Thursday Open Forum – December 23, 2010

Good morning. I am pondering if the song “Twelve Days of Christmas” includes Christmas Day. Is today the day I get ten lords a leaping or eleven pipers piping to add to the collection of true love gifts?

Also visualizing how good a honey bun would be with this cup of coffee. Everyday in high school I would stop in the cafeteria, buy a honey bun from the vending machine, and zap it in the microwave. Everyday. Sometimes I had a second one. These gooey buns were much bigger than what is sold today and had a thicker layer of white frosting that melted beautifully and stuck to the cellophane (a word I don’t think the kids even know) and required the fingers to be licked clean.  What a shame my kids can’t have that morning top-off of sweetness when they get to school. Shoot, there are not even microwaves.

I did not do coffee back then.  But, ahh, I  do make my sons a cup of coffee with milk and sugar every school day morning, which they call cappuccino. (Read years ago math scores are higher for those who drank coffee beforehand.) Wonder what the fines of the future will be for force feeding minors “caffeinated” (which by the way is a word not included in spellcheck) joe?

I drink mine black.  Blessings.

139 Responses to Thursday Open Forum – December 23, 2010

  1. Pat P says:

    Ah, differences in age. When I was in high school, we did not have vending machines, and microwave ovens did not yet exist! We ate what the cafeteria ladies gave us, or what we brought to school in our lunch bags. There were no choices in the cafeteria. Just one meal choice per day. For example, grilled cheese and tomato soup on Friday, or fish sticks.

    Didn’t drink coffee in high school; didn’t like it.

    • yomotley says:

      Our “cafeteria” consisted only of vending machines and a couple of microwave and were intended to be for snacks and beverages more than for lunch. I used to pack a huge lunch that the guys got a kick out of watching me eat because it was a lot of food. Two sandwiches, two or three fruits, cookies, some chips, couple of Ding Dongs, and then I would buy something from the snack machine. I still eat my sons under the table, any day of the week. I have always been hungry. I am not sure if they were really microwaves, though. This would have been in the mid seventies.

      My mother was worried I was going to get large and be unhappy so to discourage me from eating (or encourage me to eat less) she mentioned if the boys saw how much I ate, they would not ask me out because they would worry I would be too expensive of a dinner date! So, I tried “eating normal”. I came home crying, “I don’t care if I never get a date, I am packing my own lunch tomorrow.”

      I fell in love with my husband when I realized he took me out to eat every date which included a full steak dinner every Friday. I was in love, man. He would sit across from me a just grin from ear to ear; he liked to watch me enjoy my food and did not even care when I would finssh off his plate. Is that a guy or what?

      • Auntie Lib says:

        Love it!

        I got my first microwave as a Christmas present in 1978 – so they probably were available in the early to mid-’70′s.

      • Debra says:

        LOL! that’s great. That is a great guy.

        I used to be able to eat like that, then I hit thirty. Darn you slow metabolism! No more ding dongs for me.

      • Integrity1st says:

        Motley, I was eating the two honeybuns every morning with you. We we get off the school bus, and one block away was a breakfast place where I would buy two. No coffee or tea for me. Milk or nothing. Now the beautiful High School is town offices, but the breakfast place is still there.

        BUT THE HONEY BUNS I WOULD BUY IN THE STORE, and like even better, just slightly overcooked, ARE NOT AVAILABLE any more. Anyone know what I’m talking about and seen them in their area? They need to make a comeback. They are so good.

        • NeeNee says:

          Here in western Iowa, “Little Debbie”

          still produces HoneyBuns.

          You want I should send you some??

          Or are they inferior wanna-bes?

          • Integrity1st says:

            Sweet Nee Nee, thanks for the offer. I will check them out, but I think they are not the ones I’m looking for in the frozen department.

  2. AFinch says:

    Good morning, Honeys!

    Here is another piece from the WSJ op/ed page exploring the flaws in arguments advancing progressive tax policy:

    “In The Journal of Economic Perspectives (Winter 2007), Messrs. Piketty and Saez estimated that ‘the upper 1% of the income distribution earned 19.6% of total income before tax [in 2004], and paid 41% of the individual federal income tax.’ No other major country is so dependent on so few taxpayers.”

    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748703581204576033861522959234.html?mod=WSJ_Opinion_LEADTop

    • yomotley says:

      “….No other major country is so dependent on so few taxpayers.”

      This is really scary. What is ironic is with the “inheritance tax” the government would get a “quick fix” or jolt of money but there would after that most likely be one less in the top 1%. Hmmm. Does that mean the “inheritance tax” is really a “remove a taxpayer” tax?

  3. ZurichMike says:

    Let the record reflect that ZurichMike has completed all of his Christmas baking today. Eight kinds of cookies, and a batch of nut rolls (a Czech recipe, but it is a typical dessert among Slavic people).

