Lame Duck Monday – Open Forum 12/20/2010

Another Manic Lame Duck Monday. Remember the 1980′s song by the Bangles “Manic Monday” ? Click Here. Catchy Tune !! One of those songs that sticks in your head all day. With all of our current political considerations in mind, below is a newer version of the lyrics. “Lame Duck Monday“.

“Lame Duck Monday” (by Sundance)

Six o’clock already
We thank God that the DREAM didn’t pass…..
I was nervous with my baby
Harry Reid has become such an ass.
But we can’t drop guard
‘Cause then Harry might just push through a mess….

These are the days
When the Lame Ducks can just cause you to stress.

It’s just another Lame Duck Monday….
I wish it was a done day
‘Cause that’s the only way
I can cope another day
It’s just another Lame Duck Monday

Have to catch the early news
Got to check on congress by nine.

And if I had some con-fid-ence
I wouldn’t have to make it on time.
‘Cause it takes so long
Just to figure out what their gonna do
I’d Blame it on Pelosi
But this time it’s jus’ all of Reid’s crew.

It’s just another Lame Duck Monday……
I wish it was a done day
‘Cause that’s the only way

I can cope another day
It’s just another Lame Duck Monday…..

https://i2.wp.com/planetsmilies.net/cool-smiley-9011.gif https://i1.wp.com/planetsmilies.net/cool-smiley-9027.gif

105 Responses to Lame Duck Monday – Open Forum 12/20/2010

  1. AFinch says:

    Very nicely done, Sundance.

    Here’s the latest from Brietbart on Pigford: http://bigjournalism.com/abreitbart/2010/12/19/left-right-and-pigford-introducing-lee-stranahanbiggovernment-coms-progressive-pigford-film-documentarian/

    Looks like he’s pairing with Lee Stranahan from PuffHo and DailyKos to do a video documentary of the Pigford mess. The first segment is up at the Big sites: http://bigjournalism.com/lstranahan/2010/12/19/pigford-video-blockbuster-key-black-farmers-lawyer-admits-clients-got-away-with-murder/

    Should be interesting.

    • AFinch says:

      As soon as this lame duck nonsense wraps up, I suggest we start inundating our congress critters’ inboxes with Pigford stories. Stopping this scam needs to be a top priority. Looking for ways to cut govt spending? Let’s start with Pigford and other fraud and waste in govt.

    • TNWAHM says:

      My dh is from AR and his father was a rice farmer. My dh was also a pastor in a small farming community in eastern AR. Believe me, there is still racism there. I hate that those truly discriminated against aren’t getting their justice because of power hungry pols and money hungry lawyers.

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      This is getting good!

      And some lawyers should be disbarred for knowingly defrauding the U.S. taxpayers. Restitution should come out of their pockets!

  2. AFinch says:

    Our friend, IAmDagny, has a brilliant analysis of the Lamar Mickens project endorsed by Rep. Cleaver and promoted by Pres. Obama’s campaign website, and its impact on the current state of affairs:

    “What this is, is the death of intelligent discourse. And this is a very, very big deal. When legitimate bodies treat complete, slackjawed imbecility and utter insanity as “intelligent” and “contributive”, what follows is chaos. This is different from a First Amendment argument. Lamar Mickens’ has the right to say, propose and publish whatever he wants on his own dime. What he does not have the right to do is demand that his “proposals” be given quarter and respect. Furthermore, any body that does attempt to legitimize such nonsense is, by definition, nefarious and anarchical.”

    Read the rest at http://www.barnhardt.biz/

    Because I can’t read Dagny’s website without thinking of Rand, I’m reminded of the band of misfits and miscreants assembled by Ellsworth Toohey in “The Fountainhead,” where nonsense, trash and gibberish is lauded as artistic masterpiece (does a cross in urine remind you of anything?). More than a year ago, I first heard Dennis Miller refer to Obama as Peter Keating and I thought it was an apt description. But the lingering question I have is who is Mr. Toohey and how do we stop him?

