Friday Open Forum – December 3, 2010

Friday. Payday. Grocery shopping. Fill the gas tanks. Two simultaneous basketball games at different locations. Only one set of parents. Late night Netflix double feature. Fall asleep fifteen minutes into the first movie. Friday. Blessings.

Good morning. Enjoy yourselves and your visit. There are some new familiar faces that popped in during the wee hours of the morning.

Question: Who is BEHIND honeytrail.wordpress.com? Motley? Yeah, but I am not a lone ranger in hosting this party. Throughout the posts I have referenced “we”, which is in the general sense, everyone that has found there way here for the daily conversations. In the technical sense there are seven of us that are behind the scenes collaborating to bring and keep us all together. Honeytrail administrators and site managers are AD rem, AFinch, Emma, Motley, PatP, Sundance, and Ytz4me. So far, this seems to be working well for managing the house, keeping it clean and company ready. (We try not to fight over who has to do the dishes.). There are/will be times each goes “independent” and posts a piece and other times where we will discuss the ins and outs of a writing and get each other’s input. Why these six? Simply because we were the first six in communication with each other, combined with applying lessons learned from experienced bloggers on “too many cooks in the kitchen”.

Question: Who IS honeytrail.wordpress.com? It is ALL of us that have found our way here to banter back and forth our ideas all day long. We have used the common ground of love for our country and wanting to save it as our foundation to healthy, educational, and edifying discussions. Over time we have shared parts of our personal lives and prayed for each other. Yeah, we are cyber friends; imaginary friends. But friends, none the less. All are welcome to submit posts. We encourage you to do this. Simply email them to honeytrail@hush.com.

If there is something you would like to send to specifically one of us listed, simply put “Attn: (name)” in the subject line of the emails and send to honeytrail@hush.com. Unless it is marked with a big fat “personal” and addressed to a specific person, the email will be considered for the admins as a whole. Also, if you posted at the tail end of the day’s thread, you are welcome to carry it forward to the next day; just re-post.

Welcome.

172 Responses to Friday Open Forum – December 3, 2010

  1. zmalfoy says:

    Thank you! I’m glad to be here, although . . . a little, um, I dunno. I’ve very glad to see some faces I’d been missing. (Why, just the other day, I was asking myself “What happened to Chrissy? And Angelaisms? And that lot? . . . )

    And now I know! You can thank AliRose for going out into the snow to find me. . .

  2. Library Countess says:

    Hi Zmalfoy… welcome! It’s good to see you again!

    I was channel surfing last night and happened upon Parker-Spitzer (blech)… however, they had Gene Simmons of KISS fame on. [I’m sure they now regret it.] I landed in the middle of the interview but, in short, he’s socially liberal but quite conservative on everything else… pro military, supported the Iraq war, fiscal conservative, etc. Among other things he wants his vote for Obama back: “If you take a look at (Obama’s) resume, you couldn’t find somebody, in retrospect, more unqualified,” Simmons told “Parker Spitzer.” He also said (paraphrasing): “news flash for some of you: Al Qaeda doesn’t care what party you belong to; they want all of us dead.” I googled for a clip of the whole interview but didn’t find anything so far. If you can find it, what I saw was very good.

  3. yomotley says:

    One thingie to ad to todays Open Forum post about multiple admins. It is a very relaxed set up, with no set schedule and each coming and going, in and out, of our personal lives; mixing it in with our daily lives when it fits. Sort of a big “not tied down, written in stone” involvement. And so far their is always (except wee hrs of the a.m.) someone watching the fire.

  4. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Has anybody else noticed that Progs are actually referring to Christmas all of a sudden? Most of the time, they can’t even stand to say it because it’s not “inclusive” enough. Gotta say holidays or seasons or whatever. But now that unemployment is set to expire for folks who have been on it for 99 weeks (just shy of 2 years), suddenly they’re talking about how horrible it is that people can’t use their unemployment insurance money to buy their kids Christmas gifts. Suddenly, they want to use the word “Christmas” to help pull on the heart strings.

    • yomotley says:

      You post this in the morning and by the afternoon I hear Rush saying the same thing. Hmmm. You prepping him for his shows now?

      • Patriot Dreamer says:

        Heh. I wish! Actually, I think he started talking about this yesterday. So, I should give credit to him.

        • Integrity1st says:

          That’s so noble of you to give him credit. Seriously, no one would have been the wise. Anyway, what are Progs?

          Also, was pleased to hear, not JUST the music, but the words to Silent Night playing in background on Grey’s Anatomy. Even better, it was not for a Christmas scene, it was to advance the plot and enhance the meaning. Didn’t think TV would let Christ our Savior being born be shed in a moving manner.

  5. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Unemployment rate for November:

    9.8%

    http://www.cnbc.com/id/40489270

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      But isn’t that down from 14% under GW? So it’s all good.