    • yomotley says:

      Congratulations, Mike! How about posting the nut rolls recipe? (I haven’t done my baking yet.)

      • Debra says:

        I’m baking cinnamon rolls today, well, the dough anyway. I’m going with a maple icing which I’ve never tried before, I really hope it’s good.

      • PhillyCon says:

        I took the turkey out of the freezer, does that count? :)

      • ZurichMike says:

        Nut Rolls

        (recipe makes 6 medium rolls)

        Dough:

        1 cup butter

        3 eggs

        ½ cup white sugar

        1 cup sour cream

        ¼ teaspoon salt

        6 cups sifted flour

        ½ cup milk + 1 tsp. sugar

        1 cube (42g or about an ounce and a half) yeast

        Filling:

        1 pound ground walnuts

        1 cup soft brown sugar

        1 tsp. ground cinnamon

        For rolling the nut rolls:

        Melted butter

        Honey

        Beaten egg yolk

        Three pans lined with parchment.

        Making the dough:

        Dissolve yeast in cold milk with 1 tsp. sugar.

        Combine softened butter, eggs, sugar. Mix well.

        Add sour cream, salt, flour, and dissolved yeast.

        Use dough hook until dough no longer sticks.

        Making the nut rolls:

        Divide dough into 6 equal parts.

        Roll dough on lightly floured surface to about 12 x 15 inches.

        Brush dough with melted butter.

        Spread 1/6 of the filling to the edges of dough.

        Drizzle with honey.

        Roll and trim edges.

        Place 2 rolls on each pan, about 4 inches apart.

        Cover with clean dish towel and let rise for 4 hours.

        Brush with egg yolk.

        Bake at 350 F (175C) for about 20-25 minutes untile golden brown.

    • Oh good for you!!

      I opened a cookbook and looked at it and then set it aside. :)

      • Ad rem says:

        Tell it sister!!! ;-)

        • Integrity1st says:

          With you all the way. (Except I’m baking eight squashes right now. Think that’s enough for 44 people?) I’m on squash duty because I bake mine and am always told to bring it as my holiday assignment. Hate cooking but may I share that BAKING the squash, butternut, makes it so tasty you don’t even need to add all the brown sugar and butter, it’s that good, and you just peel it when it’s cooled and the skin comes off like wallpaper. Way easier and better than the peel, cut, and boil. Just thought I’d advise you all.

          PS, I’m way behind on everything, including catching up on hikers, cause of all the corrupt court nightmares I’m dealing with during this loverly holiday season, but I do have a request at the end of this string that I’d like people to consider.

          • Pat P says:

            I ALWAYS bake butternut squash. It is so good! I usually spray with cooking spray, and sprinkle with fresh nutmeg, then bake cut side down.

            • Integrity1st says:

              Hi Pat:

              No gourmet here, but I swear if you don’t cut it, and keep it whole, it keeps all the flavor in and is excellent. When I don’t add the butter and sugar, I call it naked squash, and it’s almost as good as with all the stuff that’s bad for you.

              • yomotley says:

                Looks like I cook it half way between the two of you. I cut a small hole in it to vent and just put the squash in the oven. The kids like mini marshmallows stirred into the hot squash. (Not me, just lots of butter and salt)

  4. Auntie Lib says:

    Morning Honeys!

    We’ll be hitting the highways in about an hour – long drive ahead, but I can hardly wait to hugs those babies!!!! Yay for grandkids – especially at Christmas!!!

    I plan to do all my baking today as I stop at Sweetgrass Bakery and pick up a dozen “cream cheese danish”. Heavenly – but not like any danish you ever heard of. More like cinnamon rolls with a cream cheese filling. Around here, we don’t get too picky about details. Danish – smanish.

    Everybody have a great day!

    • Ting says:

      Before you go, do you think your friend has an opening for Garlic’s brother? I am worried sick about them.

      • Ting says:

        And also, shame on me for not mentioning it first, have a safe and wonderful trip. I would be tempted to eat all the Danish before I ever got to my destination. You better pack them in the trunk :)

      • SleeplessinCA says:

        What’s up with Garlic??

      • Auntie Lib says:

        I haven’t been able to get in touch with Lowell yet – he’s on vacation for the holidays, but I’m sure he’ll call me when he gets back. I don’t know what will happen, but I’m positive there is an answer out there for Juli and John, and I won’t give up until I find it!

        Just keep praying for them and good things will happen! I’ll be sure to pass your thoughts and concern on when I talk to her later today.

    • sundancecracker says:

      Have a safe and joyful trip. Be careful…. looks like lotsa rain out there.