    • IAmDagny says:

      Thanks! Hat Tip and Snifter Clink to Ting, who sent me that OFA link. :-)

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      Dagny’s willingness to get it said (the stuff we see and know, but sometimes just can’t bear to say out loud~~because we really don’t want it to be true) is a gift. Her precision of expression and blunt insistence on the fact that there really IS such a thing as truth is such a blessing. Thank you very much, Dagny for what you do, and for making it easy for those of us on the trail to loop through your orchard and enjoy the fruit of your work. It lifts my heart to see such a clear statement that such reason and truth is anchored in the identity of Jesus Christ. Amen to that.

      One of the things the progressive/lib/anti-American authorities are still not quite believing is this: the reason that conservative, hard-working, straight-thinking Americans have not been a serious obstacle is not because those Americans had nothing to say; nor is it because they didn’t have the intellect or time to say it. It was because they trusted too long before they began to demand verification. Each of us is at our own place…and where I am is a place where I have a lot to learn. Personally, I am finding Dagny’s writings both challenging and encouraging.

      You go, Ma’am!! (That “Ma’am” is like the Marines would use it~~intending to verbalize respect)

      • Ting says:

        Me, too, Emma… Our Dagny is something else.

        • Wraith says:

          Folks like Dagny are a big part of my recent acceptance of Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. I owe her and her peers my undying thanks.

          Something’s happening here, on a level that may shake up the world. This fusion of science and Scripture has always been around, but it’s generally been confined to a handful of various great minds. It’s now becoming very widespread with unprecedented speed.

          The implications of this are worth pondering.

  3. Library Countess says:

    Merry Christmas all my Honeys!

  4. yomotley says:

    A Social Media Christmas

  5. Library Countess says:

    RedState is re-running the vote for 2012 potential presidential candidates — Herman Cain is running second to Sarah.

    http://www.redstate.com/erick/2010/12/19/2012-asked-another-way-2/

    • TNWAHM says:

      I voted for Sarah Palin. So far, she’s my favorite, but I could easily get behind Cain also. Palin has the experience and record in AK and drives the left batty; however, Cain has the proven record in business. I’d say it’s a win for conservatives/constitutionalists with either one.

      • yomotley says:

        Just a reminder, Sarah has business experience. Running a state is running a business. Then there is the Palin family business. And if she cold market the USA like she has marketed herself since the election, we would improve our country’s image 1000 fold.

        • TNWAHM says:

          Oh I know that Palin has business experience. My reference to Cain is his experience with bringing almost bankrupt companies back to life and thriving. You are right about marketing. Palin to me is the “almost” perfect package. I don’t agree with anyone except myself 100% ~well maybe Rush.~.

          • Wraith says:

            This Cain guy seems like a solid, common sense Conservative, but a large part of politics is name recognition. Sarah is a household name in this country, for better or worse. Few people outside hardcore business/political junkies would know who Mr. Cain is.

            I say, Palin/West. Cain as Secretary of the Treasury/Economy Czar/unofficial Minister of Finance.

            And Bernanke and Geitner thrown into prison for life at hard labor. (I wish)

            • WeeWeed says:

              As to your last statement, the old joke about term limits comes to mind!
              Limit: 2 terms
              One in office,
              One in prison!
              (Another “well I can dream, can’t I? moment..)

      • AFinch says:

        Yes. The only danger is that if both of them run they will pull votes from one another, making it possible for an establishment candidate like Romney to win.

        • emmajeri1010 says:

          Can we dare hope that they run aggressively into the primary season, and then pay attention to reality as things unfold, and then make choices about what they do…..so as NOT to throw the nomination to a non-conservative? Can we dare hope that? I truly we are not condemned to an endless future (which we absolutely don’t have time for) of always having candidates who won’t deal with reality for the sake of the nation…and I’m talking specifically about conservatives. If we have to “settle” on this issue, it puts us in a position where we “don’t dare” ever have two strong conservative candidates (or 3? or 4?) going into the primaries, for fear they will be selfish and not care about anything but their own political survival. That’s quite depressing.

