Thanksgiving Celebration, November 25, 2010

Blessing and Prayers. We have so much to be thankful for. Over at Stop Shouting here is a heartfelt blog that celebrates the best in people. You are invited to stop over to savor the blessings shared. First, a prayer/poem, then a video that will cut right to your heart and leave you with an overwhelming gratitude for everything good about America and those dedicated to protecting our freedoms. Finally, a personal story is shared which will encourage you and conveys how a brief encounter with kindness from a stranger can impact a young military family. Thank you, Lord.

87 Responses to Thanksgiving Celebration, November 25, 2010

  1. AFinch says:

    Good morning Motley and all you Honeys out there. Thank you for opening this place for all of us to come visit each day.

    YATZ thanks for the video, the news report and the lovely personal story. “Marines good; Taliban no good,” indeed. This is one of my favorite videos of military coming home to their families.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • JRD says:

      Yatz, Thank you. Got a knot in my throat. Thank the Studmuffin and your son for everything they’ve done to protect us and our freedoms.

      And thank you YATZ for being a Momma Grizzly.

  2. emmajeri1010 says:

    Good morning, and Happy Thanksgiving to all!

    I propose that we make a list of things that incompetent, toxic-to-America national authorities (I will not use the word leadership there today) cannot take away.

    No matter what they do, I will still have:

    1. my personal heritage of Danish grandparents who left everything for a one way trip to Ellis Island around 1895;

    2. about 20 amazing sunsets in October over the huge field pond across the gravel road from us (I understand there are more to come);

    3. knowledge of the back roads in eastern Montana, western Minnesota, parts of Colorado and backpacking trails in the California Sierras;

    4. a lifetime of experiences based on personal freedom and personal responsibility;

    5. joy and confidence in a living God who loves me;

    6. the willingness to work with and for my neighbor when he needs help;

    7. the offer(s) of our neighbors to help us until DH is able to do it all….again;

    8. family members who have the ability and willingness to build buildings, change tires, run electrical wiring; bake bread; do hair weaves; sing; play the violin, trumpet and drums; play a mean game of volleyball and football; hunt and think.

    9. New friends gained in 2010;

    10. increasing numbers of folks (talked with 5 of them this week) with whom I am not acquainted at all, but with whom I also had great conversations of shared concern for our nation, telling them that we of goodwill, common sense and great concern are not crazy and we’re not alone. There are millions of us.

    11. they cannot take away the fact that our Creator did indeed give to us certain unalienable rights, among them life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

    I.Am.Thankful. (and besides all that, homemade pumpkin pie in the house today: and if the authorities don’t get here by Saturday, that’ll be all gone and they can’t take that either.)

    The government gives us neither hope nor joy, so they can’t take them away.

    • Menagerie says:

      This awesome post is why I can’tstay away.

      may I add:

      My junior high teacher who kept a patriotic billboard during the Vietnam War and took our class to DC to visit and study some of the things that reflect our American greatness, my family, the beautiful church we are free to worship in, my ancestors who sacrificed to build something for the future generations, the renewed commitments of Americans who stand for the constitutional foundations of our country, and today especially, my mother in law and grandmother in law who taught me to cook. 34 years with the most awesome man I have ever known. God, who pulled me from the despair and darkness.

    • AFinch says:

      A sense of humor. I’m struck daily by just how clever and outright funny people are–even in times of distress.

    • GracieD says:

      Love it Emma!

    • You are a very good writer. This comes straight from my nasty, nit-picky, critical heart, too! LOL

    • GracieD says:

      Sorry, hit enter too soon! I am thankful for many of the same things as Emma. In addition, I am thankful for:

      1) My hubby who is my personal gift from God

      2)Being raised in a strong Christian family with a good work ethic and a good sense of Charity.

      3) Kinda goes with #2, Inammgratefulmfor a strong Christian Mom and Grandmother, who were both a blessing and an example of how to be a good person.

      4) A sister who is always there for me no matter what.

      5) A Godsent BGF who will always remind me that God is in control of everything.

      6) Being married to a Cajun who can hunt, fish, and trap, which means we will not go hungry.

      7) Good neighbors who bought my mom’s house…since you never know what you get with neighbors. :D 8) HB and Honeytrail who provides a place to gather and learn, and take action when needed.