  5. PhillyCon says:

    Morning Everyone:

    Windy and freezing here. Yet, another article on McCain, and how he’s a changed politician, i.e. “ticked off” (I just love the implication, conservative=angry). I am so intrigued by this so-called conversion of McCain as reported by the LSM. Its almost become a sociological project for me. Can someone such as McCain, really “reform,” “see the light” what have you, or is this just another political ploy? The LSM’s answer to this is that McCain is “bitter” and “angry” for loosing in ’08. In one section of the article, it seems McCain felt “burned” by the Latino community for abandoning him. (Maybe, just maybe, he realized that “reaching across the aisle” gets you no where, real fast).

    You will note in this piece, the fixation is on McCain’s opposition to DADT. Of course, there are valid reasons to be skeptical of McCain’s conversion, but as it stands currently, he is to the right of the RINO caucus in the Senate.

    Let’s see what he does in the 112th Congress.

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/blogs-and-stories/2010-12-22/john-mccains-dont-ask-dont-tell-dream-votes-and-his-lasting-anger/

    • Amsterdam Expat says:

      Indeed, let’s see what he does beginning January 5th. But I do have to say — and I have my share of skepticism regarding him — from the O-Care debates in the Senate a year ago onwards his profile been so to speak 4/5 DeMint and only around 1/5 Miss Lindsey.

      If only it had been this McCain running in 2008.

  6. AFinch says:

    Here’s an article from S.E. Cupp pointing out the logical flaws in yet another leftist agenda item:

    “[I]f you think hard about it, animal conservation should actually be anathema to the Darwin-loving liberal agenda, which holds up evolution – and not altruistic compassion – as the final word on the survival of a species. Sure, it’s possible that we’re crowding out the polar bear – but aren’t we animals, too? And don’t animals sometimes crowd each other out? Isn’t it entirely possible that the polar bear is simply going extinct, like countless species before it?”

    Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/opinions/2010/12/22/2010-12-22_let_the_polar_bears_die_liberals_its_only_your_beloved_evolution_at_work.html#ixzz18wVAfCHh

    This leads to a larger question: How can a group that claims to believe in evolution simultaneously advocate and advance programs that prop up the weak at the expense of the strong? Isn’t that against natural law?

    • AFinch says:

      And along the same lines, did you hear that cold weather in 2010 killed record numbers of manatees?

      http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE6B963X20101210

      Why does the polar bear get all the attention–it is because they’re more attractive? Isn’t that species-ist (to borrow a phrase from Ms. Cupp).

      • I love manatees, they are very cuddly to me! I buy every stuffy I see of them!

        And since when did the leftest have to make any sense to their thought process?

      • Amsterdam Expat says:

        That is a pity — they are really neat aquatic beasts.

      • sundancecracker says:

        Polar Bears are the only Natural Animal known to specifically hunt “man” as a food source. They have a keen sense of smell, developed by many years of low food source origination. For a relative comparison, typically a dog will have the ofactory capacity 10,000 times more sensistive than man. A Polar bear has the smelling capacity 500 times more sensitive than a typical dog…….

        Here is a picture representing a progressive liberal, waking up a conservative powerhouse.

        http://honeytrail.wordpress.com/?attachment_id=804

        • AFinch says:

          Heh, I remember when we were kids my older brother would get so irritated with the Coca-Cola commercials with the animated polar bears, which depicted the bears as cute and cuddly when the opposite is true.

          • emmajeri1010 says:

            They actually kill people and tear them apart and eat them.

            • solaratov says:

              A lot of people have found – to their everlasting chagrin – that, when hunting Polar Bears, one must pay strict attention to one’s backtrail when following/stalking a PB.

              The reason being, that the Polar Bear will become aware that it’s being followed and, being naturally curious, will circle around behind the follower. (And get a good scent of the follower)

              At that point, the hunter suddenly becomes the prey; and, if he hasn’t been watching his six – dinner.

    • Ting says:

      Oh, yes, you have asked the big question. This tautology just illustrates what control freaks all these nuts are. They worship nature, but also think that they can control it. “Never marry someone who wants to control everything” is the best practical advice I know.

    • Felix says:

      The left generally accepts the fact that humans are a blight on the planet. They see humans as parasites. Zoologically speaking, I think the term is “weeds.” Those are animals that can adapt to any environment and crowd out the “good” kind of animals.

      So, we are not the “good” kind of animal. [That made me laugh.]

      Now that the global warming hoax is starting to go away, I think the next advance from the left for redistribution is something called, “biodiversity.”

      • yomotley says:

        Isn’t biodiversity a biography of someone with multiple personalities with multiple sex partners with multiple ethnicity and cultural experiences with multiple social and economical neighbors with rap-talk as a second language with …………….(go ahead and add to the list…)

      • sundancecracker says:

    • yomotley says:

      Evolution is racist. How can anyone NOT see that evolution has the black person not completely evolved? I remember, as a child, looking at evolution graphs and see the physical traits of the black man resembled an earlier man version.