    • sundancecracker says:

      Yeah, SURPRISE unemployment figures….. and COINCIDENTIALLY …. SURPRISE….. Obama is out of the country (‘surprise’ visit to Afghanistan).

      Maybe the lip was from his ‘dodgeball’ practice….

      Poor Biden again with the bootprint on his loyal doofus as he’s shoved out the door to greet the microphones.. “err.. yes, well ahem… let’s see.. yes, um unemployment, right… err, … um… ice cream anyone?”

      • Patriot Dreamer says:

        Oddly, they always say that the unemployment numbers are “unexpected”. How can they be unexpected every single time?? And where’s that recovery Joe Biden was talking about. And what happened to that laser-like focus on job creation that the Administration promised? Still waiting …

  6. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Interesting read on immigration (legal & illegal):

    http://frontpagemag.com/2010/12/03/immigration-the-next-battle/

    • sundancecracker says:

      Love Hammer when his mind is on the right side of issues. Snort lines included in his rationale are great…

      ……..”And where are the intelligence agencies on which we lavish $80 billion a year? Assange has gone missing. Well, he’s no cave-dwelling jihadi ascetic. Find him. Start with every five-star hotel in England and work your way down. (OK.. thats snarkilicious right thar’ I don’t care who ya’ are)

      Want to prevent this from happening again? Let the world see a man who can’t sleep in the same bed on consecutive nights, who fears the long arm of American justice. I’m not advocating that we bring out of retirement the KGB proxy who, on a London street, killed a Bulgarian dissident with a poisoned umbrella tip. But it would be nice if people like Assange were made to worry every time they go out in the rain….”

      • Am I the only one that things this is killing the messenger. Do our laws not protect the ‘dissemination’ of information without regard to where it came from. I personally would love to see them go after who is leaking this info, and go after the incompetent administration that because of its weakness leaks are allowed. It is the LEAKER that should be gone after not the DISSEMINATOR.
        Further, in my estimation, these leaks should make this incompetent administration shake in its boots that someone would leak stuff that would really set their heads to spinning; something that could cause the downfall of this administration before 2012.
        I know that today our world is upside down, just like the progressives and their ilk have worked toward…top down, bottom up, inside out, but this ideology that the messenger is the culprit reminds me of teachers who punished the whole class for someone that one person did. Not fair.

        • Integrity1st says:

          I’m with you on this, and don’t you think the leaker should be held up as a poster child for homosexuals adverse impact on the military if they feel their sexual preference not being known is justification to commit treason? Why don’t we hear anything on this?

          And, if there are gays in this group, please know I LOVE YOU and want all things equal for you. I hope this comes out right cause I really truly have gay friends I adore, but we don’t agree on all things, and, I’m not really sure where I stand on DADT except this guy did a very bad thing because of it, and THAT should be pointed out and made known, not hidden what his motive was.

          • Integrity1st says:

            Seriously, sometimes I read what I write and it comes out like I have a speech impediment where I don’t have one. Even inverts sentences. Must be the software. not.

  7. Patriot Dreamer says:

    “Camp Obama”: Progressive Howard Dean lays out the Saul Alinsky ties that got Obama elected:

    http://blip.tv/file/4462575/

  8. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Death Panel? Daschle Encourages ‘Other Options’ for Elderly Patients Needing Surgery

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/death-panel-daschle-encourages-other-options-for-elderly-patients-needing-surgery/

  9. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Good article on how our Federal Reserve spent trillions bailing out foreign banks:

    http://www.investors.com/NewsAndAnalysis/Article/555577/201012021902/America-Bails-Out-A-Thankless-World.htm

    Maddening.

  10. DeniseVB says:

    Totally cool you found me too!

    • yomotley says:

      Welcome, Dennis. My apologies it took some time to get pulled out of moderation. After the first high security clearance which involved us talking to every single person you have talked to in the last hundred years, tapping your phone, getting signed affidavits that you are who you say you are, verifying all thirty of your social security numbers are legit, talking to your pediatrician and kindergarten teacher, and had you removed from the no-fly list, your posts should now go up nice and quickly.

      • valentinoswife says:

        Hey – where were you in the 2008 elections instead of ‘vetting’ everyone then??? ;)

        • sundancecracker says:

          Hey when did you slip in.? I missed my opportunity to do the happy feet smilie.. https://i0.wp.com/planetsmilies.net/party-smiley-17092.gif Welcome… Welcome…. Welcome.. https://i2.wp.com/planetsmilies.net/party-smiley-551.gif

          • valentinoswife says:

            Awwwwww! I feel ‘wanted’! Thanks! Between sites blocking ‘enrollments’ or banning or moderating away comments due to WP not co-operating (even tho my own blog is WP!), I was beginning to wonder ‘if it was something I said’??? Hehhehehe

            • yomotley says:

              Now I know we have only been doing this a couple of weeks but the only time anyone has been lost or in moderation is the first time and if you are a visitor who manually types your name and email in each time you comment and make a typo, you will end up in moderation until we find you again. But other than that, just try getting lost.

