://www.redstate.com/erick/2011/01/04/now-is-the-time-today-is-the-day-lets-have-a-coup/
    Here is a great idea for any one with the time or inclination…

  25. Jennifer H says:

    And check out this craziness:
    The Towa – Liquid Gold

    Valuable plant fertilization and ecologic recycling for everyday life. The Swedish Towa is a unique innovation – a combination chamber pot and watering can for simple, natural and fast acting liquid gold fertilization of outdoor plants, lawns etc. All you need to do is to water… Towa.

    http://astuteblogger.blogspot.com/
    .Ergonomic design makes The Towa easy to carry and easy to use. Hygienic and comfortable to sit on. Capacity, approx. 10 liters.

    Able to withstand weight up to 150 kilos (approx. 300 pounds)
    Seals tightly – the urine stays in the container to protect the nitrogen and guard against odor.
    Innovation and design by Åsa Lövberg. Patented in Sweden.
    Made in Sweden of recyclable and durable Polypropylene (PP) plastic , without any materials that are considered dangerous to health or the environment.
    The color is alder-tree green on a matt surface.
    See The Towa from all angles!
    Try it yourself! (Requires PDF reader with 3D support)

  26. Kristi says:

    Is everyone watching Cspan?

    Boehner is about to assume control!!

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      Did Boehner get a new gavel made? That doesn’t look like the one that Nanny Nancy was holding when she went to go sign ObummerCare.

      • AliRose says:

        IDK…Nancy seemed to make some snide remark about it being “the one he asked for” and “bigger than all the rest.” I wasn’t sure if she was just referring to him being speaker, or what. Perhaps they do make a new one for each speaker.

      • AliRose says:

        OK…rumor has it he had that gavel made specifically for him by a friend.

        • Patriot Dreamer says:

          Thanks for finding out! I guess each Speaker gets their own gavel made for them and they keep it when they leave office.

    • WeeWeed says:

      Well, I WAS. Bela Pelosi wouldn’t stfu and I had to come back to work. Today’s gravatar is dedicated to the 112th! May they do our work well! (Or Else.)

    • yomotley says:

      On the front page in Open Forum is update link to live streaming.

    • Amsterdam Expat says:

      Check out the article on this at C4P along with the many interesting comments (there are more than a few of us represented over there as well).

  27. yomotley says:

    Hey y’all, Sundance just updated the post with a link to live stream.

  28. Kristi says:

    School shooting in Omaha, Nebraska.

    2 shot.

    Say a prayer.

  29. marie says:

    thought boehner did a great job..note that piglosis speech was much longer ..and full of C*ap!

  30. JRD says:

    Hey Debra,
    The liberal Congressional Black Caucus has sworn in its first Republican member in more than a decade, welcoming newly elected congressman Allen West of Florida at a ceremony Wednesday.
    The 43-member caucus also elected Missouri Democratic Rep. Emanuel Cleaver as its new chairman.

    E-mail West anytime your are pissed at Cleaver and use zip 33441.

    Love ya!

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      Why do they have to be “sworn in” to the black caucus? What are they swearing to uphold or do? How is it different than their sworn oath to the Constitution?

      I don’t quite get why Allen West is doing this, frankly. It tells me that he thinks it’s ok to use race as a criteria for political judgments and goals. I fully understand that, on the surface, he’s “making inroads into a leftist stronghold”….. by joining them?? I don’t like it. Using that logic, I can fight racism by joining the KKK. What am I missing?

      • AFinch says:

        He is going to destroy them from within. He is going to be a dissenting voice to what had been the echo chamber of democrap voices in the CBC and he is going to be our eyes inside that body.

        And to answer your question, as I recall, whistleblowers from within the KKK were responsible to some degree for its downfall.

        As we’re fond of saying around here, sunshine is the best disinfectant. Think of LTC West as the bleach to the cest pool that is the CBC.

        • emmajeri1010 says:

          Ok, Finch. Thanks. Didn’t know that about the KKK…I hope he does. I guess I just don’t want them to have any warm fuzzy assumptions about the potential for co-opting him, and disabling him with his conservative constituents. I assume that’s their plan….but he’s already proven himself as well.

        • AFinch says:

          Er cesspool, not cest pool. I was gonna let it go and then I saw Emma’s post below re respectively and respectfully and didn’t want to gt her blood pressure up unnecessarily. ;-)

          • emmajeri1010 says:

            Sorry….I really don’t want to come across like the hall monitor, so I deleted the remark I made below that is referred to here. I’m just having a not very good day.

            • WeeWeed says:

              Please….not the dog, Emma?

              • emmajeri1010 says:

                Some grief distorting my thoughts, I suppose. Because of blizzard conditions and closed freeways/all state roads, we couldn’t get any help, even of the emergency variety, when he went into seizures Saturday night and had to put him down ourselves. Pretty much done with flamboyant weeping, I guess, but some displaced feelings, I suppose, in my pickiness!! You dog lovers know how that goes. Finch and Motley and others have been holding my hand and standing by backstage, and I love ‘em for it…if you think of him, it’s Sierra King. The best blue-eyed Siberian, 13 1/2 years old.

