Open Forum, November 23, 2010

Is it just me or is anyone else snickering at the Miami Heat’s sub-par performance this year? After we were treated to the $1 million episode of “The Decision,” followed by telecasts of three guys receiving Keys to the City of Miami for doing nothing more than accepting multi-million dollar contracts to come to the city to play a game, I find it quite amusing to watch Miami fans boo their over-hyped and over-paid team as it is getting beaten by my Indiana Pacers.

But enough about me. What do you want to talk about today?

252 Responses to Open Forum, November 23, 2010

  1. Pat P says:

    Good morning, AFinch, and everyone else in our little community. I’m moving slowly this morning – think I will go get coffee! Have a great day.

  2. yomotley says:

    Yikes, I have NO idea what you are talking about. Is it something about football? If it is, I am going to pay real close attention to the conversation today. I just may be able to pick up enough to impress the six guys in the house and one twelve year old girl who knows as much as her brothers and more than her father about what is going on in professional and college football.

    I thought Bristol did just fine. Thought Jennifer’s freestyle dance (the one where she took a school girl type dress off) did not deserve three tens. She messed up on a toss/jump and sort of dragged along in parts of it. That is not a ten performance. It looks like they had to give her higher scores than she deserved and Bristol a couple of lower scores than deserved in attempt to make sure landslide viewer votes do not push Bristol as winner. The middle judge, Lem(?) seemed to be Bristol’s advocate for giving her what her performance deserved.

    Good morning!

  3. AFinch says:

    Mornin’ ladies. I’m heading out and trying to keep myself away from here today. It’s just so much fun to watch all the stragglers come in! I decided not to post at C4P today. I’ll leave it to others to post to l.dot if you think there are still others to gather from there. Happy hunting.

    • IAmDagny says:

      My analysis is posted at http://www.Barnhardt.biz . This is REALLY bad.

      • AFinch says:

        Okay folks, I’m embarassed to say this is the first trip I took over to Dagny’s blog. If you haven’t been over there, you’re missing out. She, much like YATZ, has a way of distilling a lot of complex details into a simple narrative that goes “tap, tap, tap” until you get to the BAM at the end.

        I remember watching the opening ceremony at the Olympics in China and having an uneasiness that they were not-so-subtly displaying their strength to the world. Seems they’re exercising that strength now.

        Question for Dagny: How do you see us pulling out of this death spiral?

      • Wow, Dagny…your analysis is spot on, and profoundly well researched. I just spent the last half hour or so reading your page…your body of work is impressive. And I concur, the Korea issue is beyond scary (especially with the number of US Troops/assets we have there).

        Gulp.

        Would you be okay if I linked to your page from my (tiny, humble page) as a ‘Great Resource?’

        (Maryohsocontrary, the HBuzzer formerly known as Mary Quite-Contrary)

      • CAS says:

        Wow. Just wow. Like AFinch, this was my first visit to your blog. It’s bookmarked now. You blew me away.

      • sundancecracker says:

        Ok. I vote you “AWESOME” too. In the spirit of shere awesomeness and WoW commentary… IAmDagny and YTZ4Me have just this week destroyed the bar and set it incredibly high.

        Great read. Everyone should check it out and bookmark the blog. I am sharing with BFH and the IOTW crew… :)

        Really good work.

      • IAmDagny says:

        Thanks for the kind words. Feel free to link and lift ANYTHING you see on my blog. It is there purely as a public service and as an underground means of communication and resistance against the regime. WE are the new media. WE are the journalists.

        In answer to the question, “What is the way out of this death spiral?”

        Let’s just say that I am NOT optimistic and I sleep with a loaded AR-15 and a bug-out backpack next to my bed for a very good reason.

      • Jennifer H says:

        Wow Dagny, I love your blog, have bookmarked it. I think your TSA post was fantastic- it echo’s my thoughts and fears about the deplorable situation this administration has forced upon the American people.