      • violet says:

        I’m glad to hear you say that, Motley. I have noticed that as well, and wondered if I was the only one. So racism actually has pseudo-scientific roots — just like manmade global warming and anti-population hysteria and Marxist economic theory and a hundred other loopy notions…

        • yomotley says:

          Although in recent years the pics have gone to skeletal. But even just saying we are evolved from monkeys or apes puts certain races “behind” another and if we evolve into better and smarter than what is evolution saying????? It always has and always will make me sick.

  7. Morning dahlings.

    Off to a good start….found Jack under the kitchen table eating cat food and when I told him to knock it off he picked up the dish and carried it into the living room like it’s a freaking appetizer.

    On the plus side, it IS dry food.

    • Ting says:

      That is the best laugh I have had all week! You will have a great time these next few days – it is reaching a fevered pitch with the little ones, I bet. Keep the Elmer’s glue handy, enjoy the adult beverage of your choice and let it roll…..

      Merry Christmas!

    • yomotley says:

      FYI. I don’t know if there still is, but at one time dog and cat food manufacturers had to make the food safe for human consumption because old people were eating the canned cat food. I like Jack. He has a cool mom.

    • butchcracker says:

      LMAO!!!! Ahhhhh yes,our youngest(now 6) LOVED the milk bones dog treats(esp the green ones) would find him with the box just chewing away!!!

      Hang in…it gets worse!! hehehe……

    • AliRose says:

      That sounds relatively similar to every morning in my household. If it’s not one thing, it’s something else. It’s a miracle I ever get anything accomplished! What’s the point of life if you can’t laugh at it, right?

    • Integrity1st says:

      Oh I just enjoy your speak so much. Thanks for the laugh. Please keep us advised.

  8. llauren11 says:

    hello everyone(used to be marie for 2 yrs till i had to re register)..i found this blog by accident, and last nite i did a lot of reading at snarkopolitan to fill in..i am still trying to digest it all.. i had a funny feeling about HB’s blog from the start..couldnt fathom a liberal having a conversion and becoming totally conservative, but still carrying the torch for hillary. at first read on HB, i thought that he was pushing palin so as to divert us away from romney, (who i believe has a good chance of being nominated)and then hoping whoever the dem nominee is, would beat palin..today, i dont know what to think ..anyway i’m glad to be here

    i missed all u great posters, its funny reading about bev, she is still hangin in, did she ever get on my nerves, it took a lot not to tell her off (she probably reads here, so now she knows).

    wishing u all a merry christmas, i’m so glad i found all of you..what a loss for HB, kevin screwed up royally, wonder if he has any regrets!

    • Felix says:

      Hi! I’m still working my way through the old posts putting all the pieces together myself. I thought I was the only one that was smelling something weird. [Good to know I still have the old killer instincts!] :-)

      I keep seeing snarkopolitan being mentioned so I’m gonna have to check that out now.

      Merry Christmas!

    • AFinch says:

      Hi llauren11. Good to have you with us. It’s perfectly understandable if you still have questions. As you’ll see from the more recent threads here, although most of us have moved on and are well on our way to forgetting HB, we still can’t resist the occasional joke at Keverly’s expense.

      For the most part, though, we’ve tried to keep HB-related discussion on the “Building the Case Thread,” which you can find under the References tab above.

      Make yourself at home.

    • AFinch says:

      I just hovered over your avatar and saw the one I remember from HB–the one with the pink high-heeled shoes. Now that I know who you are, allow me to extend a proper welcome– Woo hoo, Marie/llauren11 is here!!!

      You too, Felix–I didn’t get in on the welcome party yesterday. Great to have you here!

      • llauren11 says:

        yes finch, that was my old avatar, i may chg back..thanks everyone for making me feel at home..will now wander over to “building the case”!

        • Ad rem says:

          Wow….it’s Marie….the girl who’s kicking up her heels! Now I remember how intelligent and fun-loving your comments were. So glad to have you here with us!

      • Felix says:

        Thank you! I’m happy as a clam to see ya and be here!

        I may have questions myself but still doing the research regarding Bevin and Keverly.

        [This is like an Agath Christie novel, sheesh]

      • Integrity1st says:

        Yes you two – – – WELCOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so glad you made your way here, and please know, though we have progressed immensely, we are well aware of the ennormity of confusion, bewilderment, and just plain shell shock you need to get through before you overcome all of the emotions. So do vent, as you feel necessary. (over on the thread Afinch mentioned). We have all been there. WELCOME HOME.

    • TXMom says:

      Marie and Felix! Good to see you. Merry Christmas!