          I really would like to see a debate between John Bolton, Sarah Palin and Cain….in which their primary goal is not to destroy each other, but present their own excellent and suitability….and let us decide. Stop trying to kill each other. Talk! It’s not their decision! It’s ours. Somehow that has to become more apparent.

          • AFinch says:

            Well yes, but even if they do have a debate without destroying one another, each of us only gets one vote. There are a finite amount of votes to disperse among multiple candidates. Presumably all of the truly conservative candidates will appeal to the same voters, leaving those who prefer a more traditional, establishment candidate to converge around the establishment’s choice.

          • TNWAHM says:

            I don’t think that either have such a great ego that they would sabotage each other or the country like that. They both come across as love of country first. Maybe I’m to idealistic though.

      • Amsterdam Expat says:

        To be honest, the only other serious contender for the nomination besides SP — as things stand now — who speaks to me, is John Bolton, though I think he’d be best in the role of Secretary of State.

        But this is a whole discussion in its own right … I do look forward to having it, especially as his participation may prompt the other candidates to put more emphasis on articulating their foreign-policy positions in public — something which is very needful at this perilous juncture the USA is in.

        • emmajeri1010 says:

          Having John Bolton talking and campaigning would be a dream come true. You’ve got a good point there…that his presence would force the conversation on foreign policy issues.

        • AFinch says:

          I’m with you AmEx. I’m happy to listen to arguments in favor of all contenders just to make sure I’m being thoughtful and deliberate and not acting based on emotion. I also want to practice my debate skills if a new challenger emerges. But the only one who can hold my interest and who has won my trust is Sarah Palin.

    • sundancecracker says:

      Do ya’ll think we should do a weekly candidate review like we did with Herman Cain? One candidate each week. If so, who should we profile next?

      • AFinch says:

        I wouldn’t mind seeing a profile per week on serious contenders. Those who (like me) think they already have their candidate can think of it as opposition research. Does anyone know who is on the list that team O asked for FBI files on? I’d start there–alphabetically.

      • PhillyCon says:

        Why don’t we do Haley Barbour next? I find him interesting b/c he was a former RNC chair (and an architect of the 94 elections), MS Governor, and lobbyist. He showed impeccable leadership during Kartrina.

        Everyone here knows who I support, but as AFinch says, its good to know as much about every candidate possible.

  6. yomotley says:

    This is just too funny. Olberman caught in lie……again. Someone in the comments at breitbart suggested turning off the volume — he looks like the evil villian in the silent movies!

    http://www.breitbart.tv/olbermann-uses-deceptive-edit-to-attack-cavuto-as-hypocrite-full-video-shows-cavuto-said-opposite-of-olbys-charge/

  7. PhillyCon says:

    Morning everyone:

    As football fans can imagine, the talk here is Michael Vick and the Eagles. This is yet another, “Meadowlands Miracle.” Exciting stuff. Anyway, check out this article on John McCain, it seems he’s found his groove. Hopefully, his “mavericky” ways will continue. Can it be that McCain finally realized that “reaching across the aisle,” ticking off the base, and playing footsie with the media ultimately screwed him in the end?
    http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1210/46583.html

    Check out the Boxer quotes, it gave me a good chuckle.

    • TNWAHM says:

      I would like to believe it, but call me a skeptic for now. I’ll take it though.

      • emmajeri1010 says:

        I agree with your skepticism. If he were consistent with conservative principles and willing to fight for them, he wouldn’t have to be called a maverick, would he? When someone feels compelled to employ a schtick like that, it all strikes me that they’re trying to be “special” and different….instead of just being who they are, like Reagan was. No one ever called him a maverick. They just called him Ronald Reagan, and everybody knew who they were talking about.