      • Library Countess says:

        Thoroughly enjoyed your blog, Dagny. It’s now on my must-read list (I’m gonna have to quit my job to get all this reading done :D )

      • Ad rem says:

        It’s about time Dagny gets her props!!! I had been dropping her link on HB for a while.

      • davesmom1 says:

        Wow, Dagny… great articles!

        I have been reading everything.. very awesome.
        Saved as a favorite.

  4. G’morning all!

    Anyone else get a noncaffienated jolt this a.m. from the news that Kim Jong Il’s kiddo (now kinda/sorta in charge) of North Korea LAUNCHED an artilllery strike against South Korea?

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20101123/ap_on_re_as/as_koreas_clash

    And lookie who we have sitting in the White Hut? So far Barky, after great deliberation, several texts from George Soros, minions trolling thru the DUmp (for their ‘base’ mindset) and awakening Joe BiteMe, who was remember placed on the Dem ticket for his ‘foreign policy experience’ and mumbled something about ‘daddy, training wheels and don’t you have Hillary’s cell number?’

    Prayers for the US soldiers and the South Korean population.

    • Debra says:

      Yes, my husband and I sure got a jolt out of it. Makes me very very nervous.

    • NeeNee says:

      This was the first thing out of hubby’s mouth
      today when I came downstairs for coffee. Pre-retirement,
      he really didn’t watch FoxNews much, even at night.
      Now I can bank on the TV setting is all Fox/all the time!

      His comment? “Well, I’m guessing Baracky’s batphone
      rang at 3 a.m. today! Do you suppose the mysterious vapor

      trail off the California coast ten days ago was actually the
      North Koreans?”

      Ah, yes . . . what if this is the signal for Ahmadinejad in Iran
      to also make a move on Israel? Kinda tricky for our troops
      to respond to multiple hotspots.

      What will Benito’s response be? Paper Tiger doesn’t begin to describe
      it—more like “paper kitty”!

    • Bijou says:

      Hi, Mary. One of my first stops in the morning is Drudge and the place was lit up with red headlines. (They’re in basic black now.)
      I put Fox News on and this situation is verrrry scary. I learned that there are 20,000 US military in SK and over 100,000 American citizens living in Seoul alone. Some US military were killed in the attack (4, I think I heard).
      I believe Lil Kim is still running the show, at least officially, and he’s totally bonkers. There’s been a lot of ‘shuffling’ among the cabinet recently, but each one seems as crazy as the next.
      One theory is that Kim is mad at SK because they hosted the G20 and got to show off their country.

      I bet BO wasn’t happy to get the ’3:00 am phone call’! Apparently The Gibblet released a statement that the WH ‘strongly condemns’ the strike. Harumph! So THERE! Harumph!

    • AFinch says:

      It’s the subject of the Heritage Foundation’s Morning Bell this morning, which they tie to ratification of the New START treaty:

      “But this incident is also another reminder of the White House’s misplaced priorities. While Obama spends every waking second using Chicago-style tactics to press for ratification of the New START nuclear deal with Russia, North Korea is running amok. New START offers the US no new tools to deal with Iran and North Korea which are the clear and present danger. Instead, all New START does is tie our military’s hands by limiting our capacity to build the missile defense systems necessary to deal with these regimes.”

      http://tinyurl.com/2ck3koz

      • emmajeri1010 says:

        And the yahoo-in-chief probably doesn’t understand Russia’s involvements with Iran and why that is linked to the absence of anything in the START agreemt to help with Iran. I’m telling you, he is an arsonist on an international scale: running around starting fires and then standing in the shadows watching the terror in sheer glee. Vile, evil, nasty little boy.

    • sundancecracker says:

      This is not good. Bad, Bad, N. Korean mo-jo….. intentionally provoking S. Korea to make the fire reach a flash point. Ugh, ugh .

      N. Korea has nukes and a newly identified reactor.
      N. Korea economy is in shambles from U.N. Sanctions.
      China heavily subsidizes N. Korea economy.
      China purchases U.S. Treasuries.

      U.S. foreign policy held hostage by Bernake/Geitner.