            • DeniseVB says:

              Me too valentinoswife! I’ve been on WP for two years, all of a sudden my posts on HB were disappeared ? I thought because I was pimping my blog on their open threads?? So I stopped doing that and eventually stopped posting when my posts still didn’t show up right away. I sent K a note that I couldn’t send another donation until he fixes the problem. He accused me of blackmailing him ???!!!??? I was very hurt :( Man, am I happy to see you guys here, again thanks for the invite!

            • Ad rem says:

              Blackmailing???? Denise you need to go back to the very first thread “Hello World” and get the skinny! It’s over 500 comments ….but most illuminating.

              Welcome! ;-)

            • sundancecracker says:

              He said you were blackmailing him???

              That’s choice !

              Meanwhile…. we were
              https://i0.wp.com/planetsmilies.net/angry-smiley-225.gif

            • DeniseVB says:

              ran out of *reply* thingys, note to admin, you can add more ;)

              I’ll go look for that other thread here now…..really, I’ve been wracked with guilt being accused of blackmailing for months.

            • AliRose says:

              Wow, Denise! I completely came across you by accident, while trying to track down someone else. I think I had followed a websearch link to a comment they had left on your blog. When I saw your picture and name in the corner, I recognized it right away. I had no idea what you’d been through and am so glad I decided to leave that comment. I’m so sorry about what happened to you. You are so welcome here!

            • Bijou says:

              Denise, WELCOME! It’s so nice to see you!
              You will LOVE it here.
              WOW. KD accused you of BLACKMAILING him?!
              Wow! That is rich!

              This just gets better and better, doesn’t it, kids?

        • JRD says:

          Hey, happy you found us!

    • Thomas Hooker says:

      Welcome, DeniseVB! Ad rem was advocating for equal kitty weight here :-)

    • sundancecracker says:

      Yipee Denise made it too… Whoot https://i2.wp.com/planetsmilies.net/party-smiley-17091.gif Welcome !!!! https://i2.wp.com/planetsmilies.net/party-smiley-551.gif

      • Integrity1st says:

        You guys are all too funny. WELCOME DENISE, and now I’m on to zmalfoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WELCOME, so glad you’ve both been found. AliRose, you’re awesome. Any ideas on SFGoth who I saw posting ‘over there’ yesterday???

        • AliRose says:

          I saw that, too. Unfortunately, I have no leads right now on that one…other than a Libertarian living somewhere in San Francisco. ;)

          I’ve tried combing for some old threads looking for clues and spent a little time on FB, but some nuts are just harder to crack. Unfortunately, it’s more difficult to find people if they were REALLY devoted HB followers (meaning they didn’t post anywhere else).

          It’s a long proccess, but I’m still looking. Leave NO MAN behind!

          • Integrity1st says:

            AliRose, hopefully you’ve noted that I have posted many times my appreciation for your attitude of leave no man behind. thanks again and again because I feel as you do, but lack the skills. (never knew of any of those kool sites you guys hung on!)

            also, that present from the other thread sounds so nice. how did you have it plug in – did the cord simply come out of the top or what?

            also again, in the event K is a sad and lonely sole, maybe you and I should commit to sending our presents to him in time for Christmas?

            I’m terrible on follow thru, especially when it comes to getting stuff in the mail to people, so I would need encouragement ;)

            • AliRose says:

              I drilled a hole near the base with my Dremel…very useful tool!

              I’m bad at follow-through sometimes, too. Hence, I have been online all day, AGAIN, instead of accomplishing many other things. Do you have an address, or would we need to track that down together? I found his parents’ address, but really have no interest in sending it to Cleveland. ;)

            • AliRose says:

              P.S. I never hung out on any other sites, either. I just have a little experience in tracking people down.

              I felt certain I would have located LSTF by now, with the amount of info I have. Does anyone have an approximate age?

            • Ad rem says:

              AliRose…

              Regarding SFGoth…he lives in the Castro District of San Fran, and is a practicing attorney.

              LSTF….is a single lady named Dana, and she lives in St. George, Utah.

              That’s all I can remember.

          • CAS says:

            Oh, you just prodded my memory. He posted pictures of himself dressed in Civil War era clothing. It was a link – if anyone remembers – maybe he can be gotten to through that?