    • PhillyCon says:

      Hey guys:
      C’mon now. If the Dems can suddenly embrace “supply side,” isn’t it at all possible that Mr. McCain has “seen the light” a.k.a a Road to Damascus-type conversion? /s

      • emmajeri1010 says:

        I’m assuming your tongue is firmly planted in your cheek??:) Yeah, he sure can have a conversion….it’s just hard to keep track of what his current conversion is: from what? to what? For how long?

        • PhillyCon says:

          Yes, tongue is firmly implanted! :) Hey, since I’m in a glass-half-full kind of mood today, we can certainly pray and hope for similar conversions to the likes of Graham, Snowe, or even Murkowski!

          • emmajeri1010 says:

            It is SOOOO tempting to start to believe the glass half-full thing, isn’t it? And yet…we….just…don’t….quite…dare…! :)

  8. Bijou says:

    Happy Monday, Honeys! Just five more sleeps till Christmas!
    So much going on and I’m still getting the cobwebs out, so I’ll just leave this for now.
    I guarantee it will make you smile. (From JibJab, courtesy of BigFurHat.)

  9. yomotley says:

    Hey Hikers, Besides today’s open forum there is a Christmas Anthology; a place to collect personal Christmas highlights. If you click on the top right hand picture that matches the post pic, you will be taken directly to the “place”. (You can also connect directly from the post on main page) Blessings.

  10. Mrs Compton says:

    Please contact your reps, tell them to stop this food nonsense. Also remind them gently to get the hell out and go home, that they have nothing good coming out of them any longer. They’re only pissing us off and it’s going to get nasty. I swear if one more word comes out of dingy reids mouth I’m gonna scream and it scares me to no end that we aren’t hearing a thing from princess pelosi, you know when kids are quiet….

    • yomotley says:

      Mrs. Compton, good insight on the “Quiet Princess”. Hmmmmm……

    • GracieD says:

      I could not agree more. Pelosi has been entirely too quiet. The upcoming C. R. Has me worried. Wonder what the Dems at up to in the house!

    • Thomas Hooker says:

      It just won’t end. How did this pass? “Unexpected Last Minute Move”

      Someone claims they have the votes to pass START as well.

      This is a nightmare.

    • Patriot Dreamer says:

      Read the comments on the so-called “food safety” bill:

      http://hotair.com/archives/2010/12/20/senate-passes-food-safety-bill-by-unanimous-consent/

      The comment on page 2 from:

      Badger40 on December 20, 2010 at 11:03 AM

      is particularly interesting.

      • Amsterdam Expat says:

        I’m going to have to look into this matter a bit further — it’s not yet clear to me why the ‘Pubs gave in on this (that is, assuming they had a specific reason for doing so, as opposed to it being just one more example of their fecklessness) but it is on first glance disappointing.

        This Congress cannot come to an end soon enough!

        • Patriot Dreamer says:

          Both D’s & R’s get money from Big Agra, is all I can figure. The real point of the legislation is not to make food safer, it’s to drive out competition from smaller producers.

      • sundancecracker says:

        I think this was an example of “politicalease”. They couldn’t NOT vote for something they had originally approved, yet they didn’t want to see it attached to the CR. Curiosor…..

        The damn thing is beyond stupid legislation. I’m tired of these creatures passing laws. Just go home already…. enough !!

        • emmajeri1010 says:

          And if they think we’re going to “get over it” they’re badly mistaken. Their apparent deafness and denseness will ultimately help in taking them down….there are millions more Americans absolutely furious with them today than there were 1 year ago….because they just don’t know when to quit.

          • Menagerie says:

            I am far more upset with the republicans. We had no expectation that dems would do anything right. The tone deaf republicans who will not hear their constituents have to go. Johnny Isaacson, unfortunately just reelected, has not had anyone answering calls during the recent controversial votes, nor has anyone responded to emails (not even a form letter). I once got an answering machine. No one responded to the message.

            • AFinch says:

              Whoa–what happened to you? I liked that cute dog much better.

            • I see you’ve got one of the pinkish (but NOT, I hope, “pinko”!!) avatars. You must have tried to change yours. I had psycho pink square for a day or so–no matter how many times I tried to change it–until I cleaned out my cache, and then the picture of my border collie, that I’d chosen for my gravatar, suddenly appeared. It might work for you, too.