  5. phillycon4 says:

    Morning guys:
    Sitting here with the kiddies, while typing away … I’ll have a post discussing a point I heard Beck discussing B.Bush and Palin and how I’ll link it to Biden and Pelosi … until then, here’s Rush:

    “Hands off my teabag, Mr President”:

    • Bijou says:

      Thanks, philly! I heard this show, but it’s always very cool to watch him in action.

      Here Rush coins yet another phrase that is already part of the lexicon.
      ‘Obama Warning’…too true.
      ‘Living rent-free inside Obama’s head.’

    • phillycon4 says:

      When listening to a clip of Glenn Beck talking about the B. Bush comments regarding Palin, Beck made as astute observation: they (cocktail/establishment/country clubbers) are willing to attack Palin (and by proxy conservatives and/or TPers) but not a word about Barack Obama.

      And therein lies is the ultimate rub. Look at the energy level spent on opposing Nikki Haley, COD, Joe Miller, and others; however, its crickets regarding opposition to Democrats and their statist policies.

      Again, why is such energy devoted to attacking conservatives and REPUBLICAN candidates? Did we see anyone attacking Obamacare, stimulus, or increased gov. spending the way they vigorously attack Palin and the TP?

      Now, I segway to Biden defending Pelosi on MSDNC. This woman has a 6 percent approval rating, but such facts do not matter to the Left. See, they are circling the wagons. They are defending their least defensible so to speak. Exhibit B: Dems never threw Alan Grayson under the bus.

      Contrast the two scenarios: Biden and his party defending the truly the most “polarizing” politician in the country, while the minority element within the Republican party attacks the other 80 percent.

      If there is one thing we can learn from the Left it is this: these people fight until the bitter end. They are the most united bunch I have ever seen. If we can at least import some of that fighting spirit, loyalty and conviction, just imagine what our movement can accomplish.

      Instead, we are plagued with constant back stabbing. My exit question (per AP @HotAir): Have you ever heard Sarah Palin dismiss or attack her fellow Republicans in the same manner as they have attacked her?

      • davesmom1 says:

        I cringed when I heard Barbara Bush say that. Ugh.

        George W Bush said in an interview he thought the tea party was a great thing.

      • sundancecracker says:

        Excellent points. So true.

      • JRD says:

        Philly, It’s because the Rockefeller “country club” republicans know that whoever wins the Republican nomination becomes the president. They know Dumb-0 is toast. They can smell victory. They know that their brand was damaged and that because of the Tea Party they were given new life. Trent Lott told us all what they were up to saying that they had to co-opt the Tea Party candidates when they arrived in DC. These delusional loons think that they will get 8 more years of compassionate conservatism.
        Please read “Rendezvous with Destiny.” The country club republicans bashed the living daylights out of Ronald Reagan. GHW Bush was the establishments boy. In the debates Reagan made mince meat out of limp you know what, compassionate conservative GHW Bush.
        These idiots lost in 76 backing RINO Gerald Ford. When they knew dork Jimmah Carter was toast they bashed Reagan and supported Bush because they didn’t want 8 years of Reagan. They called him an amicable dunce, a B actor, he was educated at an inferior school, he was an extremist, etc, sound familiar?
        Reagan won because the people identified with him. They all hate us.
        They know that the people identify with Sarah. They know that there is no stopping her. She wins the republican nomination. And then it will be 8 years of Sarah. It’s their greatest nightmare. To break up the old boys network, who believe that they are better at managing big government that democrats. They will be out in the wilderness for 8 long years and they are going down fighting just like the marxists.

        • Wraith says:

          We need more than 8 years of Sarah. We had 8 years of Reagan, but he was hamstrung by a Dem Congress.

          What frightens the Cocktail Party beyond reason is the fact that the Obamanoids will continue to double down on their failed agenda for the next two years, giving rise to not only President Palin…but a Congress that will either lean or be completely Conservative.

          Not “Republican,” Conservative. When that happens, the Oppressives in both the D and R parties are going to be totally curb-stomped.