          • violet says:

            AliRose, you are a peach. When I first discovered this site and began trying to get caught up on everything, beginning at the beginning, it seemed as if half the conversation revolved around finding other disaffected HillBuzzers and getting them to come here. You all certainly did some good detective work, trying to get in touch with people. But since I didn’t have any type of relationship with anyone from HB except on HB, it’s kind of a miracle that I found you anyway — despite no rescue team having been dispatched to search for me! :-)

        • Menagerie says:

          SFGoth was involved with Victorian Era dancing. And wasn’t he a lawyer?

    • JRD says:

      Hey DeniseVB, glad to see you.

    • Kristi says:

      Yeah!! Denise was found!

  11. zmalfoy says:

    For Friday, here’s something a bit lighter–
    Make yourself feel like a fashion icon:
    http://www.nbcwashington.com/around-town/fashion/NATL-Michelle-Obama-Style-Guide-53582762.html

    For the record, there are some pics here, and some outfits, that I really like on her. Also, a good number that I’m neutral about– not good, but not bad. But there’s quite a few where I just want to bang my head against a wall. The problem with some of these dresses is that they’re too small. One size up would fix the issue.

    Also, someone needs to introduce her to “Foundation garments.” Just sayin’. Don’t meant to be catty, and ordinarily, I really wouldn’t care. But she’s tromping around in Jason Wu and others, so she should at least wear things that fit and lay right on her, seeing as she is the most visible American Woman on the planet.

    No, waitaminute, she isn’t. That would be Sarah Palin . . . who can (and does) dress herself like a grown-up . . .

    • EZBurns says:

      Michelle has so many body issues (a hump-slouch, short waist, wide hips, large butt, long legs etc) that every thing she wears needs to be custom fitted. Like you said, a size or too up, then have it tailored down where needed on her body.

      But everything seems to bind on her some place. And yeah, a good, slightly padded bra would go a long way to balancing her out.

    • I admire Sarah for how she dresses herself. She used to go to consignment shop for clothes and I realllly liked that about her. My daughter finds fabulous work clothes at consignment shops for little money; and a really big Goodwill store within driving distance that sometimes has fabulous clothes and shopping there she feels like she is helping others. I am proud of her, too.

      • NeeNee says:

        Hey, Alabama. That thrifty habit is something we all may want to adopt. In addition to food inflation, didn’t Glenn say something about the price of cotton skyrocketing, too? So in addition to paying more for food, we’ll also pay hyperinflated costs for clothing.

        Won’t that hit China where it lives??! Also Sri Lanka, Mexico, etal. For a long time, I’ve noticed several of the specialty shops (what’s left of them) in my town are featuring clothing made in Canada.

        Still another piece of bad news for young couples raising kids who seem to grow out of clothes overnight . . .

        • valentinoswife says:

          Through Asamom or similar groups, there should be clothing exchange groups set up – bring in 3 outfits, leave with 3, etc – barter when money doesn’t work!

        • Ad rem says:

          Cotton is up 90% this year.

          Sugar is up 70% this year.

          Corn and wheat are quickly approaching those numbers.

          Oh, and my favorite thing about Sarah….fabulous shoes!!!

  12. JRD says:

    Nice smackdown from Victor David Hanson

    http://www.nationalreview.com/articles/254342/obama-co-growing-fast-victor-davis-hanson

    Behind the recent news of massive debt, looming defaults, WikiLeaks, the administration’s about-face in the war on terror, and the implosion of the European Union is a reminder that progressivism is a sort of high-minded adolescence, as sophisticated in faculty-lounge repartee as it is near-suicidal in its actual implementation.

  13. Thomas Hooker says:

    It is not only TSA pat-downs. Look what is happening in Colorado to keep things “family-friendly”

    http://www.5280.com/magazine/2010/12/long-arm-of-the-law?page=0,0

    http://www.denverpost.com/opinion/ci_16763476

  14. Richdet says:

    Start spreadin the news … I was just doing my daily check-in at HB and find that KdJ is announcing he has a new boyfriend, a young (i.e., younger than Kevin) conservative. To catch this announcement you have to read well into his posting on gay movies, which is really about male go-go dancers, which is sort of about drag queens, and about parents of gay youth, and full of other such lengthy Kevin duJanish digressions … sort of like the one I just wrote.

    Anyhow (getting back on track) the Big News, which is what prompts me to be your gossip guy today, is that KdJ states that this young man is the son of a longtime Hillbuzz reader. If any of you have any idea who this lady might be, and know how to contact her, you might suggest she make a donation to the USO asap before Sonny brings Kevin home to dinner. Oh, and warn her about Bev too.