    • TNWAHM says:

      My faxes on Saturday said

      NO START
      NO DREAM
      NO DADT

      Go Home.

      Merry Christmas.

      I sent to the class that’s up for re-election in 2012 as well as some of the swing votes provided for by the TP. I’m going to get faxing again today specifically on START. Drudge had a ad on Sunday to call Senator Corker ~who is my senator~ about START. I think I’ll start with him and Lamar Alexander. Who else needs to hear from us?

  11. Patriot Dreamer says:

    NPR Reporter Apologizes for Saying ‘Christmas’ On Air

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/npr-reporter-apologizes-for-saying-christmas-on-air/

    Oh, good grief. People should be able to talk about whatever holidays they want on the air. Time to bring back the Happy RamaHanuKwanzMas! video:

  12. Patriot Dreamer says:

    FCC Working With Al Sharpton to Let HIM Drag Rush and Others in FRONT OF A PUBLIC HEARING to Explain Themselves

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/fcc-working-with-al-sharpen-to-let-him-drag-rush-and-others-in-front-of-a-public-hearing-to-explain-themselves/

    Here come the Thought Police.

  13. Kristi says:

    http://www.vatican.va/various/cappelle/sistina_vr/index.html

    WOW… just put your cursor on the screen and move around to see it all.

    The Sistine Chapel… wow.

  14. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Barney Frank: Double-Dip Estate Tax Not Punishment Because Heirs Didn’t do Anything to Deserve It

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/barney-frank-double-dip-estate-tax-not-punishment-because-heirs-didnt-do-anything-to-deserve-it/

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      Will he soon be developing a force of Birthday Party Police? Those stinking little five year olds (or 16 year olds) getting things from their parents certainly didn’t do anything to deserve it. Birthday Party licenses will be issued in advance of all birthdays, and all presents presented to the munchkins will be taxed at a fix rate, for which the munchkin will have to sign a debt agreement, before he is allowed to open any of the gifts. He will be told, “You have to have skin in the game.”

    • AFinch says:

      Right. And what exactly did the government do to “earn” it.

    • Amsterdam Expat says:

      I do wish Bwarney Fwank would pass on this pearl of wisdom to Mrs. and Mr. Teresa Heinz.

    • sundancecracker says:

      Bawney Fwank is an idiot…. a complete idiot. The estate tax is ridiculous… it is like the progressive Holy Grail….. a sure fire way to redistribute income. I hate the progressive ideology… just hate it. Damn them all.

  15. AFinch says:

    Heritage addresses New START again in today’s Morning Bell, citing some of Obama’s broken promises to date:

    http://blog.heritage.org/2010/12/20/morning-bell-the-ghost-of-broken-promises-past/

  16. emmajeri1010 says:

    I’m not sure this link will show correctly. It’s WSJ link on Drudge…article is about the FCC’s shape-shifting accomplished over recent months to keep pushingpushingpushing their way into internet regulation. The problem I see with this (which is occurring in about 78 different areas of our life right now) is that the point where the rubber hits the road for regular people still isn’t clearly in focus, so the fact that our attention is scattered by the 77 other issues results in lower response to this. Can someone who understands it better put a focus on it? Just because I know who they are and how they operate, they make my skin crawl. But I doubt I could specifically say why.

    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748703395204576023452250748540.html

    • GracieD says:

      Emma, I will try, but will have to wait until I. Get home…iPhone is not conducive to researchmand possible lengthy explanations. :D

    • sundancecracker says:

      Under the new rules being proposed, we will be billed per-gigabit for data that we use. I have read that downloading a typical movie via netflix will cost $4.00 in bandwidth on your internet bill.

      Apparently, we will have to buy packages, say $40 per month for 40 gigabits, with $1 per gigabit over that.