          We’ve seen the absolute horror of a completely Leftist regime…but in 2012, if God is with us, we’ll see what a liberty-minded administration can do to reverse it. Hopefully, quite a lot. Because I greatly fear that this is the final chance for our great Republic.

          • AFinch says:

            That’s why I’d like to see a Palin/West ticket. 8 years of Sarah, followed by 8 years of LTC West. 16 years is a good start, don’t you think?

      • Ad rem says:

        Ugh….Babs is basically slamming Sarah hoping to clear a path for her boy Jeb. The dynasty wants to continue it’s glorious march towards one world order. HW, and his fellow establishment Repubs, realize the Tea Party is the modern resurgence of the Perot movement, and as such poses a direct threat to their open boarders big-government agenda. What amazing level of paranoia has the party has sunk to that they feel it necessary to exhibit this aging Bush matriarch?

  6. I just saw this, before I head out the door…mark you calendars (and maybe we can do a live thread???) Wills and Kate will marry Friday, April 29, 2011 at Westminster Abbey:

    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3241841/Kate-and-Williams-wedding-date-revealed-as-Friday-April-29-2011.html

    Anyone else here old enough (actually, I was just a very ‘mature’ child who enjoyed…ahhh, hell, I am old…) to remember waking up to watch Prince William’s mom and dad marry? I did!!! Set the alarm for like 3 a.m….had tea in a cup and saucer…and watched and enjoyed!

    Great ‘thing’ about the nuptuals being at WA…its is a much, much smaller venue that St. Paul’s Cathedral (where Diana and her not so Prince Charming) tied the knot. So…maybe, NO world leaders, dignitaries, or Fashion Icons(tm) will be invited!!!

    One can hope :)

    • yomotley says:

      My hubby and I got married just before the “storybook wedding” and, of course watched it. My prince charming is still charming. (And our wedding was cheaper, too.)

    • Library Countess says:

      My daughter and I were both up for that wedding (and unfortunately the funeral as well). You can just betcha we’ll be up again! Thanks for the info; I hadn’t yet seen it.

    • tnwahm says:

      I confess; I am that old and I spent the night with a friend and we got up for the wedding. My oldest girls are 10 & 8. They heard about it on Sunday and asked me about it. I compared it to the wedding in “The Sound of Music” ~one of my all-time favorite movies~ only better. I remember the horse drawn glass carriage that she rode in to the cathedral. I’m sure I’ll be up with my daughters for this wedding also. What little girl doesn’t dream of a fairytale wedding?

      • g8rmom7 says:

        Good analogy. My kids LOVE Sound of Music.

        My memory of the Princess Di wedding is vivid…I was up all night with the stomach flu…but on the positive side, I was awake to see the whole thing and it is definitely something I’ll never forget.

      • NeeNee says:

        Back in 1991 when our oldest daughter got married
        in our Lutheran church, she chose “Maria’s Wedding
        Processional” as her walk-down-the-aisle music.
        Almost 20 years later, The Sound of Music is one
        of our granddaughters’ favorite movies!

      • tnwahm says:

        My youngest sister spent a semester in Salzburg while in college. She sang her way thru different sites from the movie.

    • Ad rem says:

      I find it interesting that their engagement seems to have occured rather suddently. I know they’ve been dating for a while, however, it seemed rather on and off ’til of late. Could there be a rush to have Wills seen as the married and stable inheritor of the crown…..unlike his half-wit father? Charles has you know renigged on an earlier promise not to allow Camilla to be the queen.

      I find it also a little off-putting that Wills gave her his mother’s old engagement ring. It that a British tradition or a sad omen?

      • ytz4mee says:

        Well, that can go both ways. We got engaged just shortly after one of the Studmuffin’s grandmas died from brain cancer. She specifically gave her ring to the Studmuffin for me, as she knew she wouldn’t live long enough to see us get engaged/married, and we had developed a close relationship and correspondence. She was a lovely lady, and it was a touching way to let me know she welcomed me into the family.