  15. IAmDagny says:

    RED ALERT: OBAMA SEIZING TOTAL BUDGETARY CONTROL
    Posted by Ann Barnhardt – December 3, AD 2010 9:38 AM MST

    crossposted at http://www.Barnhardt.biz

    It is common knowledge that once the new congress is seated in January, they will move to hamstring the Obama regime by defunding various scourges such as the out-of-control EPA, ACORN and, of course, ObamaCare. Knowing this, the regime is now moving, with the help of the lame duck congress, to grant itself unconstitutional budgetary powers, namely this: As it stands now, the Congress sets the budget, with each department or program getting a specific amount of money as laid out in writing in the budget. The Obama regime is going to give itself the power to TRANSFER MONEY BETWEEN PROGRAMS at its sole discretion. So if the congress defunds ObamaCare or the EPA, Obama will now be able to simply move money from the defense budget, or the USDA, or anything else, back into the accounts of these evil, unconstitutional programs.

    What this means is that the congress wil now set ONLY A GROSS DOLLAR FIGURE for the budget, and Obama will have total carte blanche to allocate that money AT HIS SOLE DISCRETION.

    Citation Here: http://hotair.com/archives/2010/12/03/wh-wants-transfer-authority-on-appropriations/

    In total and complete seriousness, if anyone hears anything about a mustering point, let me know immediately. I am 110% ready to go; all I need are coordinates and orders.

    • sundancecracker says:

      IAmDagny, Great to see you. Please consider this post for re-post on the Friday Fireside Chat thread…. It is highly pertinent to the topic.

      AND thank you, thank you, thank you, for sharing !!!

      Troubling times indeed.

    • zmalfoy says:

      Holy Crap.

      This is . . . well, so many adjectives and verbs and adverbs spring to mind that picking just 15 is a little beyond me.

      If I were still in the habits I gained when living in New Orleans. . . *glances over at boxes filled with candles, incense, and tarot decks* . . .

      I’ll spread the word as I can.

      And good to see you, Dagny. ^_^

    • yomotley says:

      Let’s move this discussion to the front page. Post is up.

  16. katzemeow says:

    I posted this really late last night in yesterday’s forum, so I cut & pasted here also. And the Moderation thing is okey dokey by me! It’s my own fault for posting durring odd hours! :)

    Hi All!

    Wow! Am I glad AliRose posted over at AsAMom! I didn’t post too often over at the “old” place, but I did read daily and got caught up in the USO post (the one time I don’t hold back and actually post something! – go figure) hung around for about a week then deleted it from the favs. I decided it was all about gaining of personal glory/acclamations instead of moving things forward. So I just stopped going completely. I really missed all of the fantastic commentary and had to fight “checking in” Now I don’t have to, you all are here!

    • sundancecracker says:

      Welcome Katzemeow… Great to see you here. https://i2.wp.com/planetsmilies.net/party-smiley-551.gif
      Happy you found us all.
      https://i0.wp.com/planetsmilies.net/kaos-animal-cat-smiley-6111.gif

    • Integrity1st says:

      We are thrilled to have you. You are now considered one of us, a ‘refugee’. You will note that SD is the self appointed dancing feet welcomer, but we are all putting on our dancing feet when a new refugee lands. WELCOME.

    • Ad rem says:

      Little ‘sis’….glad you made it to the Honey Trail sandbox! I’ve been one lonesome kitty without you. I’m working on getting some of the cousins to drop in though. =^..^=

  17. Pat P says:

    Hello to all the newbies! Just checking in while eating lunch. ‘Talk’ to you later.

  18. emmajeri1010 says:

    Rush has just done a great rant on the use of the phrase “new normal” to try to keep people from getting too frustrated about the continually rising unemployment rate. Once again, we make a conscious decision that we will not accept the underlying premise: the “new normal” wordage is supposed to make us shift gears, so that our expectations re our own income, the stability of our lives and the employment options for everyone “just aren’t what they used to be.” Talk about lining everybody up to sign up for the Stockholm Syndrome. Don’t do it! We must continue to EXPECT that things will return to Normal America: work your butt off, expect to make money, expect to improve your standard of living according to your own goals, and not have it all taken away by the government to give to people who don’t earn their way. (And I’m not going to bother with the nuances of that last phrase….you know what I mean)

    Please take the time later in the day to check Rush’s site: I’m about positive that the transcription of his rant about “new normal” will be put up after 4:00 EST.

  19. katzemeow says:

    With Chanukah begining this week I came across this (I think) wonderful and inspiring post about the holiday; even for the non-Jewish.

    http://sultanknish.blogspot.com/2010/12/holiday-of-resistance.html

    an excerpt:

    “Chanukah is a Holiday of Resistance. It is not a winter festival. Its meaning is not found in latkes or gift giving. Those are the celebrations, but not the thing they celebrate. What Chanukah celebrates is the physical and moral resistance to the subversion of Jewish traditions and beliefs. It remembers both the armed resistance and the moral awakening that liberated Jerusalem and connected the Jewish people with their G-d once again. And that reminds us to never give up, not in the face of overwhelming physical odds or an arrogant liberal moral order that showers us with contempt for being who we are. For choosing to hold on to our traditions and our faith, rather than trade them in for the trendy trinkets and cheap jewelery of materialism and the moral slavery of the common good.