      9) I am thankful for being born in the greatest Nation on earth.

      10) I am grateful for the Divine guidance given to our forefathers when they wrote our founding documents.

  3. JRD says:

    A Thanksgiving Day Prayer for America

    http://spectator.org/archives/2010/11/24/a-thanksgiving-day-prayer-for

    I love reading Peter Ferrara. He worked in the Reagan administration.

  4. phillycon4 says:

    Guys:

    Happy Turkey Day! I look forward more to this holiday than Christmas believe it or not.

    I feel Thanksgiving is a much more relaxed holiday (OK, if you are the one NOT cooking!). But seriously, its about food, thanks, families, friends, prayer, but without the pressure that comes with Christmas.

    Oh, another reason I like Thanksgiving, my b-day is tomorrow! :) I always praise God for giving me another year of life. I know some people dread their birthday’s especially when you are out of your 20′s … but, I am thankful for getting older.

    Not to be morose, I always say a prayer for my friend who died on 9-11, his birthday was the same as mine.

    Thank you for everyone that started this site.

  5. WeeWeed says:

    ‘Mornin, Honeys! Yatz, that story made my eyes dusty…and what a great idea – to carry gift cards this time of year! I think I’ll just try that out! Everyone have a wonderful day today. (And – Geaux Saints!!)

    • JRD says:

      Mornin WeeWeed, Happy Thanksgiving to all the WeeWeeds.

    • Auntie Lib says:

      Yes! Go Saints!!!! I didn’t know you were a fan of the Carroll College Fighting Saints from Helena, Montana, who will host Marian University in the NAIA Quarterfinals on Saturday. In the snow. Wind. Below freezing. Adverse conditions. Our Saints are an absolutely outstanding group of young collegiate scholar/athletes. (I may be slightly biased – but not much.)

      Oh, you meant the your Saints. Okay. As long as they aren’t playing the Broncos – GEAUX SAINTS!!! :-)

  6. wendy ann says:

    I would like to add a note of Thanksgiving for those “unsung” men & women who risk everything everyday to serve our Country in far away places, who sacrifice so much for the greater good, who do so willingly and honorably – but quietly and humbly!

  7. davesmom1 says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    May God bless each of you and your families.

  8. Morning, dahlings. Happy Thanksgiving to you all, and your loved ones as well.

    Does anyone know how to roast a turkey? It can’t be that hard, right?

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      Naaw. Just put it in the oven for awhile. When it’s done, serve it with dressing and stuff. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Bijou says:

      Oh, Matilda, I hope you’ve managed to get your turkey underway.

      I believe there’s a Butterball site that might be of help.

      In an emergency, just wash the bird thoroughly inside and out. If you don’t want to do stuffing, just put a couple of onions in there and a good sprinkle of sage if you’ve got it.

      Butter the whole outside and put a loose sheet of tinfoil over and roast at 325° for 20 mins. per lb. Take off the tinfoil for the last 45 mins. or so, to brown.

      Good luck!

      • BTW, I read a post the other day on this site, that suggested using olive oil soaked brown paper (grocery bag) instead of foil to cover the turkey. THAT WAS THE BOMB!!! Thank you whoever posted that. We had the most beautiful, moist, turkey ever!

        HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

    • Well, I figured the whole tukey thing out…I made DH do it. He comes in handy like that.

      Now I am wonerding if you really can brine your turkey in a washing machine. I mean, why not?

      • Ad rem says:

        You’re making him cook AND carve? (I remember you said carving was a ‘boy’ thing.) The washing machine thing would work if it weren’t for all the holes at the bottom of the machine….jus’ sayin’. But it did make me pause and think for a minute…..real easy clean-up and all.

      • ytz4mee says:

        I remember there once was a “man-show” about cooking on the engine of your car, in the dishwasher, etc. It was hilarious.

        I’ve used a clean 5 gal bucket purchased from the Home Despot in the past, never thought of using a heavy ziplock in a cooler. That’s the smart cookie way to do it. Must file away for next year.

  9. notamolly says:

    Happy Thanksgiving and thank you to the service men and women and to their families.

  10. YTZ4Me says:

    To all those celebrating birthdays, congratulations.

    Happy Thanksgiving to all.

    We have so much to be thankful for and to reflect upon.