  9. AFinch says:

    Be sure to check out this week’s Ann Coulter (a/k/a FranklytheNut) column as she explores the differences in charitable giving between liberals and conservatives:

    “The reason liberals love the government redistributing money is that it allows them to skip the part of charity that involves peeling the starfish off their wallets and forking over their own money. This, as we know from study after study, they cannot bear to do. (Unless they are guaranteed press conferences where they can brag about their generosity.)”

    Read the rest at http://www.anncoulter.com

  10. AFinch says:

    Saw this over at Dagny’s blog http://www/barnhardt.biz and it is a great listen, but read Dagny’s disclaimer before you follow any urge you might have to purchase the whole album.

  11. violet says:

    To answer your question, Motley, December 25 is the first day of Christmas. Christmas lasts until Epiphany begins on January 6 (which is sometimes referred to as “Twelfth Night”).

    • Shalini says:

      I’ve always wondered, why is Jan. 6th the Twelfth night when Jan. 5th is the twelfth day of Christmas? It makes no sense!

      Anyway, wish you all a merry and blessed Christmas to all of you. :)

      I have done absolutely none of my list of things to do for Christmas. My mom is strangely calm about it. I think I am in for a huge lecture tomorrow. Ugh!

    • PhillyCon says:

      In some Orthodox religions, Christmas is celebrated on Jan. 6th.

      • emmajeri1010 says:

        In my growing up years, January 6th was when we observed Epiphany (the wise men arriving on the scene) …. is there some historical connection in the Orthodox or does their celebration of Christmas have nothing to do with Epiphany …..

      • PhillyCon says:

        Emma:

        Christmas was originally celebrated on January 6th, but the date was moved to the 25th by Rome. So, some Orthodox religions, like the Armenian Church, still follow the Julian calendar.

        Here’s some info:

        “Epiphany is an ancient feast, dating to the 3rd century in the East. In the East, the Epiphany feast pre-dates the Christmas feast, although the West knew of the Nativity Feast before the Epiphany feast. Originally the Epiphany celebrated the Baptism of Christ. The birth of Christ was often tied to the Epiphany. The Church in Jerusalem celebrated Christ’s Nativity on January 6 until AD 549. St. Epiphanius (d. AD 403) also lists the Epiphany as the date of the celebration of Christ’s birth. However, the Apostolic Constitutions (c AD 380) mandates the celebration of Christ’s birth on December 25th, and his Epiphany on January 6 (see Book V:III:XIII). In the Armenian Church today, January 6 is the only day celebrating Christ’s Incarnation. The Epiphany feast was introduced in the Western Church by the 4th century, but the connection between the feast and Christ’s baptism was gradually lost. The Western observance of the feast soon became associated with the visit of the Wise Men. In the West, the Feast of Jesus’ baptism is a separate holy day, and currently falls on the Sunday following Epiphany. In the East, the feast of the Nativity and the Epiphany gradually became two distinct feasts.

        http://www.churchyear.net/epiphany.html

    • violet says:

      And now that Advent is nearly over, here’s a little poem you all might enjoy.

      Advent 1955

      by John Betjeman

      The Advent wind begins to stir

      With sea-like sounds in our Scotch fir,

      It’s dark at breakfast, dark at tea,

      And in between we only see

      Clouds hurrying across the sky

      And rain-wet roads the wind blows dry

      And branches bending to the gale

      Against great skies all silver pale.

      The world seems travelling into space,

      And travelling at a faster pace

      Than in the leisured summer weather

      When we and it sit out together,

      For now we feel the world spin round

      On some momentous journey bound –

      Journey to what? to whom? to where?

      The Advent bells call out ‘Prepare,

      Your world is journeying to the birth

      Of God made Man for us on earth.’

      And how, in fact, do we prepare

      The great day that awaits us there –

      For the twenty-fifth day of December,

      The birth of Christ? For some it means

      An interchange of hunting scenes

      On coloured cards. And I remember

      Last year I sent out twenty yards,

      Laid end to end, of Christmas cards

      To people that I scarcely know –

      They’d sent a card to me, and so

      I had to send one back. Oh dear!

      Is this a form of Christmas cheer?

      Or is it, which is less surprising,

      My pride gone in for advertising?

      The only cards that really count

      Are that extremely small amount

      From real friends who keep in touch

      And are not rich but love us much

      Some ways indeed are very odd

      By which we hail the birth of God.

      We raise the price of things in shops,

      We give plain boxes fancy tops

      And lines which traders cannot sell

      Thus parcell’d go extremely well

      We dole out bribes we call a present

      To those to whom we must be pleasant

      For business reasons. Our defence is

      These bribes are charged against expenses

      And bring relief in Income Tax.

      Enough of these unworthy cracks!

      The time draws near the birth of Christ.

      A present that cannot be priced

      Given two thousand years ago

      Yet if God had not given so

      He still would be a distant stranger

      And not the Baby in the manger.

  12. TXMom says:

    Merry Christmas, everyone!