    …..Chanukah is a reminder, that no matter what the imposed moral order of the day might say, our culture and our religion are worth fighting for.”

  20. Patriot Dreamer says:

    EDITORIAL: Wave goodbye to Internet freedom
    FCC crosses the Rubicon into online regulation

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2010/dec/2/wave-goodbye-to-internet-freedom/

  21. yomotley says:

    Tallying how many states are represented here. At the end of a comment could you put what state you are from? (It also will help us set up our tracking devices on all hikers)

    Indiana

  22. sundancecracker says:

    * WHISKEY * TANGO * FOXTROT *

    President Obama and Vice President Biden ask newly elected Governors to call the White House before they “are really mad about something” and go to the media.

    “We prefer not to read about it in the press,” Obama said.

    http://www.realclearpolitics.com/video/2010/12/02/obama_biden_to_new_govs_calls_us_before_you_go_to_media.html

    On its face this might sound innocent enough, until you join the dots and see the presidential desire to “control” the national narrative.

  23. Patriot Dreamer says:

    Feds Warrantlessly Tracking Americans’ Credit Cards in Real Time

    http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/2010/12/realtime/

  24. sundancecracker says:

    • sundancecracker says:

      Here’s the story behind the song: (From Becky Kelley)

      While at the mall a couple of years ago, my then four year old nephew, Spencer, saw kids lined up to see Santa Claus. Having been taught as a toddler that Christmas is the holiday that Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus, he asked his mom, “where’s the line to see Jesus”? My sister mentioned this to my dad, who immediately became inspired and jotted words down to a song in just a few minutes. After putting music to the words, and doing a quick recording at home, he received a great response from friends. He sent the song off to Nashville without much response, except for a Christian song writer who suggested adding a bridge at the end of the first chorus. My dad then asked if I wanted to record the song to see what we could do with it.

      Out of the mouths of babes come profound truths that many adults can not understand. Hopefully Spencer’s observation will cause people all over to reflect on the love of Jesus, and that one day we will all stand in line to see Him. We are most thankful to our Heavenly Father to have this chance to share our music with you. Merry Christmas everyone.

    • Very nice. I posted it on my FB page, just for a change-of-pace from the political needling I usually put up to annoy my liberal friends and family.

    • sundancecracker says:

      Thanks for sharing. Good read and great last line.
      (enjoyed this paragraph too)
      …”Counting her time on the national stage as a vice presidential candidate with John McCain, America has had over two years to watch Palin speak from the heart, while listening to Obama speak from a teleprompter. They’ve heard her relentless calls for a strong military, while watching Obama try to appease (instead of destroy) terrorists the world over. They’ve heard her defend the free market, while living with the ramifications of Obama’s stimulus package, nationalization of industry, and takeover of health care….” :)

  25. sundancecracker says:

    As the field for RNC chairman shapes up, big money and deep connections to the outside group that helped Republican candidates this year are emerging as keys to success.

    The would-be leaders of the Republican National Committee are already trying to show their fundraising clout as part of their campaigns to replace Michael Steele and have the backing of heavy hitters in the party as they make their cases.

    The first debate in the race to replace Steele produced lots of zingers aimed at the party’s financial struggles and highlighting the candidates’ power to pull cash. The RNC will report its post-election financial situation today and the news is expected to be very dire.

    Steele hasn’t yet said whether he will run again, but powerful GOP figures are lining up behind candidates in expectation of a change.

    At Wednesday’s debate, hosted by Dick Armey’s FreedomWorks and the Republican National Conservative Caucus, a claque of the most conservative members of the 168-person RNC, candidates sought to burnish their Tea Party credentials and fundraising wherewithal. (article continues at link)
    http://politics.blogs.foxnews.com/2010/12/02/todays-power-play-money-drives-race-rnc-chair?test=latestnews

  26. Library Countess says:

    I am not a Hillary fan; that said, I think this is right on… I’d thought of some of it myself but not as deeply or as thoroughly. Still so much to learn:

    http://biggovernment.com/pgeller/2010/12/03/wikileaks-obamas-war-on-america-target-hillary-clinton/#more-202913

    • sundancecracker says:

      I think of the event, and subsequent ‘Black Eye’ to Clinton more as a consequence of administrative convenience. Meaning ‘they’ were not, perhaps, disappointed, per se, to see her disparaged. The leak performed an unintended, and opportunistic, political consequence. Her diminishment means she no longer presents a political risk…… No-one at the WH is disappointed in that outcome. ;)

      • DeniseVB says:

        Whoa, I thought that too…..it will diminish Hillary as a primary challenger in 2012 ! Whatever helps Barry, d’oh ;)

        I’m just waiting for wikileaks to release his school records and BC….otherwise I find nothing shocking so far. Diplomacy is like sausage, you don’t want to know how it’s made!