    We’re off to friends to be hosted for food and frivolity.

    Enjoy all …. see you tomorrow !!

  11. Thomas Hooker says:

    Before Obamacare became an issue, I was doing a lot of genealogy research. One of my ancestors is Stephen Hopkins, who came over on the Mayflower. Some fascinating information on his life has been put together by Caleb Johnson in the book “Here Shall I Die Ashore.” He posits that Hopkins was also at Jamestown and was shipwrecked during a hurricane and stranded on Bermuda. From the back cover: “These are the extraordinary adventures of an ordinary man.” Here are two links with more info:

    http://www.mayflowerhistory.com/HopkinsBook.php

    http://www.amazon.com/Here-Shall-Die-Ashore-Jamestown/dp/1425796338/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1290704324&sr=1-1

    With the elections past, I am hoping to get back to genealogy and actually read this book. But first, off to make apple pie for dinner tonight.

    Happy Thanksgiving.

    P.S. Also descended from Thomas Hooker of Hartford CT

    • I’m related to the Snows and the Hopkins, as well. Were there Bradbury’s, too? I forget. But we’ve got them also.

      • I don’t think they were orange, however.

        • Stupid WordPress. I make an original comment; it says it’s a duplicate. So I change a word and try again, and voila! two posts………………….

          • JRD says:

            Same thing happened to me this morning Frankly. Hey, ya staying warm while you’re walking the pooches up there today?

            • Well, that post was barely worth saying ONCE! Twice was major overkill, in my opinion. Weather.com says it’s 0 degrees outside, feels like -17. My younger daughter is getting to move out of her dinky travel trailer and into a house today, so she’s gone with her herd, and her dogs…which drops me down to 2 hounds, who are both snoozing comfortably. And believe me, I’m definitely letting those sleeping dogs lie!

              I’ve had to be out twice today so far, and I found nothing in the experience to make me disagree with weather.com. I’ve also had to protect my orange ski mask from being commandeered by a grandson, AND I have a new black hood thingy that Tina says makes me look like “Polar Ninja.”

              “Spring, Spring. Wherefore art thou, o Spring?”

          • Ad rem says:

            I’ve had the duplicate post message pop up on me three times today. If you just hit refresh you’ll see it actually did post…who knows why?

            You know who would be getting bummed out about my complaints right about now? ;-)

      • Thomas Hooker says:

        We’re cousins – many times removed :-)

        • Only about 400 years’ worth! My mother was a Snow. I have cousins that are Hopkins and Bradburys. My mother’s nephew, and my father’s niece, are really into genealogy, and so I’ve gotten to look at the family tree from both sides–back hundreds of (and in my dad’s side, around a thousand) years–without having to do a lick of the work.

    • ytz4mee says:

      That is so cool … and timely.

  12. frankie says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to every one here and all you hold dear!

  13. Bijou says:

    Happy, Happy Thanksgiving, fellow Honeys!!

    Here in Canada we celebrate our Thanksgiving in early October, but I join all of you today in giving thanks (as I do every day) for the countless blessings we enjoy.

    I am grateful for the brave men and women, past and present, who put their lives on the line to preserve the most precious of all gifts, our freedom. My Grandpa, my Dad and three uncles all served in WWII. One uncle was KIA and my own dad was wounded in combat.

    Canada currently has many thousands serving in Afghanistan and in my home town many houses have yellow ribbons on their trees, signifying that they have loved ones serving.

    I am also very grateful for all of you, particularly motley and pat p, for your diligent efforts in reconnecting us!

    I cannot overstate the admiration and affection I feel for all of you, and I wish you a safe and Happy Thanksgiving!

  14. Jennifer H says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to all, there are so many things to be thankful for, silver linings to be discovered, thoughts and feelings and precious time to share with family, friends, and community.

    To this community may I give heartfelt thanks to each and every one of you for sharing your thoughts and insights, opinions and prayers. You are all truly inspiring.

    I give special thanks to Pat P, Yomotely, and AFinch for the new site and the many trails of breadcrumbs that got the ball rolling.

    I feel priveledged to be able to read and sometimes comment in the company of this amazing group of people.

    Thank you and God Bless

    • yomotley says:

      Your Welcome. I would like to add that Emma, Ad rem, and Sundance work on the site as well. The handful, plus one, are thankful for each of you (including lurkers) who comments here on honeytrail.