  7. yomotley says:

    Moving JRD comment from above to a main point, instead of lost in basketball and dance talk. He has linked us to a great article. Sample: “……………….the football prelude to Barack Obama, so to speak”

    JRD says,
    Careful, you want to be called RAAAAACIST? http://www.americanthinker.com/2010/11/rush_limbaughs_prescience_dono.html

  8. Library Countess says:

    Just caught this on HotAir: http://hotair.com/archives/2010/11/22/tmz-bristol-palin-getting-death-threats-dwts-ramps-up-security/

    [Now preaching to the choir] Where do we live again? A guy shoots up his TV because Bristol hasn’t been kicked off? Death threats to a dancer having some good fun because she’s someone’s daughter? C’mon people… sheesh! (I am so thankful I ain’t no progressive. :D )

    • Wraith says:

      Yeah, but remember–it’s us knuckle-dragging peasants that are insane, because we are unable to comprehend the wonders of progressive thought. :D

    • phillycon4 says:

      Welcome Wraith! Great to see another Palinista back in the fold!!

      I remember your touching post on finding your faith. Hope you are doing well.

      • yomotley says:

        Welcome Wraith!!!!!!!!! Now do you know where the last few stragglers are????? What names are still outstanding??

      • phillycon4 says:

        Motley:

        We are still missing longsuffering … I fear she was considerably hurt and is laying low. I loved her posts, she bought a unique economic perspective to our dialogue.

        What about Carmelo? Last I saw, he was getting abused for his opinion on Chris Christie. Just a thought … what do the others think?

      • phillycon4 says:

        Guys:

        The reason I mentioned Carmelo, is b/c he was tag teamed by Down Under and trollbuster for his CC opinion.

        Felt bad about it.

      • AFinch says:

        I say bring ‘em all over (except you know who). We’ll sort it out.

      • ytz4mee says:

        Personally, I loathe the guy and am glad this is a CJr-free zone.
        But I’ll just ignore everything his foaming-at-the-mouth anti-white-male, bitter, barely constrained hate-filled self posts.

      • phillycon4 says:

        YTZ:
        I don’t feel strongly about it, and will defer to you.

      • AFinch says:

        Wow, YATZ. Don’t sugar coat it. Tell us how you really feel.

      • davesmom1 says:

        Where is ssmith?

      • Bijou says:

        I will simply say, I’m with YATZ re Carmelo…cough ….MCP trog…cough.

      • sundancecracker says:

        RE: C-Jr just my note… it appeared there was a propensity within his comments to reflect upon physical appearance quite heavily…. as in,… OFTEN.

        YTZ4Me… rings a loud bell of truth. But, I digress……

        • yomotley says:

          And very few on the board could have seriously corrected him on that habit since a big part of conversation was pushed to talk about Moochelle’s big butt and negative facial features, etc. Just saying….

      • sundancecracker says:

        Perhaps we might find “Alirose” and “Longsufferintribefan”.

      • Pat P says:

        I have nothing against CJr. However, he rarely said anything that added to the conversation, in my opinion.

      • Pat P says:

        I would love to see LSTF. She (he?) has a lot to contribute. Had a lot to say in the open thread on Sunday, November 14; really called him out.

        • Ad rem says:

          It’s a she….name is Dana. She had been asking K for a thread re economics, something I seconded.

          • Bijou says:

            I remember that well, Ad rem. I, too would have loved it.
            LSTF had so much knowledge about all that stuff, it would have really enhanced the site.
            But, guess whose pwecious, wittle feewings would have been hurt.
            Gad…do I ever not miss that place!
            Anyway, she may turn up yet. Are there still breadcrumb trails around? Wasn’t it mentioned that somebody had her info?

            Was it Chrissy? Where’s FTN?

        • FtN been mostly reading today, trying to keep from tackling unpacking, and fitting 40 years’ worth of crap into a house 1/3 the size of the one I left. Yech! Chrissy knew how to contact integrity1st. I’ve never heard her say anything about LSTF.