                • WeeWeed says:

                  A toast tonight to Sierra King! They are the most beautiful dogs, I think – we had a stray adopt us for a week a few years ago and she was SO friendly, and then she was off again. Sweet, sweet dogs. I grieve with you. Out here in the boonies it must sometimes be done at home, as well. Sigh. A salute to Sierra King, and prayers for you, dear Emma. I believe he’ll be at the rainbow bridge with all of mine when we are allowed to go see them again.

                • Thomas Hooker says:

                  Ahh, Emma. Blessings on Sierra King, and love to you in your grief.

                • JRD says:

                  Oh, Emma, I’m so sorry.

                • Menagerie says:

                  Emma I am so sorry. He’ll be waiting for you.

                • GracieD says:

                  Oh Emma, I’m so sorry for your loss.
                  I know only too well the pain of losing a beloved companion. Since hubby and I are empty nesters, our dogs are our furkids. I’ll be praying that God eases your grief.

                • emmajeri1010 says:

                  Thanks, all. Your kind thoughts and cyber hugs help.

        • GracieD says:

          Well said Finch, I concur with your explanation.

        • Integrity1st says:

          LIKE

    • Debra says:

      Ha! Thanks! I’ll just let West know that he’ll have my money if he gives Cleaver hell!

  31. sundancecracker says:

    Oh my….. Try spinning out of this one.!!! Ain’t U-Tube a wonderful thing?

  32. GracieD says:

    I just called Congressman West’s office, and left him a congratulatory message. I told him to kick butt and take names! :D

  33. sundancecracker says:

    A letter to the president. Good Read.

    December 6, 2010

    President Barack Obama
    The White House
    1600 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W.

    Washington, D.C. 20500

    Dear Mr. President:

    We write today in response to a speech given on November 10, 2010, at the Universityof Indonesia in Jakarta, Indonesia, in which you stated “But I believe that the history of both Americaand Indonesia should give us hope. It is a story written into our national mottos. In the United States, our motto is E pluribus unum — out of many one … our nations show that hundreds of millions who hold different beliefs can be united in freedom under one flag.” (rest here)

  34. violet says:

    My feelings are really hurt. I went over to HB and tried posting a comment, just to see what would happen, and it actually went through. That means I’m not important enough for K. to ban me. Very deflating to the ego.

    • Kristi says:

      awwwww….. I am so sorry.
      Just know that being banned, although a badge of honor…. does not define you.

      ; )
      Now go volunteer at the USO.

    • WeeWeed says:

      What’d I tell ya? I bet we all could, by now. But I’m not going there. I don’t wanna play USO or donate-for-the-shiny-new-flavor-of-the-month. Too, it might have already “disappeared” by now….see, that makes you think YOU are crazy! :)

      • violet says:

        Achmed, what makes you think I’m NOT crazy??

        Kristi, I’m afraid I misplaced my toilet brush and my potato peeler…

  35. Amsterdam Expat says:

    This is a fitting image for such a happy post-Pelosi day (found via HB):

    http://d.yimg.com/a/p/ap/20110105/capt.3a5a3971d9b049dabbf4bc2e19ea21f1-3a5a3971d9b049dabbf4bc2e19ea21f1-0.jpg?x=400&y=280&q=85&sig=OE68kD3tVDrjY3C.5XlEjQ–

    It’s as though we can read Boehner’s mind! Hilarious!

  36. sundancecracker says:

    When Rep. Nancy Pelosi lost 19 Democrats on Wednesday’s vote to be House speaker, it marked the worst showing for a party’s nominee in more than 80 years.

    Mrs. Pelosi won the support of 173 Democrats, but 18 others voted for someone else and one voted “present.” Rep. John A. Boehner, Ohio Republican, won the vote with the support of all 241 Republicans who voted.

    According to figures from the House historian’s office and the Congressional Research Service, the last time a party’s nominee for speaker lost that much support was in 1923. On the first ballot that year the GOP’s nominee, Frederick H. Gillett, saw 23 lawmakers support other Republicans. Mr. Gillett still ended up winning the speakership on the ninth ballot.
    http://www.washingtontimes.com/blog/inside-politics/2011/jan/5/anti-pelosi-vote/

  37. sundancecracker says:

    Former CNN “American Morning” anchor John Roberts is expected to join FOX News Channel as a senior national correspondent, based in Atlanta.

    He will be reporting on major domestic and international stories for the network.

    […]

    Says FNC senior VP Michael Clemente: “We are excited to welcome John to FOX News — his reputation as a skilled journalist with years of notable experience in the field will be a valuable addition to our news programming.”

    In December, CNN announced that Roberts would be departing “American Morning,” and would instead be moving to the network’s Atlanta headquarters to be closer to his fiancee, CNN dayside anchor Kyra Phillips.
    http://bigjournalism.com/pjsalvatore/2011/01/04/cnns-john-roberts-leaves-for-fox/

  38. Kristi says:

    7 lies in 107 seconds

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.