  13. yomotley says:

    I think most of my already very few facebook friends have blocked posts from me (which is different from boldly defriending) because nowunz commintin on themz anymoh.

  14. yomotley says:

    Gotta appreciate these comments over at breitbart about the Fort Hood Murderer is now known to be a terrorist:

    Rogue Operator Says:

    I have a few questions (though I risk the danger of taking seriously a bunch of “journalists” who are really leftwing bloggers):

    1. “Radicalized”? Radicalized by what? Marxism? Islam? The Birth of a Nation? Please elaborate.

    2. The Fort Hood incident is now a terrorist attack? Really? Next on ABC news, the sky is up and the world is round…

    3. The Fort Hood attack was carried out by an “American”? What kind of American? An Irish-American? A Jewish-American? Maybe we could be a tad bit more specific, since anti-terrorism analysis generally involves identifying trends.

    3. The word “Islam” is used once, and the word “Muslim” is used once in this piece (of ….).

    4. The Internet is blamed for the “radicalization” of Americans by (Muslim) terrorists, namely, Al Qaeda. Isn’t this kind of convenient timing to bring this up, given the FCC’s, the UN’s and Hugo Chavez’ support of “regulating” the Internet? The Internet wasn’t a ‘radicalization’ threat from 2001-2008, but now it is all of a sudden?

    5. But what about all those anti-American Marxist tomes on the Internet? Hell, in our schools and universities? Those aren’t a threat to America? Islamists have wet dreams about killing as many human beings as various forms of socialism did in the twentieth century (and still do today).

    6. All of a sudden there is so such thing as illegal immigration?

    7. What is it with this “lone wolf” narrative? Didn’t you just argue that the Internet is ‘radicalizing’ people? So what you really mean is that people are being radicalized by an IDEOLOGY? If so, what kind of ideology? And Is this “lone wolf” narrative an excuse for DHS to monitor every American, given that one might be a “terrorist”?

    8. Name me a terrorist since Ted Kasczynski and Timothy McVeigh (1990s) and the DC snipers (2002) who look like the majority of the American population (whites, blacks, and hispanics).

    And Skeeve Replies:

    Nice list, Rogue!

    A time is coming when Islam will be the overwhelmingly predominant religion on the planet. Not because of any great victory on their part – but simply because the Christians will have left the world in a single instantaneous event foreshadowed 5000 years ago by Enoch’s disappearance, confirmed by Jesus and later explained by the Apostle Paul. It matters not, who believes this, for the proof will be in the event itself. Afterwards, I’d ike to think that the answers to your 8 questions will come a lot easier to the remaining populace!

    1) Islam

    2) Terrorist

    3) Muslim

    4) Islam

    5) Islam

    6) Illegal Immigration

    7) Islam

    8) Muslims

    In that day, it will boil down to this: Mohammad, Allah, and Islam are the source of all of our problems. Just look at what’s happened since the Christians left! There will be a huge revolt, people will rally around a new leader and Islam will be deposed. (Unfortunately, the new leader will be the Anti-Christ – but hey, nobody’s perfect!)

  15. AFinch says:

    Here’s an excerpt from an excellent piece over at C4P about how the MSM’s coverage of all things Palin has not changed since 2008.

    “The fact is, liberal interviewers –whether in the hard news or soft news side — still appear doggedly obsessed with Governor Palin’s “polarizing celebrity,” her alleged dearth of qualifications, and the sheer titillation of a potential presidential bid. (Aren’t we beyond juvenile theatrics about the prospects of a serious female presidential candidate by now?) From these recent interviews we would have little indication that the Tea Party made sweeping gains in November led, in large part, by Governor Sarah Palin. We would have no knowledge that Obama’s support among independents has cratered. And we would have no clue that Americans by a nearly three-to-one margin think the country is headed in the wrong direction.”

    Read the rest here: http://conservatives4palin.com/2010/12/for-crony-journalists-it%e2%80%99s-always-gonna-be-2008.html

  16. Amsterdam Expat says:

    Merry Christmas everyone — have a good one!

    Today while out and about (alright, scoping out the winter sales) I was thinking a bit more about the nascent campaign for a constitutional amendment whereby by the agreement of 3/4 of the state legislatures acts of Congress could be nullified or overturned. More and more I’m in favor of this idea — but as a complementary amendment to this one, it struck me that legislation of certain types should not merely be subject to such a veto by concerted action on the part of state legislatures but before finally becoming federal law should have to receive the affirmative assent of 3/4 of them — above all in legislation concerning interstate commerce. Such a second new amendment to the constitution would it seems to me establish another and much-needed check on the interstate commerce clause whereby Congress little by little is becoming a tyrannical power over us all.

    What do people think of the idea of such an amendment?