          • Ad rem says:

            Don’t forget trying to keep warm too! ;-)

          • The house is pretty warm. Unfortunately, I can’t keep the 3 dogs inside till spring, so I am forced to venture out into the VERY fresh air every few hrs. all day long. I sure haven’t been making any fashion statements lately! I should change my avatar picture to the one where I’m wearing my orange bank robber ski mask and the iridescent blue coat with the fur-trimmed hood. It’s a pretty doggone unique look!!

          • Ad rem says:

            Now that would be awesome!

          • Well, I made it an option. Let’s see if it’s transported already. If not, I’m going to actually put the outfit on and take the little darlings outdoors, and I’ll try again when I get back.

          • Nope. Well, first things first.

          • Bijou says:

            Thanks, FTN. It’s time you took a break from your unpacking. ;)
            I can really relate to the challenge you face.
            Two years ago I not only had to downsize from a big house to a much smaller one, but I inherited most of my Mother’s estate.
            Suffice it to say that I am very glad I have a big basement.

          • It didn’t need to be this bad, but my husband makes pack rats look like profligate discarders…and I just didn’t see why I should have to get rid of all my stuff so there’d be extra room for his! LOL Now I don’t know what to do with it. To top it off, after I cleaned up the house for Thanksgiving, one of my daughters remembered that she’d never unloaded the food from a little trailer she hauled up for her dad, and came and brought boxes of frozen can goods that are now spread all over the former clean spots. I don’t think too many of them popped, but the kitchen is sure a mess!

          • Ad rem says:

            FtN…

            I’m just slowly scrolling down the page, and there it is! The gravatar that screams , “I’m really special, and darn if I’m not warm and toasty too.” I just love it! ;-)

            My husband’s family all came from Great Falls Mt., and every year we would receive the annual X-mas card with his Uncle Bob up to his waist in snow saying, “Come on up the weather’s great!”

        • Jennifer H says:

          Making me laugh out loud here…. great pic!

          You lady have character, as I feel we all do here.
          Good gods- thank you again for making this site ladies and gents.

  9. g8rmom7 says:

    In our coffee room this morning, I heard talk of the failure of ABC.com’s server last night. Let’s say I work on the websites for ABC’s parent company. Anyway, people were talking about how they heard people were registering fake emails, etc. It actually screwed up registration for all our websites. One of our directors said “it sucks to work for ABC.com today”. LOL

    I never got through to vote last night…but honestly, I’m not so sure I want her to win…I seriously fear for her life. Poor girl.

    • Ting says:

      I know, it is scary for her. I hope the security issues will help her competitors to get a feel for what that poor family has to endure. I cannot imagine that any of the other “stars” on that show have faced anything like that due to their “celebrity.” Surely, it must touch some level of empathy for them, and will allow them to speak well of her in the future. Here’s hoping!

  10. yomotley says:

    Little bit of fun info. When you see the “Recent Comments” on the side bar in the home page, you see a list of the last fifteen comments with gravatars and username. Well, if you click on a user name, and they have a WordPress blog, bingo, you are taken right to them.

    • Ad rem says:

      You’re having fun with your new toys…yes?

    • Menagerie says:

      Motley, I have so enjoyed reading this blog for the past almost week. I’m way behind on chores, and if my part of Thanksgiving dinner does’t get done, I’m saying it’s your fault. I have never spent so much time online. Lucky for me, I’m usually checking it out on my little kindle, which goes everywhere with me and that way I can peek in frequently. Thanks again for setting it up.

  11. Ting says:

    I am so happy that so many are finding this site. I wish there was some way to find longsufferingtribefan, and also that vivacious ssmith. Wonder what it would take to find a “smith” on the internet?
    :)

    • ytz4mee says:

      Yes, I miss ltrb and ss, but also cat. It’s hard to find libertarians of the “feed the beast” genre in the conservo-sphere. There are a few more that were lost when HB went dark for a bit, but I can’t retrieve them from my memory hole right now.