      If you are one to stay logged into the internet via any site such as this or your e-mail or your E-Trade Pro account, or IBB service, during trading hours, this could easily cost you a $100 a month or more in bandwidth fees.

      Apparently the regulations have been written (withover 500 footnotes) and Obozo is waiting to spring them on us after the FCC Dec 12 meeting.

      If it isn’t broken, these commie bastards can find a way to break it.

      http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2010/dec/2/wave-goodbye-to-internet-freedom/

      • AFinch says:

        How will this apply to businesses? We do everything online in our office. It’s really gonna sock it to the bottom line.

      • Amsterdam Expat says:

        They do like to break things in order to have the opportunity to put them back together, don’t they — invariably in much worse shape, of course.

        • emmajeri1010 says:

          Another version of class warfare: it seems to me I remember algore making a big hairy deal about wanting to get the innertubes into every poverty stricken home. And now his cabal is going to make it very difficult for people who live on budgets (unlike the gubmint) to actually continue using the innertubes. Then after they run the price skyhigh, they’ll start crucifying the people who can still afford it, and make them feel guilty because of all the people who can no longer afford it.

          These “people” are despicable. (Are they people? I don’t even know any more.)

      • GracieD says:

        Good job, Sundance. Perfect interpretation of the article. What we need to do now is call our Congresscritters (House Rep) and ask them to get on the horn to the FCC and threaten to defund them COMPLETELY if they go throught with this.

        • GracieD says:

          I emailed Dr. Cassidy, and asked him to put pressure on the FCC not to over reach Congressional and Judicial Authority.

      • GracieD says:

        Good Morning Honeys, I have gone to the FCC website and gotten the emails for the commissioners. I am thinking that we could write them and tell them HANDS OFF THE INTERNET! I have already emailed them. I further told them that I had already begun contactine Congresspeople requesting that they pull funding for the ENTIRE FCC if they dare to enact net neutrality. They do not need to know that I have only emailed Dr. Cassidy so far about this, I have asked him for a list of Congresscritters who may have some influence with the FCC.

        Here are the emails for the cretins at the FCC:

        How to Contact the FCC

        To Contact the Commissioners via E-mail

        Chairman Julius Genachowski: Julius.Genachowski@fcc.gov
        Commissioner Michael J. Copps: Michael.Copps@fcc.gov
        Commissioner Robert McDowell: Robert.McDowell@fcc.gov
        Commissioner Mignon Clyburn: Mignon.Clyburn@fcc.gov
        Commissioner Meredith Attwell Baker: Meredith.Baker@fcc.gov

  17. Amsterdam Expat says:

    Here’s a report which qualifies to bring on the laugh of the day:

    http://hotair.com/archives/2010/12/20/schwarzenegger-you-know-whos-pretty-qualified-to-work-for-obama-me/

    Hasta la vista, baby. Maybe while you’re there you can teach O some “Austrian” …

  18. emmajeri1010 says:

    Does anyone happen to know of specific Congressmen (and that includes the women, I’m sick of PC) who are on record as being willing to start defunding or doing some sunset legislation with regard to all the regulatory agencies? If the regulations aren’t addressed and put to death, it won’t matter much who’s elected.

  19. Amsterdam Expat says:

    Here’s a report on something that came up over the weekend — a nefarious attempt as it seemed to include the Dream Act in some other piece of legislation.

    http://michellemalkin.com/2010/12/20/a-procedural-note-about-h-r-5281-and-the-dream-act/

  20. sundancecracker says:

  21. AFinch says:

    Hey Kristi and other Hoosiers . . . Did you hear Becky Skillman is not running for Gov and Politco is speculating that this pushes Pence toward the Gov’s mansion?

    http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1210/46623.html

  22. PhillyCon says:

    Guys:
    Palin Democrat was just asking about Chrissy on the open thread … so, I contacted PD’s blog, and gave a shout out about Honeytrail. FYI … hopefully, we’ll have another addition.

  23. AFinch says:

    Any Steyn fans out there? He’s subbing for Hannity tonight–and let me just say–yowza!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.