    • sundancecracker says:

      The concept behind the legislative ‘constitutional amendment’ would be give the states the power to keep federal overreach back into check. However, as much as I agree with this proposition, I think it would be entirely easier for us to begin a national conversation of overturning the 17th amendment, and just go back to appointing Senators by state legislature.

      Both concepts would essentially be trying to set up the same principle. The difference is being ‘proactive’ vs. ‘reactive’. If we could have states rights represented back in the Senate, the legislation needing nullification would never originate in the first place.

      • Amsterdam Expat says:

        You’re right, of course — it would be far simpler to nullify the 17th amendment (no problems in negotiating the wording of new amendments, etc. etc.).

        But on the other hand, if a new amendment were offered to nullify the 17th, think of the outrage from the usual suspects at what they would call an assault on democracy … and then perhaps they would insist as a quid pro quo on abolishing the Electoral College (one of their pet projects). So …

  17. Amsterdam Expat says:

    Here’s a report that touches inter alia on the planned deployment in Venezuela of Iranian missiles, which I mentioned a couple of days ago:

    http://pajamasmedia.com/blog/iran-shipped-missiles-to-venezuela/

    • AFinch says:

      I don’t know whether you bothered to read any of the comments at USA Today following Palin’s recent op/ed. (I know I shouldn’t, but sometimes I can’t help myself.) Many of them were scoffing at Palin’s suggestion that any Iranian missiles could reach the US. And they call Palin stupid.

      • Amsterdam Expat says:

        American liberals (and not even those of the limousine liberal subspecies) are along with the EU diehards in Europe some of the most ignorant people on the planet.

        Perhaps what this sort actually think is that the missiles in Venezuela won’t reach them — if, that is, they are ensconced in the deep-blue regions of northern New England or the upper Midwest or in places like Seattle. That’s left-wing solidarity for you …

  18. llauren11 says:

    “The FCC is not Congress. We cannot make laws,” said Republican Commission Robert McDowell, describing Tuesday as “one of the darkest days in FCC history.”

    He predicts this will get shot down in court.

    i hope so..the internet is fine just as it is(well maybe the one thing that bothers me is the easy access to porn by all)

    • sundancecracker says:

      Remember also that the administrative “appointments” will need to be re-confirmed in January. Indluding all those “recess” appointments (Craig Becker, NLRB, and the Comandeer of Healthcare, et al) the criminal renting the WH placed without review, hearings, or research input. Along with the Fiscal Battle ahead to establish the budget, these appointments being kicked out would be a good first conservative step in rebuking the administration. That is my hope/prayer for the New Year.

      • GracieD says:

        Good point Sundance, any idea where we could get a list of Zippy’s recess appointments?

        • sundancecracker says:

          Here are the first fifteen:

          Craig Becker, Member of the National Labor Relations Board.

          Jacqueline Berrien, Chairwoman of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

          Alan Bersin, Commissioner of U.S. customs and border protection, Department of Homeland Security.

          Rafael Borras, Undersecretary for management, Department of Homeland Security.

          Chai Feldblum, Commissioner of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

          Jeffrey Goldstein, Undersecretary for domestic finance at the Treasury Department.

          Eric Hirschhorn, Undersecretary of commerce for export administration and head of the Bureau of Industry and Security at the Commerce Department.

          Victoria Lipnic, Commissioner of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

          P. David Lopez, General counsel, Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

          Michael Mundaca, Assistant secretary for tax policy at the Treasury Department.

          Mark Pearce, Member of the National Labor Relations Board.

          Michael Punke, Deputy trade representative – Geneva, Office of the U.S. Trade Representative.

          Francisco Sanchez, Undersecretary for international trade, Commerce Department.

          Islam Siddiqui, Chief agricultural negotiator, Office of the U.S. Trade Representative.

          Jill Long Thompson, Member of the Farm Credit Administration Board

          I’ll try to find the rest.

          • sundancecracker says:

            Maria del Carmen Aponte as ambassador to El Salvador.

            Winslow Sargeant as chief counsel for advocacy at the Small Business Administration.

            Richard Sorian as Health and Human Services assistant secretary for public affairs.

            Elisabeth Hagen as the Agriculture Department’s undersecretary for food safety.

            Donald Berwick as head of the Center for Mecicare and Medicaid Services.

  19. sundancecracker says:

    Planned Parenthood plans to expand abortion services nationwide

    Abortion may soon be more readily available than ever before, thanks to a new requirement from Planned Parenthood that more of its centers nationwide offer the service.

    Read more: http://dailycaller.com/2010/12/23/planned-parenthood-plans-to-expand-abortion-services-nationwide/#ixzz18y1OH6T1

    Earlier this month, Planned Parenthood released its 2008-2009 Annual Report, revealing that it received $363 million in federal funding that fiscal year

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      Oh, isn’t that just nice. They have never been about “parent”-hood at all. Of course, I suppose they would have problems getting funding if they had called themselves the OBKD. (Official Baby Killing Department) ‘scuse my attitude. The deceptions that have been deeply ingrained into our culture for the last 60 years and more are deadly, always have been and are beginning to be exposed. Soon enough to cure?