    • Ad rem says:

      Actually, we were able to recycle a lot of those bread crumbs into this year’s stuffing! (Waste not want not.)

  15. Patriot Dreamer says:

    A chuckle for today:

    How do you cook a turkey?

    Second-graders at White Hall Elementary tell us how it is done [Richmond, Kentucky]

    http://richmondregister.com/localnews/x1293917888/How-do-you-cook-a-turkey

  16. Wraith says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to all!

    We just made cat-food buffet plates for the cats, so we’ll likely come home to kitty barf later…but it was worth it. The little beggars went after ‘em like they hadn’t eaten in months! :D

    It really is fulfilling to do for others, even a couple of already-spoiled felines.

  17. pistol pete says:

    I took my 2 oldest grandchildren with me to help serve dinner at a county shelter.My 15 y/o granddaughter changes her hair color weekly.Today it was bazooka bubble-gum pink.A sweet old lady in her 70′s came though the line and said:”is that a wig?Do you have cancer?I do too.”Jessica carried her plate to the table and they talked for a while.I think she found doing something for love is better than being paid money.She grew up a little today.I think.

  18. ytz4mee says:

    I was able to use the Komment Zapper to try and get rid of the dupe posts.

    Looks like it worked! Yay!

    Still waiting for the mill-yons of Asian spam to turn up.

    Waiting. Waiting.

    /s/ off

  19. ytz4mee says:

    Oh, and I got Integrity 1st out of moderation purgatory.

    She’s here, she’s here! Yay!!

    • Bijou says:

      YAY! Where is she?

      Integrity1st, come out and play! We’re been waiting for you!

      WELCOME!

    • integrity1st says:

      I’m here, I’m here. There’s so much to read, and I haven’t gotten through more than half. And I have so much to say, BUT, I have already learned so much, including things I would have said, that got clarified – – – like we have to get Aussie out, and save others, and, and, that conversation about us not hurting his reputation . . . we’re angry now, but we won’t be later . . . NO. It’s about not letting any others be duped or go through what we are all recovering from. All I kept thinking, when I read and learned more and more was how we could leave anyone behind. That’s not anger, that’s trying to save people.

      I’m so tired now. I have been reading here all night. It is surreal. First, did that really happen, and now, that THIS is happening. It is an absolutely amazing thing that this is happening, and those lefty, (I assume), people that allowed you guys to stay in their guest rooms. Wonderful. Beautiful. Amazing, and beyond my greatest expectation that we would all land here and find each other. And those lurkers, and those dropping in for a visit and wishing us well. It’s all so beautiful.

      WHAT A HOMECOMING ON THANKSGIVING DAY! Thank you all, and happy Thanksgiving. I’m so overloaded right now and my eyes are killing me so I am signing off, but cannot wait to get back to all of you, (and finish reading all) What a site this is going to be, and I know we have to move forward, but I’m guessing I will feel the need to vent first, and lend whatever insight I might have on the matter. Where do you want me to go, in private or something? Til tommorrow, I won’t be back to check in, so, until then –

      LOVE. YOU. ALL. GREAT JOB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Pat P says:

        So good to see you! This gathering should soothe your spirit. It has been an amazing experience this past week or so. Every day someone else stops in to check things out.

      • AFinch says:

        Welcome, you of the WC avatar!! As you can see, people having been asking about you from the beginning.

      • sundancecracker says:

        Integrity1st, well…. well…. Its about time ! Sheeesh what took ya so long :) Everyone has been trying to lay a trail of breadcrumbs for you to follow back here to the ‘treehouse’..

        GREAT to see you made it. WELCOME !! :D

  20. Ting says:

    A belated Happy Thanksgiving to all of you Honeys! I so enjoyed being with family today and hope all of you did as well. Did you know that ultrasounds are now so advanced that you can see a a baby’s dimples before he is even born? I had no idea, but now I have seen it myself. Amazing! Just one more thing to add to the list of blessings.

  21. HAPPY THANKSGIVING PIE, er I mean Ting!

    Here on the left coast things are winding down, turkey is in the fridge, PIE is covered, wood stove is stoked……….lights out on another Thanksgiving full of blessings from an AWESOME GOD!

    Nite!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.