    • Jennifer H says:

      Ditto, it is so great to have an internet “home” again!

    • CAS says:

      How about Lisette over at HB? She seemed like a good egg – I especially liked her perspective on Israel. I say “seemed” because The Incident ( for you Lost fans) has left my instincts in doubt.

  12. AFinch says:

    Ahem, ladies. I tried to make the guys feel welcome this morning with a sports-related open thread and y’all chime in with all this talk of dancing and weddings? ;-)

    Hey Sundance, WeeWeed, ZurchMike, Amsterdam Expat (pretty please), Pistol Pete et al., we could use a little testosterone in here, please.

    • Debra says:

      I could gush about the Chiefs, and how proud I am of them, but then I’ve managed to make even football sound womanly and momish.

    • CAS says:

      Got little to no testosterone for you Finch, but I’ll throw this out for you: there is a certain, um, “nyah, nyah” feeling toward Miami here in NE OH.

      • AFinch says:

        As there should be. I haven’t watched pro-BB since Jordan retired the second time (ca 1998), but I will watch a game to cheer against the Heat. That whole situation was such a bad scene.

    • Bijou says:

      AFinch, sorry, but I haven’t watched NBA since Vince Carter left Toronto. Man, he was somethin’.

    • Wraith says:

      …we could use a little testosterone in here, please.

      OK.

      My junk is so enormous, TSA agents use it as an excuse to file for double overtime. :D

      (What? You said you wanted testosterone…!)

  13. tnwahm says:

    Don’t forget to get your turkey out of the freezer.

    • Pat P says:

      I’m getting mine out of the meat market’s case tomorrow – ordered last week! That way, I only have to refrigerate a raw bird for one night.

    • yomotley says:

      Bless you for the reminder. Almost every year I forget until it is almost too late!

    • NeeNee says:

      After 35 years of hubby roasting a HUGE bird,
      he gave up when all kidlets moved too far away
      to come home. For 3 years, we’ve patronized our
      local restaurant’s T’sgiving Day
      special: turkey w/all the trimmings + vegetable bar
      + salad bar + dessert bar. $12.95 apiece.
      Trust me, you need reservations because it’s PACKED!
      People like us orphans are actually in the minority.

      We see lots of 15-member family groups.
      Methinks it’s a reflection of working moms not wanting
      to spend days in the kitchen cooking.

      • Ad rem says:

        We’ll be dining with the Marriott’s as well. They are also most gracious, and it never devolves into politics or familial grudge-fests. ;-)

  14. davesmom1 says:

    Obama is just 20 miles north of me today.

    Gag, I hope the stench doesnt travel too far south,

    • Fallon: Today, President Obama is going down to Kokomo, Ind. That makes sense. No one knows better how to get there fast and then take it slow.

      Heh. He sure did get to the Presidendy fast, and is now taking it slow…

    • yomotley says:

      Why Kokomo? You can almost drive right through the place and not know you even went through a town? So the press can say the “entire town turned out”?

      • Pat P says:

        New Chrysler plant for “green” transmissions.

      • davesmom1 says:

        That union infested town went from 21% unemployment to 12.8%

        If that is a success… we are all in trouble.

        I check on foreclosures, deliver the bad news to people, and deliver warning letters… I am in Kokomo twice a week.

        Uh.. yeah, Obama .. if that is where you go to tout success… you need mental help.

        • ytz4mee says:

          K –

          I was wondering how it was going with your job. What is your take on the mood … how are people feeling?

          • davesmom1 says:

            We are in some serious trouble, folks. We are not getting better… we are getting worse.

            I have entire NEIGHBORHOODS that are in trouble. Homes that cant be a year old, all financed by the same lender.
            Its million dollar homes and shacks… its everyone. People living in their home for 2 years without making a payment. Banks are so overwhelmed.. they just let them stay.