      • sundancecracker says:

        I have never understood the progressive liberalist who oppose the death penalty for convicted felons, yet support abortion.

    • sundancecracker says:

      Progressives are attempting to advance an absurd narrative with their “reproductive rights” campaign. They claim that Abortion needs to be out in the open and not stigmatized. Abortion should be no big whoop! It’s just like eating a cheeseburger. Wait, bad example. Eating cheeseburgers should be stigmatized, according to the Left. But not killing the unborn – hence the need for “bold rhetoric”. Think about it.

  20. Kristi says:

    WOW… check out this little girl. What an amazing voice!

    • sundancecracker says:

      Beautiful.. Really beautiful.

      • Kristi says:

        Her mother died when she was 6 years old. Mom loved gospel.

        The little girl could not sing until her dad, after her mother died, taught her ‘Amazing Grace”.. she says when she sings.. her mom is singing with her.

        Try to listen to her sing that song without shedding some tears.

        ; )

  21. sundancecracker says:

    U.S. Sen. Robert Menendez today posted a letter to Santa Claus on his Huffington Post blog, expressing concern that Santa may have to leave the North Pole because of melting Arctic sea ice.

    Menendez (D-N.J.) told Santa scientists agree polar ice is melting because of greenhouse gas pollution. Despite his work to reduce emissions, Menendez says, there’s not enough time to save the North Pole

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-menendez/a-letter-to-santa-claus_b_800669.html

    Do all Dementocrats get their insanity from the same asylum?

  22. Kristi says:

    I was at Kroger today.. and some fool turned over every George Bush book & every Glenn Beck book.

    I fixed them.

    • sundancecracker says:

      Bush Memoir Sells 2 Million Copies in 2 Months — Nearly as Many as Bill Clinton Sold in Six Years.

      The world may have underestimated the publishing power of George W. Bush, the UK’s Daily Mail suggested Thursday. “For someone who mangled words on a regular basis, it’s an impressive feat,” the Mail noted after the former president’s publisher announced his memoir “Decision Points” has sold an astonishing two million copies since it was released in early November.

      Bush’s “Decision Points” hasn‘t even been released in a paperback edition yet and already it’s approaching 2.2 million copies — the number of copies President Bill Clinton’s “My Life” has sold since its release in 2004.

      http://www.theblaze.com/stories/bush-memoir-sells-2-million-copies-in-2-months-nearly-as-many-as-bill-clinton-sold-in-six-years/

  23. yomotley says:

    I started the day with talk of honey buns and I am closing the day with food talk. Christmas brunch, which the DH and I put on, very elegantly I must say, every Christmas for the family, is coming up fast and I have not settled yet on what route we are taking. I am thinking of having a couple of waffle irons on the table with different batters to make individual waffles. So, how about some ideas for toppings, please. So far I have whipped cream, blue berries, bananas, walnuts, maple syrup, a pecan praline kind of sauce but no recipe yet, whipped honey butter, vanilla yogurt..) The more the better. It is the excess, served elegantly, that is the tradition. So, believe it or not, I would like some more ideas for toppings. Gonna do bacon, ham, sausage links, sausage patties, hash browns. juices, coffee with flavored cream. We have never served egg nog before but one son mentioned he would like to. Is there a special way to serve or do you just pour out of the carton?

    Thanks for your help…..won’t be going shopping until late tomorrow afternoon, right before the stores close.

  24. JRD says:

    You can’t serve an elegant brunch like that and then pour eggnog out of a carton. Get busy, this has to sit for 8 hours. You will be glad that you did and your family will love you for it. This recipe is the bomb!

    Holiday Eggnog

    (8 servings)

    6 large egg yolks

    1 cup sugar

    1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

    1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

    2 cups milk

    3/4 cup rye or blended whiskey

    1/4 cup rum

    1 cup heavy cream

    2 cups heavy cream, whipped

    ground nutmeg

    Beat egg yolks at medium speed with electric mixer until thick and lemon colored; gradually add 1 cup sugar, vanilla, and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, beating well at medium speed.

    Place milk in a heavy saucepan over medium-low heat. Gradually add egg yolk mixture; cook stirring constantly with a wire whisk, until mixture reaches 160 degrees (about 20 minutes). Remove from heat; let cool.

    Stir in rye, rum and 1 cup cream. Cover and chill 8 hours.

    Place chilled mixture in a punch bowl. Fold whipped cream into chilled mixture. Sprinkle with nutmeg.

    Don’t say I never did anything for you. Buon Natale!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.