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      And of course, suggestions of Soros in close background. BTW, yesterday it came out on local TV news that Mark Dayton, (D) probably the presumptive winnter of the recount for governor of MN (against Emmer (R))…needs money for all his lawyers and re-counters. So he’s holding a fundraiser being hosted by (wait….for…..it….) George Soros. Fix Bayonets…..we’re surrounded: there’s no way they’re going to get away.

  27. valentinoswife says:

    Hi – I posted in the wee hours on the Open Thread last night and was warmly greeted and asked to report this here –
    ‘Hi all! Gosh I am sooo happy to have found everyone! I haven’t been too active due to hubby’s auto accident – he and son (26) were both hurt – and he spent week in hospital. We are thankful it was not worse – but consequently I missed a lot of all the commotion and change – and then suddenly realized no one was around! Hadn’t even read the post at Asamom! Thanks Kristi for your comment/email!
    So now at least I can ask — does it strike anyone else that it was opportunistic to avoid the Wikileaks issue until now? Doesn’t this play nicely into setting up Internet controls – something many were already concerned about? We are all discussing holding Amazon to task and calling for stricter controls of sites not hosting objectionable stuff – yet then we are giving up precious freedoms? Not sure what the answers are – I just have lots of confused questions and always learned so much from the used to be open discussions!’

    That all said, I am not sure I like to boycott any businesses and hurt the economy – yet by the same token if we don’t vote with our money, we are enabling certain organizations more power than we should. I spent Thanksgiving defending Bristol and Sarah – not that I necessarily have decided Sarah is the only choice – but because I am so tired of conservative women being put down by other conservatives – and women are the worst about it at times! But I am convinced that there has to be a manufactured ‘emergency’ for people to suddenly assume the Internet needs to be controlled – and then people like me with big mouths, fast fingers, and strong opinions will have a bad time of it for sure! I am a people pleaser and have always sought to avoid confrontations and would bite my tongue and try to see all sides of arguments, etc etc but somehow I am suddenly having an awful lot of trouble with that! Wonder if it is attributable to age, stress, or what???

    • sundancecracker says:

      Wikileaks was opportunistic indeed…. The release date by the NYT was strategic support toward the administration. Remember, the NYT had the entire ‘Wiki’ content for strategic planning under the guise of “reviewing security implications” so they had complete autonomous control on date released.

      “Never let a good crisis go to waste” – Rahm Emanuel

      It had to strike [you] as ironic that the New York Times would not publish the 13,000 Climategate emails because they were “private emails,” but they had no problem with the treason of WikiLeaks.

  28. Patriot Dreamer says:

    CHART OF THE DAY: The Scariest Jobs Chart Ever Is Now Really Scary Again

    http://www.businessinsider.com/chart-of-the-day-percent-job-losses-in-post-wwii-recessions-2010-12#ixzz175yZ6Gwv

    Ugh!

  29. Pat P says:

    At the request of a facebook friend- We are asking everyone to say a prayer for “Darkhorse” 3rd Battalion, 5th Marines and their families. They are fighting it out in Afghanistan and have lost 9 Marines in 4 days. Please re-post this. IT WOULD BE NICE TO SEE IT ON …EVERYONE’S…STATUS…even if it’s only for an hour, show your support please.

    • Pat P says:

      This is a direct copy from Facebook, from my cuz Jane.

    • Kristi says:

      I just sent this out to my prayer chain.
      Thanks for posting it.

      • Pat P says:

        Thanks, Kristi. Found this on Wikipedia:

        Members of 3rd Battalion are currently conducting operations in the Sangin District of Helmand Province, Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom.[6] As of November 2010, 15 of the battalion’s Marines have been killed in action[7], including the son of Lt. Gen. John F. Kelly, head of the Marine Forces Reserve

  30. G8rMom7 says:

    Kinda interesting article on Palin’s possible run in 2012 and why it would be a good thing…even if she doesn’t win.

    http://www.newsmax.com/Viguerie/Viguerie-Palin-2012-GOP/2010/12/03/id/378865?s=al&promo_code=B3CD-1

    • sundancecracker says:

      Good article. Thanks for posting. (snipet)

      “Morning Joe” Scarborough’s scathing piece on Sarah Palin in Politico, rather than discouraging a run by Palin for president in 2012, may have convinced more conservatives she should run.

      Joe Scarborough’s stated concerns include how Palin drew a comparison between the disparagement of her and Ronald Reagan, which is a fair assessment by Palin, and her polite but firm retort to former First Lady Barbara Bush’s comment that Palin should stay in Alaska.