            Normally banks hire me… but now.. I am getting orders from insurance companies that insure the banks.
            (Think… AIG) These huge insurers are sending me out to talk to the borrowers about saving their home. (what are they doing? Do they need help? ect..)
            They are going around the bank to push these folks into paying. That is pretty scary..

  15. Please PRAY for the Supreme Court to grant the Writ of Certiorari.

    For more information, see the next post.

  16. NeeNee says:

    Apparently this has been around awhile,
    but I must have missed it.

    “Why Chuck Can’t Get His Business off the Ground”,
    aka
    “Throwing water on entrepreneurs”

  17. AFinch says:

    Another Mama Grizzly wins . . . this time in upstate New York. From the WSJ Political Diary:

    “In one of the biggest election surprises of the year, Ann Marie Buerkle is officially the winner in New York’s 25th congressional district. Ms. Buerkle was ahead by some 800 votes on Election Day, and after several thousand absentee ballots were finally counted her lead held up. Ms. Buerkle is a nurse and mother of six who had never sought political office. She knocked off Dan Maffei, a life long politician and a protégé of scandal-plagued Charlie Rangel.”

  18. GracieD says:

    Hey y’all, I’m glad I found you. I missed y’all, and wondered what happened. It looks like I have alot of reading to do. My main emotion is confusion. Being a trusting soul, I tend to trust until proven otherwise.

    Again, glad to see y’all again.

    • CAS says:

      Yay, Gracie. I’m glad you found us. I noticed you were still at HB and was a little shy about contacting you, not knowing you well enough to know if you would appreciate being poached from He Who Will Not Be Named.

    • Ad rem says:

      Hey..hey…GradieD!

      Nice to see your smiling gravatar again. We missed you!

    • phillycon4 says:

      Gracie:

      Yeah! Don’t worry, we all feel the way you do.

    • emmajeri1010 says:

      Hey Gracie, glad to see you and your little buddy….

    • JRD says:

      GracieD, I’ve been seeing you post at HB and I swear on everything that is holy to me I’ve been praying that you would find us. I’ve been sending the energy your way. I’M SO HAPPY THAT YOU ARE HERE!!!!!!! Hurray.

      • Ting says:

        Me, too, JRD! Welcome Gracie – you are married to the Cajun, right? I love the cajun music. My old neighbor married a Cajun and sings in his family band now – for like 35 years!

        Now, JRD, can you get to work with all that positive energy for longsufferingtribefan and perries and ssmith? Please….

        • GracieD says:

          Yep, I am married to a Cajun. They make great husbands…most of the time. :D I’ve been hanging out at Brad Thor’s website/forum. Love his books, and always learn from the folks there.

          • ytz4mee says:

            Yay Gracie!
            We founded our own Krewe….Krewe of Ares …lol. Someday I will have to tell you about the Mardi Gras party we hosted, and my girlfriend and I ordered a whole bunch of food online from NOLA…and figured out, we can’t do math after drinking two bottles of chardonnay…

            Can you say 50 lbs of frogs legs?
            It was u-g-lee.

            lol.

    • davesmom1 says:

      Yeah Gracie!!!

    • Bijou says:

      Gracie, HI!!! Welcome to honeytrail! It is SWEET! LOL!
      Seriously…it is terrific to see you and your darling little Havanese.
      I hope you’ve got lots of free time, because you really should read our ‘archives’ (almost a week’s worth already) to catch up and get a ‘feel’ for this place.
      I promise you’ll like it here!

  19. TXMom says:

    Worth watching. CNN’s Dr. Sanjay Gupta reports on new data that shows that airport body scanners may not be very effective.

  20. Ad rem says:

    OK…..I’m posting this ’cause KFinch said she wanted to see a little more testosterone aroung here. You laugh now!

  21. phillycon4 says:

    Guys:

    I just remembered Solaratov, with the tank avatar. Do any of you remember, someone posted the quiz “what kind of conservative are you?”

    Well, Solaratov, me and AmEx were the only ones classified by the dreaded “neo-con” moniker if I remember correctly.

    Funny how little HB memories hit you every now and then …

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.