      Sarah Palin is the Republican “it” girl right now because she yields no ground to establishment types, bluebloods, political consultants, media elites and all those who contributed to the political and moral deterioration of the Republican Party.

      Palin was ahead of the curve in taking on the GOP establishment, which is why she is a tea party favorite. She is now what Ronald Reagan said in 1976 we needed in our leaders: those who are unfettered by old ties and old relationships.

      If Palin were to run, even if she didn’t win she would unquestionably transform the GOP primary for the better. Her mere force of presence would require Republican contestants to address issues they otherwise wouldn’t — in ways they otherwise wouldn’t.

      In a time when the GOP teeters between returning to its constitutional small-government roots and remaining the party of Democrat-lite, Palin has a confluence of several appeals that most other prospective GOP candidates lack. Add to that her tea party credentials, and she’s hands-down a bigger big-tent prospective candidate than Mitt Romney, Tim Pawlenty, Newt Gingrich, and others frequently named.

      Most importantly, Palin is a boat rocker who isn’t afraid to say the Republican Party needs to move in a direction it hasn’t even debated in over a decade, and actually shrink the size of the federal government…..”

  31. G8rMom7 says:

    Okay, I just noticed….how did you make it snow in the banner at the top! That is awesome!

  32. sundancecracker says:

    Ok I know this article is posted somewhere because I saved it to read, but now cannot locate where it is posted… oh well. It is a concerning development.
    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2010/dec/2/wave-goodbye-to-internet-freedom/

    Under the new rules being proposed, we will be billed per-gigabit for data that we use. I have read that downloading a typical movie via netflix will cost $4.00 in bandwidth on your internet bill.

    Apparently, we will have to buy packages, say $40 per month for 40 gigabits, with $1 per gigabit over that.

    If you are one to stay logged into the internet via any site such as this or your e-mail or your E-Trade Pro account, or IBB service, during trading hours, this could easily cost you a $100 a month or more in bandwidth fees.

    Apparently the regulations have been written (withover 500 footnotes) and Obozo is waiting to spring them on us after the FCC Dec 12 meeting.

    If it isn’t broken, these commie bastards can find a way to break it.

  33. sundancecracker says:

    Catching up on articles….. Like this response from Bristol Palin to Keith Olbermann.

    ……”Recently, a left wing commentator named Keith Olbermann attacked me for being a spokesperson for abstinence education and for being an Ambassador for the Candies Foundation, which promotes teen pregnancy awareness and prevention education. He went so far as to call me “the worst person” he knows, apparently, for my efforts to educate teenagers about the real world risks of premarital sex.

    Accusing me of hypocrisy is by now, an old canard. What Mr. Olbermann lacks in originality he makes up for with insincere incredulity. Mr. Olbermann fails to understand that in order to have credibility as a spokesperson, it sometimes takes a person who has made mistakes. Parents warn their children about the mistakes they made so they are not repeated. Former gang members travel to schools to educate teenagers about the risks of gang life. Recovered addicts lecture to others about the risks of alcohol and drug abuse. And yes, a teen mother talks about the benefits of preventing teen pregnancy.

    I have never claimed to be perfect. If that makes me the “worst person in the world” to Mr. Olbermann, then I must apologize for not being absolutely faultless like he undoubtedly must be.

    To Mr. Olbermann let me say this: you can attack me all you want. But you will not stop me from getting my message out about teen pregnancy prevention. And one day, if you ever have a daughter, you may change your mind about me.”Bristol Palin

    http://www.therightscoop.com/bristol-the-pistol-fires-back-at-olbermann
    Apple—- Tree —— Not Far. !!

  34. butchcracker says:

    Reading 1st paragraph of Friday’s open forum and the words YES YES YES resounding over and over again in my head!!! You are not alone!!! I am not alone!!! Ahhh..life..kids..jobs..marriages..bosses….homes…laundry…homework..meetings…famiy…friends…pets…cleaning…paying bills…cant pay bills…no job…job sucks…ailing parents…loss of loved ones….sickness…parties at chuck “e” cheese(and show up on the wrong day,me today!)…lordy….the push and pull of “it all!”

    What a challenge to engage life,as we should,when literally there are RED ALERTS and just plain evil threatening our lives, our liberties ,our freedome…. OUR AMERICA!!! The fear,oh the fear…How do we?? How can we?? How ARE we surviving??
    By breathing,day at a time,with gratitude,hope,love and by turning that fear into faith! Heaps of faith,in our God,our country most importantly,ourselves !It exsists here. The faith and strength found here is humbling !What a gift it is,what a gift indeed….Thank you..
    Gratitude…..we ask our youngens’..”What’s in your attitude?”
    What are we grateful for?
    I’m grateful for sleeping children..
    and always my sundance…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.